Vietnam

dede1217

Singapore airline having promo to hcm is 186.50sgd two way nett taxes in
fly fri to mon also can
1330hrs depart or 1725hrs depart
back is 1330hrs local timing flying back ...

think is a good price, since if fly kl also abt that pricing liao ...

if budget airline, normal promo jetstar and tiger is abt 95 to 125sgd
however have flew to hcm at 35sgd and 55sgd two way nett taxes in by jetstar few years back and last year :)

if add on checked in luggage 20kg @ 23sgd
if 2way luggages is abt 141 to 171sgd
if u no need luggage, fly budget airline is better.
if u need luggaeg 30kg for sq, fly sq is better

vietjet price is abt 105sgd
however timing not so good

lionair, no fly with them before lol :)

would choose sq compared to vn airline
because vn airline is about the same price as sq.
somemore sq have 30kg luggage, plus they flying using a330 bigger aircraft
most importantly is 5* airline lol ... and is our national airline lol

darkdevil

I have a Hanoi food list compiled by a Vietnamese local and i tried most of it on the list. Darn awesome. Whatsapps me 8571 1733 or PM me is fine.

bro, u have any good massage place to intro? staying at old quarters.

Alpaca

Singapore airline having promo to hcm is 186.50sgd two way nett taxes in
fly fri to mon also can
1330hrs depart or 1725hrs depart
back is 1330hrs local timing flying back ...

think is a good price, since if fly kl also abt that pricing liao ...

if budget airline, normal promo jetstar and tiger is abt 95 to 125sgd
however have flew to hcm at 35sgd and 55sgd two way nett taxes in by jetstar few years back and last year :)

if add on checked in luggage 20kg @ 23sgd
if 2way luggages is abt 141 to 171sgd
if u no need luggage, fly budget airline is better.
if u need luggaeg 30kg for sq, fly sq is better

vietjet price is abt 105sgd
however timing not so good

lionair, no fly with them before lol :)
The sia offer is must buy for min 2 pax right ?

jiasmilex

Hi guys, I'll be solo-ing a HCM trip from 13th to 18th Jan and its my first time there. I'd like to get some advice/recommendations on several aspects.

Where should I get SIM card, and how should I go about purchasing them to prevent being scammed?

Also, anyone with good hostel and local tour agency recommendations?

Finally, are there any good areas out of HCM to travel for one or two days in case 6 days in HCM is too much? How should I get there too?

Thanks in advance!

I was there alone and stayed at Eco backpackers hostel. It was not badd, nice and clean hostel. The location was not too badd as well. Pretty near to the Bến Thành Market as well, about 10-15 mins walk.

For tours you can consider Saigon Hotpot, free tours done by the University students there. After the tour I gave them a small gift as a token of appreciation.

If you wanna go out of HCM, I would recommend Dalat. I wanted to go there but I was sick when I arrived at HCM and didnt had enough time to travel out of HCM but when I spoke to the other tourist and some of the locals they recommended Dalat as an area to go. You can take a sleeper bus there. The tickets for the sleep bus can be bought at most of the tour agencies.

rayban

I was there alone and stayed at Eco backpackers hostel. It was not badd, nice and clean hostel. The location was not too badd as well. Pretty near to the Bến Thành Market as well, about 10-15 mins walk.

For tours you can consider Saigon Hotpot, free tours done by the University students there. After the tour I gave them a small gift as a token of appreciation.

If you wanna go out of HCM, I would recommend Dalat. I wanted to go there but I was sick when I arrived at HCM and didnt had enough time to travel out of HCM but when I spoke to the other tourist and some of the locals they recommended Dalat as an area to go. You can take a sleeper bus there. The tickets for the sleep bus can be bought at most of the tour agencies.

sleeper bus to dalat is nono if you too tall or fat..... anyway it more cater for vietnamese size which generally thinner and shorter than us in avg... to dalat take you 8 hours or longer if you want a one time experience you can try but it really a long trip way up..... i rather you take a domestic flight to there which cost you 50 singapore dollar and just 1 hour time

dede1217

The sia offer is must buy for min 2 pax right ?

nop have booked SQ yesterday at 187.50 for one person haha

think two to go , the price is 186.50 for one person each lol ...
cox checked two to go price few days back haha :)

Alpaca

Just came back from tour by thesinhtourist which consist of more than 50% sinkie :s22:

dede1217

realized is common practice for many hotels in HCM, even 4 stars to lie about their room size ... many hotels have done so.

have read many reviews, and indeed is true
based on my 4x HCM trip, is definitely true
rule: hotel normally enlarge their room size by 30%
for example: room size 30m2, may sometimes be only 21m2

if your room size is 20m2, prepare to stay in room size 14m2, same as hotel81
maybe the same room size as first world standard room, 12m2 :)

finale1

Well, two things were already mentioned - food and clothing. In addition, you can do the following:

- The Marble Mountains: several temples built around number small hills
- My Son: UNESCO World Heritage site. Both Marble mountains and My Son can be done in one day and you can come back by boat to Da Nang. We paid 1.4m VND for all the transportation, but you need to buy entrance tickets at both sites.
- Cham Islands

Please see Wikivoyage article to get better understanding.

If u have been to relics site like Ang Kor Wat, My Son pales in comparison.
But visiting My Son seems to be one of the few attractions to visit.

finale1

Bro what nice to do in hoi an? cause i be going danang,hue and hoi an next month. first time there

Can make leather shoes there. Personally i have made when i was there. But i didnt do research well enough. The shoes seems good on collection but doesnt last the test of time.

You can make a pair of shoes for like 45usd, double layer cow leather, with a bit of customisation here and there.

finale1

sleeper bus to dalat is nono if you too tall or fat..... anyway it more cater for vietnamese size which generally thinner and shorter than us in avg... to dalat take you 8 hours or longer if you want a one time experience you can try but it really a long trip way up..... i rather you take a domestic flight to there which cost you 50 singapore dollar and just 1 hour time

Actually sleeper bus at night is very fast. 5 hours from hcmc to dalat.
Daytime 8 hours. i think its safe and fast. I dont think Dalat has an airport from hcmc? Nha trang has.

finale1

Hi guys, I'll be solo-ing a HCM trip from 13th to 18th Jan and its my first time there. I'd like to get some advice/recommendations on several aspects.

Where should I get SIM card, and how should I go about purchasing them to prevent being scammed?

Also, anyone with good hostel and local tour agency recommendations?

Finally, are there any good areas out of HCM to travel for one or two days in case 6 days in HCM is too much? How should I get there too?

Thanks in advance!

For 6 days, u can visit one more place other than hcmc. Buy the bus tickets from Phuong Trang (orange bus, their station is at backpackers area), dont go other agencies and get tok.
HCMC to Dalat: 5.5 hours night bus
HCMC to MuiNe: 7 hours night bus.
HCMC to Nha Trang: 10-12 hours night bus.

Sim card get from airport is fine. For 6 days, better get as much data as possible if u rely on google map a lot.

For hotels, you can stay near Benh Thanh, book with Expedia and use discount code, u can get good clean hotels for like $33 sgd with tax. Halo Hotel, Xavier Hotel these 2 not bad. If you can afford $45-$50 sgd, can try Bloom Saigon, Blue Diamond Hotel, Lan Lan 2 hotel.

dede1217

For 6 days, u can visit one more place other than hcmc. Buy the bus tickets from Phuong Trang (orange bus, their station is at backpackers area), dont go other agencies and get tok.

Sim card get from airport is fine. For 6 days, better get as much data as possible if u rely on google map a lot.

For hotels, you can stay near Benh Thanh, book with Expedia and use discount code, u can get good clean hotels for like $33 sgd with tax. Halo Hotel, Xavier Hotel these 2 not bad. If you can afford $45-$50 sgd, can try Bloom Saigon, Blue Diamond Hotel, Lan Lan 2 hotel.

blue diamond good not bad ranked 90 in trip advisor
superior 22m2 no window no bath tub with brekafsat
their brekafsat is one of the better ones in 3 star hotel category
price is 45sgd per nite for two , based on my apr travel date

lan lan 2 is now also having promo
superior 22m2 no window with bath tub with breakfast
lan lan 2 breakfast is also not bad
review not terrific, still ok, ranked 140 in trip advisor.
price is 58sgd per nite for two , based on my apr travel date :)

if u wan 4 or 5 stars
can try catina, golden central, eden stars, harmony, all abt 80 to 95sgd per nite for two with breakfast ...

WadsUpDoc

Thanks! I've decided to remain in HCM all the way as I'd like to take it slow and visit more places instead. Better than having a rushed schedule, as I can always come back to vietnam as the plane tix are so affordable!

koala2004

realized is common practice for many hotels in HCM, even 4 stars to lie about their room size ... many hotels have done so.

have read many reviews, and indeed is true
based on my 4x HCM trip, is definitely true
rule: hotel normally enlarge their room size by 30%
for example: room size 30m2, may sometimes be only 21m2

if your room size is 20m2, prepare to stay in room size 14m2, same as hotel81
maybe the same room size as first world standard room, 12m2 :)

Agreed but not sure if all did that, at least I encountered one definitely not 25sqm as advertised, more like 21sqm as I have stayed in similar ones before. My viet wife used to be in hotel line and I think this is still not a serious problem yet. So to be safe, always look for larger ones, hopefully it turns out not too small.

koala2004

blue diamond good not bad ranked 90 in trip advisor
superior 22m2 no window no bath tub with brekafsat
their brekafsat is one of the better ones in 3 star hotel category
price is 45sgd per nite for two , based on my apr travel date

lan lan 2 is now also having promo
superior 22m2 no window with bath tub with breakfast
lan lan 2 breakfast is also not bad
review not terrific, still ok, ranked 140 in trip advisor.
price is 58sgd per nite for two , based on my apr travel date :)

if u wan 4 or 5 stars
can try catina, golden central, eden stars, harmony, all abt 80 to 95sgd per nite for two with breakfast ...

Yes, Blue Diamond not bad, can try Lavender too, room bigger than most 3 star hotels in BT.

dede1217

Yes, Blue Diamond not bad, can try Lavender too, room bigger than most 3 star hotels in BT.

no leh, their lowest tier is 20m2
as many pple would have known tat hcm hotel size not true one lol
if u have been to hcm many times
since lavender hotel is 20m2, in fact their real room size shld be 14m2 lol
the size of hotel81, 4m*3.5m lol ... tats very small with a toilet lol

dede1217

Agreed but not sure if all did that, at least I encountered one definitely not 25sqm as advertised, more like 21sqm as I have stayed in similar ones before. My viet wife used to be in hotel line and I think this is still not a serious problem yet. So to be safe, always look for larger ones, hopefully it turns out not too small.

so far stayed asian ruby few hotels, so far their size not much diff
maybe deluxe 25m2, they gave us 21m2 ...
hoang hai long suite, 35m2, is like 27m2
le duy deluxe 28m2, is like 22m2
ho sen 35m2, is like 24m2 ...
edenstar saigon deluxe 28m2, is like 23m2 ...
tats some hotels tat have stayed before lol ...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.