Vietnam

XiaoZen

Thinking of staying at the outer edge of district 1 coz maybe less hectic. Is it very inconvenient?

Or should I stay near the Central market?

Sent from using GAGT
inconvenient in my opinion...

a remarkable difference when looking for taxi..
in d1, i raise my hand, taxi come liao.. grab and uber will help on this..

try stay in d5.. very vibrant.. different from the d1 city feel.
things are cheaper.. massage can go as low as 100k ticket 100k tips.

SOS9112001

i suspect they treat the amdk same as well...

Nope.. i feel that i am being treated much much worse than the angmos.. i believe for the amdks, atmost they are being chopped carrots...

I returned from China Hekou with some jellies from the supermarket.., out of good will, i share them with the hotel owner.. to my horror, he saw the Chinese words printed on the jelly cubes, and raised his voice to his wife (he thought it was bought by his wife), and he still refused to eat them (even though i told him i got them from China). And we begin to share views. The owner is only 34yo..

Remember next time if you are doing business in Vietnam, do not print any Chinese words on your products or on your company title plates.

chaotah

Not thinking about d5 so far.
Still within d1, but at the side, maybe 10-15 mins cab away from the central market.

Sent from using GAGT

figo16

It's not what I did, it's the many of their locals dislike the Chinese ... no matter how low profile I am, and even though I trying hard speaking in Vietnamese to them... to tell you more later..

Perhaps in Hanoi, they would rather that you speak in English than broken Vietnamese.

Here're some of the hostilities i had encountered...

a. at times while walking on side walk, suddenly someone will intentionally spill water.. ice .. or remaining drinks infront of you...

b. once a dog was barking at me, instead of getting the dog to stop, the owner encouraged the dog to continue to bark at me.

c. at my hostel, the reception girl deliberately refuse to pass me the locker key, even though she had agreed to do so. My room is on the fifth floor. I collected the key myself after 3 hours wait, lugging my expensive items while proceeding my dinner.

d. At Big C supermart, i stand at the weighing counter for a while, and only i uttered xin loi, he entertained me. And once i say it in English, he said he don't speak English and turn around.

e. My first arrival at Hanoi, i went to a side walk stall for breakfast, the lady refused to serve. So fed up i bought a ticket to Sapa.

f. And of course all the high charges for motorcycle/bus rides..

g there are of courses instances whereby their people had done well, how ever sadly mostly notvin Hanoi.

i stayed at hanoi diamond hotel or something and the service was the best i have ever encountered. even better than some 5 star hotel. hotel staff even offered to help me buy coffee and would chat with me when i dine at the hotel cafe. tour guides also friendly and tours are cheap.they never force people to buy things like in tiongland.

but the locals always ignore me. i asked local to help me take photo and they just walk away.maybe is due to language barrier and communist culture.

SOS9112001

i stayed at hanoi diamond hotel or something and the service was the best i have ever encountered. even better than some 5 star hotel. hotel staff even offered to help me buy coffee and would chat with me when i dine at the hotel cafe. tour guides also friendly and tours are cheap.they never force people to buy things like in tiongland.

but the locals always ignore me. i asked local to help me take photo and they just walk away.maybe is due to language barrier and communist culture.

Some have provided exceptionally good services.. for example, the hotel staff had washed my shoes 2 times, invited me to have dinners with them, and even sprint 200m to get smaller note change for me.

But many locals are unfortunately otherwise

grapewall

Ya, lesson learnt. Friends last minute want to go for a holiday.

How do y'all keep track of airline promotion?

It's still affordable.. especially it's xmas period. My first time there, my friend book the tickets only 2 days before we fly. And it's xmas period. We took Lion Air, stayed 3 days 2 night air tickets also around $180. Worst, he booked 4 stars hotel and cost me $75 a night! Heart pain..

finale1

So Hanoi people hates Chinese but Saigon people are okay with them?

You will find a lot of Japanese restaurants in Vietnam. After the South China Sea disputes, Vietnamese are welcoming Japanese to do biz in Saigon. A brand new Takashimaya just opened near Benh Thanh market 2 months ago and more Japanese restaurants are opening in droves in District 1, HCMC.

XiaoZen

You will find a lot of Japanese restaurants in Vietnam. After the South China Sea disputes, Vietnamese are welcoming Japanese to do biz in Saigon. A brand new Takashimaya just opened near Benh Thanh market 2 months ago and more Japanese restaurants are opening in droves in District 1, HCMC.
japanese also help in their building of MRT.

but Japanese is the new comer..

Korean is the old guards.. see lotte mart, lotteria, and korean restaurants.

rayban

d5 chinese area ..... all canto sia

finale1

which place in D5 for massage? any recommendations?
I take uber from D1 to D5 costs 41k vnd.
if take Xe Om, i think less than 20k!

XiaoZen

which place in D5 for massage? any recommendations?
I take uber from D1 to D5 costs 41k vnd.
if take Xe Om, i think less than 20k!
along tran hung dao have 2 famous one.. hanh long(forgot address) and phuong anh(957 Trần Hưng Đạo, P. 1, Quận 5, TP. HCM) .

nowadays i always go 58 nguyen bieu because i find the massage girls there more cute. (dun blame me if u got aunty) lol
58 nguyen bieu - ticket 150k tip 100k.

RyuShinEX

11am leaving SIN
3:45pm leave SGN.

Yours?

Sent from using GAGT

7+ a.m flight, come back in the afternoon, iirc.

I saw your flight timing too but skipped cus we didn't know there's uob promo.

How did you know there was a promo?

It's still affordable.. especially it's xmas period. My first time there, my friend book the tickets only 2 days before we fly. And it's xmas period. We took Lion Air, stayed 3 days 2 night air tickets also around $180. Worst, he booked 4 stars hotel and cost me $75 a night! Heart pain..

ouch... :s22:

SOS9112001

In Saigon, you can get a decent room for $40 and below in district 1. And it comes with a decent breakfast too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.