Vietnam

popdod

DF9-C7-C30-A053-4-DAB-A2-A8-9739-F584-A9-AD.jpg

First timer must come this war museum
To understand the country. Best is to look at their history

F0-A239-F9-EB6-E-46-E3-82-C3-8-E413-F64-C518.jpg

Our bomb shelter in hdb. Theirs on the roads.
So don’t complain :[

9-A127127-692-B-42-BF-9-F2-D-E09-C9-A83-B43-E.jpg

6070-FFCE-6585-45-ED-9-BC8-C0-BCBD40-F938.jpg

In Vietnamese perspective. They view US as the war aggressor
A lot of war crimes by the American GIs documented here.

E636371-C-F080-4-E89-A750-34226-FAD9475.jpg

And Americans use a lot of chemical warefare in Vietnam
And this Agent Orange affect 4 generations till today. :-O

1-D8-D6-A66-176-C-4380-A2-C9-20-F2-F7-CFAEE2.jpg

420-F2-FA3-ED21-490-A-BA16-0-AC27489-B435.jpg

Looking too much of these pictures might affect ur mood :[

F2-E5-E99-A-3-E21-4-FDA-BBE4-722-C74-CBA260.jpg

Reason why America go war with Vietnam is bcoz of national interest.
To stop communism spreading in Asia.
Like Korea. Vietnam was split into north & South Vietnam.
Imagine all the communist countries in Asia.
China Russia , Korea , vietnam , Laos or cambodia

So to stop the dominoes effect. They went war with Vietnam.
National interest.

Sounds familiar? America & Iran context? :[

popdod

61659-F78-E8-A3-4-BE0-9966-E24400398-F4-D.jpg

After war museum. Time to jiak png.
Went to this nearby place and have lunch.
Com Tam Tran Qui Cap - 10 mins walk from museum

D019559-E-A73-C-4765-9-BEF-945-AA4-B6-D2-F0.jpg

Pork chop rice. Simple and sedap. :lick:
But portion quite small. :(
Vnd$40,000 = Sgd$2.40 only.

Can’t complain for cheap food.

2-B901703-D339-4295-A665-20685-BCD6-B73.jpg

Jiak bah go famous temple pray pray.
Pray soon soon lee lee , boh taiji return sinkapore. \o/ \o/

A4759-CAA-1-E87-4964-891-B-CF792-BAB5159.jpg

Took grab bike first time. Jin cheap.
Only sgd$1 for 5 mins ride.
Sibei worth it.

\o/ \o/ \o/

popdod

8-A84647-D-B932-4-AEC-AD2-E-83638-E2-FA615.jpg

After lunch. Went to see this Water puppet show.
Vnd$270,000 = Sgd$16. For 50mins show

Better come here early to buy the ticket.
Quite popular and earlier u buy. U get good seat.
Lucky mine is right in the front.

0-FD8-D8-CD-8-D0-F-406-F-A832-A4-D1-BD8-E24-C1.jpg

Hall is almost full. Can see Ang moh not happy. :[

8-FC0-B583-1-F82-4-C46-A131-3-C3-DF9-A54917.jpg

The sides are the musicians and human sound effects. Lol

314-B82-D3-E2-AC-4-D57-BD0-B-2-FC0-A0096-F5-A.jpg

The story r kinda visual. Since they only sing in Vietnamese
No English translation. But u do get it.

A0-A3-AB9-F-E2-FC-4-EEC-85-A1-965757225-B65.jpg

170-C25-A4-588-D-4105-B0-EE-BECE6-D786-E1-B.jpg

Some lightning and sparks effects.

B182-DCC2-1563-4422-BB2-C-83070-B228645.jpg

The team. Everyday submerged water for the show.
Not easy job. :eek:

figo16

how do you cross the road in hanoi/hcm? every mother, father, son also ride scooter/motorbike and beating the red light. anytime also can langga by bus and uplorry. want to alight from taxi also got motorbike zoom past.

i see the locals cross the road with YOLO attitude. jin satki, macham like not scared to die.

Henabi

Some of the food serving is small on purpose probably due to the surrounding crowd. If you want really good com Tam, try the stalls which are near Co_Op Mart Bui thi xuan.

There are a few food stalls within Ben Thanh market which is patronized by the locals and that is one of them. You can kinda tell because the stall people don't really go out and "grab" people to come to their stalls to eat.

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

popdod

how do you cross the road in hanoi/hcm? every mother, father, son also ride scooter/motorbike and beating the red light. anytime also can langga by bus and uplorry. want to alight from taxi also got motorbike zoom past.

i see the locals cross the road with YOLO attitude. jin satki, macham like not scared to die.

Crossing the road still fine.
But I hate motorists coming from behind the pavement
So if possible. Always turn back if u wanna switch lane or cross
Almost kanna. :(.

popdod

Some of the food serving is small on purpose probably due to the surrounding crowd. If you want really good com Tam, try the stalls which are near Co_Op Mart Bui thi xuan.

There are a few food stalls within Ben Thanh market which is patronized by the locals and that is one of them. You can kinda tell because the stall people don't really go out and "grab" people to come to their stalls to eat.

Ok. Thanks.
So far ate twice at Ben Tanh mkt. so far so good. \o/ \o/
Today going to Mekong Delta. \o/ \o/

Henabi

Crossing the streets around popular tourists destinations are fine like Ben Thanh market, Nguyen hue, old quarter... there are a lot of human traffic as well
So the cars and motorbikes tend to move at slower pace.

Further away from the tourist areas and into the heartlands, cars and motorbikes will move slowly around school and market areas.

Furthermore, cars and motorbikes in Vietnam generally can't speed within the city... Most go max 40km/h

And I agree... Always keep your eyes on the road as you cross.

Before cross, look to your left first. I usually don't cross if there are huge vehicles like bus, trucks, lorry van. Cuz they have big blind spots.
once you see a clearing, start to cross.
Never step back, just go forward.
Once near the dividing line, look right and repeat.

Beefsteak

So basically the traffic lights and pedestrian crossings are useless there?

Anyway I just found out there is a bus from the Airport to somewhere near the hotel I'm staying.

Henabi

Ok. Thanks.
So far ate twice at Ben Tanh mkt. so far so good. \o/ \o/
Today going to Mekong Delta. \o/ \o/
Food inside Ben Thanh market is actually not bad.

It's very competitive inside, so just expect 2 to 3 different stalls pulling you to eat haha

Henabi

So basically the traffic lights and pedestrian crossings are useless there?

Anyway I just found out there is a bus from the Airport to somewhere near the hotel I'm staying.
The main roads are ok haha
The vehicle and motorbikes will stop at the traffic lights

It's the small roads
And especially motorbikes which wanna make the immediate right turn
Those are the ones you need to be wary

Beefsteak

Any tips for safety in HCMC?
Like not advisable to keep our wallet in our back pockets.
And our mobile phones.

How do you guys manage all this?

dede1217

Any tips for safety in HCMC?
Like not advisable to keep our wallet in our back pockets.
And our mobile phones.

How do you guys manage all this?

used my phone on the street few times before ...
the street have quite a number of people ...

just to be safe, avoid less crowded places ...
try not to put your wallet and mobile phone at a place where someone from the motorbike could easily grab and go ...

Henabi

used my phone on the street few times before ...
the street have quite a number of people ...

just to be safe, avoid less crowded places ...
try not to put your wallet and mobile phone at a place where someone from the motorbike could easily grab and go ...
My advice is still not to use your phone RIGHT next to a road. The only buffer between and the road is Air.

If you need to use your phone while you are walking along the kerb of a road...

Keep a safe distance from the road, like 1-2 foot into the pavement. Or... Simply walk into a Circle K or FamilyMart or food stall or cafe and use your phone inside

dede1217

My advice is still not to use your phone RIGHT next to a road. The only buffer between and the road is Air.

If you need to use your phone while you are walking along the kerb of a road...

Keep a safe distance from the road, like 1-2 foot into the pavement. Or... Simply walk into a Circle K or FamilyMart or food stall or cafe and use your phone inside

yup you are correct ... If going with friends, would usually tell them to put their handbags infront ... unless inside the mall ... much safer ...

have seen elderly crossing the road, and then hit by the motorbike ...
must open eyes big big when crossing the road ...

grapewall

Crossing the road still fine.
But I hate motorists coming from behind the pavement
So if possible. Always turn back if u wanna switch lane or cross
Almost kanna. :(.

All these that you mentioned, i did.. and still doing.. ha ha..
When there, live like them..

popdod

AA6-EF7-E3-5-B59-475-C-8-A0-B-74739-A25-E5-C2.jpg

Early morning went to Mekong Delta river
Booked with Klook. Bus is full.
2 hrs bus ride from HCM.
Thought is useful to share for those going HCM first time and with Klook

ADAE5-DA0-12-F0-431-F-9-A0-A-D5-A6-FD062153.jpg

Cross the Mekong bridge. see a lot of kelong.
According to the local guide.
It takes USD$40 -60k to built one.
And every month need USD$500 to feed the fish.
Took 10 months to grow the catfish and export out
Once they export out. They can earn USD$80k.

Provided no serious stormy weather , or fish illness.

96-FB2-A55-1-A43-47-CE-A661-FB3-A09-F05-B07.jpg

Once reach the destination. We go and have a short break at this village hut

E442621-F-4-C79-46-B1-8-BFA-D8933-E14213-F.jpg

The locals grow their own honey and sell the drink
Some make it cosmetic products.

51840363-4-E09-4-C1-F-B478-0361335-F2972.jpg

While we having honey tea. They entertained us with music.
Dunno what they sing. Just clap hands when they r done. \o/ \o/

AC00-D592-8843-41-E7-970-D-82-D86573-CF2-D.jpg

Lim ba ba, can walk walk abit to the river.
Gonna row row the boat.

A lot of nationalities in my grp. Mostly Asian
No Ang moh.

4-CB196-C1-FBB9-4-BAC-8212-7-D4-BF2367-EFB.jpg

My handsum local guide asking the boats to come over.
One boat can only sit 4 ppl :(
Very slow if u have big group.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.