Vietnam

roborovsky

Is hcmc still quite third world?
Not as advanced and modern as bkk right?

I felt it's probably more like BKK 8-10 years ago.

Scooters / motorbikes there are like our pmd here, can go on / park on footpath along the road. Footpaths are often uneven, broken tiles, walking on them need to watch carefully if you don't want to sprain your ankle, also need to weaver through the parked bikes. The edge of the footpath is a slight slope so that bikes can move up easily.

Food at Domestic airport is cheap but very very ex at international airport, even for the charges differently same restaurant chain. If you can, avoid eating at their international airport. They charged in US$, will accept Dong at their exchange rate.

For shopping, my wife will usually start bargain at 1/3 of what the seller quoted.
For eg, seller quoted 280k she'll offer to buy at 100k. Some stalls might be more reasonable quoted 150k for the same type of item, she'll just bargained till 100k. If seller insisted to sell higher than her counter offer, then we'll just be firm and walked away cos there'll be others selling the same item. Most of the time, the sellers would call you back and sell you.

juxtaposition

Public bus from airport why not? I took it before too when there was no grab. I took it to D1 n got myself a 11usd/night private room with toilet. Funny thing was the owner insisted to retain my ppt. I said no and we came to a conclusion that I paid for my stay in full. Ok done n dusted.

Public bus more pleasant than Grab ??

Sent from 大哥大 using GAGT

mubz96

Public bus from airport why not? I took it before too when there was no grab. I took it to D1 n got myself a 11usd/night private room with toilet. Funny thing was the owner insisted to retain my ppt. I said no and we came to a conclusion that I paid for my stay in full. Ok done n dusted.

Haha you’ll be surprised

The public bus is not crowded, got many space to put luggage, and the ride is very smooth. The aircon also very strong :)

I find that grab car in Vietnam tends to be stuffy. In the car too long will feel abit sick.

I am headed there for work for the next week. During R&R I am going to Suoi Tien Park in D9.

Henabi bro got go b4? :)

Concurred. Even NB airport to/fro hanoi now has public express bus service 86 plying though it costs 35k dong. But it's still cheaper than taking shuttle bus/van or taxi/grab. The bus is spacious with a lot of space to place luggage in the bus.

Sent from Samsung SM-G950F using GAGT

Ole Gunner

Public bus more pleasant than Grab ??

Sent from 大哥大 using GAGT

Correct, because:

1. It’s a lot more spacious for passengers
2. Always got seat
3. If you have big luggage, sometimes you can’t squeeze into the Grab boot but the bus has plenty of space
4. Ventilation is better, aircon usually quite strong

Drawbacks are that it is less frequent (15-20min between buses), it stops at more stops, and may not drop you directly at your destination (but if you stay D1) it is confirm good enough

fortunehunter

Also for shopping I never see recommendations for D2 vincom mega mall.

Its damn big, can spend one whole day there. Many popular chain stores but quite many good deals if you look carefully.

Yeah abit far out but if you want a one stop shop this is the place to go

you mean Vincom Thao dien?
is like our heartland mall nothing much there.

fortunehunter

Is hcmc still quite third world?
Not as advanced and modern as bkk right?

Their condo now like building lego.
In District 2 you see alot of projects coming up, in Sinagpore you see roughly about 1 to 2 towers block of Condo, in HCM, one shoot they can build 10.
example, Vinhome central park beside the tallest building Landmark by Vin group.

vinhomes-central-park-gia-doan-2-3.jpg

Henabi

Correct, because:

1. It’s a lot more spacious for passengers
2. Always got seat
3. If you have big luggage, sometimes you can’t squeeze into the Grab boot but the bus has plenty of space
4. Ventilation is better, aircon usually quite strong

Drawbacks are that it is less frequent (15-20min between buses), it stops at more stops, and may not drop you directly at your destination (but if you stay D1) it is confirm good enough
Ermmmmmmm... You can always choose Grab premium or Grab plus.

You will get bigger car... Its around same price as airport transfer

If you are tired, you can sleep in the car because the driver will wake you up when you reach the hotel or apartment.

If you take bus, who gives a F? You miss the stop that's your daiji

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

popdod

Just took grab from airport to D1. (HCM)
$70k + 10k = 80k total.

Abit of jam in the morning.
Now lazing around at Taka.
2pm then check in. :(

roborovsky

Just took grab from airport to D1. (HCM)
$70k + 10k = 80k total.

Abit of jam in the morning.
Now lazing around at Taka.
2pm then check in. :(

Go basement Highlands coffee Lim Kopi or foam tea with Lotus seed. Or go saigon square on the opposite road walk 1 round. Enjoy your holiday.

Ole Gunner

Ermmmmmmm... You can always choose Grab premium or Grab plus.

You will get bigger car... Its around same price as airport transfer

If you are tired, you can sleep in the car because the driver will wake you up when you reach the hotel or apartment.

If you take bus, who gives a F? You miss the stop that's your daiji

high SES wor Henabi

yea to me its a no brainer but gotta admit for tourists who want shut eye after a long flight, maybe grab premium ish better choice

popdod

E56-A5688-9-CF5-4-E3-C-9-A6-D-DEEA7-A042-AEC.jpg

Took grab to try out this famous local seafood restoran
Tiagong Jin Ho jiak. :lick:
33 De tham seafood

5-CB216-DC-C43-C-4-BD4-B2-BB-ECE1-D27-BC18-E.jpg

Grilled sotong. Damn nice. Sedap.

492-CD227-FBAE-41-D8-9118-8-D9-F53239203.jpg

Scallops with peanuts. Strange combination
But once u dipped with the sauce. Ish Bagus. \o/

13-E52519-716-A-4-B58-9-C5-A-284-B554087-E5.jpg

Garlic mussels. Not too bad.
But prefer sg version with chilli.

Total VND$285,000 = SGD$17 only !!

\o/ \o/ \o/

Henabi

high SES wor Henabi

yea to me its a no brainer but gotta admit for tourists who want shut eye after a long flight, maybe grab premium ish better choice
Ermmmmmmm

High ses? Hmmmmmm

popdod

9-DBA79-F1-0-F15-4-A79-B8-E2-94-EFFE968-B2-B.jpg

Early morning went to the popular tourist market - benh thah mkt.
actually why is a tourist attraction ??? Just a normal wet & dry market :[

Maybe new to ang moh?

Saw this small stall. A lot of ppl jiak this white white thingy

450-CF704-329-B-4-D79-B953-A09-FCB356-BC4.jpg

After tasting it. Not so bad. Quite nice actually for morning breakfast
The white white is our local chee kweh. But they added some sweet sauce and one big piece of fish cake for VND$20,000 = SGD$1.20
Cheap & satisfying breakfast. \o/ \o/

Even locals also eat this.

BC37-D997-2553-44-B4-A81-D-1607-A9-B92320.jpg

Jiak bah bah now must find Lim bah bah.
So go hunt vietchong Kopi.

This shop extremely crowded.

1-A996-C25-0-E84-4319-9607-47-F85-BC34000.jpg

FA8-E1-B73-B501-4-CB2-ACF9-C3-A98-BB38-C81.jpg

562-D32-FB-1-E10-4-C75-8-A67-EEB9-A1750930.jpg

The strange thing is. U find layout like this kinda common
All seating arrangement facing the front.
Got road view lor :eek:

E3438-C29-A8-E4-4-D55-89-C7-40090-D5-C5937.jpg

Ta-da. My vietchong ice Kopi for such humid day.
Gotch water to drink if u find Kopi too strong. \o/ \o/

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.