Vietnam

Abernatine

Hey guys, how is Vietnam Airlines on their A350/B787? Their prices are very cheap.

Also, how is the standard of HCMC Airport?

dede1217

Hey guys, how is Vietnam Airlines on their A350/B787? Their prices are very cheap.

HCMC airport not really very big ...
From my search, seems like Sin to hcm by airbus a321
3x3 seating arragement , looks kinda like budget airline smaller aircraft

hcm to sin by airbus a359
a bigger aircraft, not bad ...

dede1217

Hi all,

Going HCM during Aug period is it OK? 4D3N is it sufficient?

Anyone has any itenary to share?

usually 4d3n or 5d4n is reasonable ...
unlike bangkok, ho chi minh traffic is not as jam , but filled with motorbikes
when crossing the road, have to road swiftly, dont be indecisive, as the bike will cut from all directions ...

can go to ben thanh market, cucu tunnels, war museums, mekong delta day tour, independence palace, vincom, takashimaya, co op mart (supermarket)

you can google up the itineraries that people have shared online

fortunehunter

Yes they use the A321 3x3 form SIN to HCMC and vice versa just like those budget airlines.

There are no air bridge for vietnam airline in From SIN to HCMC or HCMC to SIN.
You need take the transport from the landing location to the terminal.

dede1217

Yes they use the A321 3x3 form SIN to HCMC and vice versa just like those budget airlines.

Surprised that they are using airbus a359 for hcm to sin route
meaning to say that there are more people traveling to sin from hcm,
compared to ppl going to hcm from sin ... (using a321 smaller aircraft)

Abernatine

I bought a ticket to HCMC on Vietnam Airlines and according to my itinerary, it seems to be using the A350-900 for both directions. (SIN > HCMC; HCMC > SIN)

I was also asking about the airport as I'm also transiting through HCMC and was wondering how smooth the layover process is going to be. Should I be worried about the lack of air bridges?

Henabi

I took biz class.

Ok

YVTLgIXl.jpg

IoAUvK8l.jpg

1DwCMyMl.jpg

Rb1oMgSl.jpg

Sent from Henabi virus using GAGT

Henabi

I bought a ticket to HCMC on Vietnam Airlines and according to my itinerary, it seems to be using the A350-900 for both directions. (SIN > HCMC; HCMC > SIN)

I was also asking about the airport as I'm also transiting through HCMC and was wondering how smooth the layover process is going to be. Should I be worried about the lack of air bridges?
No air bridge no problem. Vn air will arrange passengers to take the coach transit and then walk up the stairs.

In fact... No bridge better, it translate directly to lower cost
$220 (sometimes 190) for a full service flight + 30KG both ways + meals & drinks onboard

Almost all my 2019 flights to hcmc are Vn air now....
Can clock lotus miles and become higher tier member...
Once hit Titanium or gold tier Skypriority passenger HOSEY LIAO

Henabi

Surprised that they are using airbus a359 for hcm to sin route
meaning to say that there are more people traveling to sin from hcm,
compared to ppl going to hcm from sin ... (using a321 smaller aircraft)
Not surprised at all, considering that hcmc is an extremely HOT travel destination for many people.

The a320 for vn air is 16 Biz (2-2) + ard 170 eco (3-3)

The a350 for vn air is 28 biz (1-2-1) + ard 300 eco (3-3-3)

I have been taking the a350 from Singapore to Hcmc since April 2019 this year for about 6 times. Mainly weekends.
Almost every trip the Eco class is like 90% or almost full house

But do take note that there is a high probability that weekdays vnair flight could be all a320. I took a few flights like on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday...
My boarding pass and vn air official ticket says "A350" but the actual aircraft was a320

Henabi

Forgot to add... Don't expect a wonderous airport with fantastic shopping and great gastronomic experience like Our Changi Airport or the HK airport....

It's a very simple and flat airport.
d1WFSrT.gif

fortunehunter

Vietjet and VNair confirm no air bridge.
Scoot, jetstar and SQ sure got air bridge.

The problem is no air bridge is when HCMC back to SIN.
I have encouter most of the time due to passenger delay, the bus need to wait for the passenger to ferry him to the plane and it takes time compare to air bridge.

The delay range form 1/2 hour to 1 hour.

So far i didnt encouter such delay of more than 30 mins flying with SQ / Scoot or jetstar with air bridge.

dede1217

Not surprised at all, considering that hcmc is an extremely HOT travel destination for many people.

I have been taking the a350 from Singapore to Hcmc since April 2019 this year for about 6 times. Mainly weekends.

But do take note that there is a high probability that weekdays vnair flight could be all a320. I took a few flights like on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday...
My boarding pass and vn air official ticket says "A350" but the actual aircraft was a320

Wow! Lidat very misleading sia ...
some might choose to fly with vn airline since they are using a350 ...
now becomes a321 , the smaller aircraft ...

must well fly SQ a330 , bigger aircraft, thought is the older type ... 2*4*2

Abernatine

I have encouter most of the time due to passenger delay, the bus need to wait for the passenger to ferry him to the plane and it takes time compare to air bridge.

So far i didnt encouter such delay of more than 30 mins flying with SQ / Scoot or jetstar with air bridge.

But when you're flying from SIN > HCMC and there's no airbridge, is the process more smoother at least?

But when they ask me to choose the seats at the seat selection, it shows the layout for an A350 leh...and some of the seats are not free. If they really misled passengers like that wouldn't more people be making a fuss about it :s11:

Henabi

There is no IATA regulations to say that the airlines must use the stated air craft for the flight.

But IATA has regulation that the air craft MUST be verified and certified "Safe-to-fly"

That's the reason why SIA is the best airline in the world and VNAIR can only stay 4-star

Cuz if the SQ a380 is not ok, SIA will switch to another a380 or Boeing 777 or 787
I rarely hear SIA downgrading to a lower cat air craft.

And of course this is reflected in the air fare... SQ is generally more expensive

For me...I take VN AIR because the timing for a full service flight suits me the best when I need to fly to hcmc and hanoi

fortunehunter

But when you're flying from SIN > HCMC and there's no airbridge, is the process more smoother at least?

Not too bad if

they open the front and back door with 2 bus.
If they open 1 front door with only 1 bus to ferry to the terminal than thats it.

Henabi

Why scared? Travel insurance covers monetary losses due flight delays, cancellations, postpone etc

Beefsteak

The flight to HCMC is quite short only 2 hours.
Usually for such short flights I'll just choose a reliable low cost airline which suits my timing.

I would be more concerned if it was a 5, 6 hour or longer flight.

dede1217

Why scared? nTravel insurance covers monetary losses due flight delays, cancellations, postpone etc

need blocks of 6 hours then can claim ...
hardly will have delay of at least 6 hours.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.