Vietnam

Techadd

skilled said:
But money changer seems to give better rates and furthermore, some things that i bought was quoted in USD. The difference is not too much but i definite felt it becos i changed a 5-digit sum.

You fly to HCM every month. Thats quite alot.

i'm based in hcm city leh..

Techadd

chisiang said:
Why leh? That's the interbank rates. What's the rate in Singapore????

iirc I think there's only 1 place in Singapore that can change SGD to VND for you, not even those in Changi Airport. :s8:

i dunno about rates in singapore, but that exchange rate is fairly higher than currently in vietnam. the dollar has weakended against the Dong in the recent month and it looks like its gonna ned up in the 90s region if the gahmen doesnt do anything bout it.. :s27:

chisiang

Techadd said:
i dunno about rates in singapore, but that exchange rate is fairly higher than currently in vietnam. the dollar has weakended against the Dong in the recent month and it looks like its gonna ned up in the 90s region if the gahmen doesnt do anything bout it.. :s27:

Like I said, that is interbank rates. Us consumer must add between 2~4%. :)

Inix

chisiang said:
Like I said, that is interbank rates. Us consumer must add between 2~4%. :)
For VND, it won't have a huge impact as the currency is tied to the USD. So the difference you make just by switching currency is in fact, neligible. Anyway, in HCMC, like what chisiang has posted out, everything can be paid in VND unless its "special services".

eez_enegue

Ming1981 said:
there are good tailors in hcmh? Are they of better quality than the ones in bangkok? Pricing?
I mean Hoian. .sorry for the confusion.

The tailors are everywhere. THere is a huge textile center smack right in the middle of the town. U wont miss it!

eez_enegue

shevchenko said:
Thnx eez eneque and skilled for ur replies!!
eez, I really appreciate ur inputs and will heed ur advice ..

but i got a few more qns :)

I tot Hue and Hoi An are quite nice so i tot of goin there and see diff things lor.. am i right?
Yup. .but both are primarily old chinese towns. So you will see a lot of chinese-influenced buildings and structures there. In fact in Hoian, alot of the ppl there are chinese desendants.

wat airlines u recommend for HCMC to Hue? or take to Danang then by road to Hoi An? Pacific airlines? gd? safe?
I dunno coz i took viet airlines only. But it was good enuff for me, and being the national carrier, i think its abit safer/better to use viet air. IMHO.

the overnite train from hue to Hanoi takes a very long time rite? is it safe? clean? nice? :)
Haha. .try it on ur own dude. Lets just say its an eye opening experience. U knw smtimes when we travel, we mus try to get out of our comfort zones and stop acting like pampered SGers. Not to sound mean here, but tats what i feel generally bout Sgers when they travel overseas to slightly backward places. My advice? Jus enjoy!

For Halong Bay, is it better to go day trip (go in morning come bac nite) or stay 1 nite there and next morning rtn to Hanoi?

din go halong personally, but wad i heard and read, its best to stay overnite on the junk boat for the full experience.

lastly, any recommendations for hotels in Hanoi, Hue and Hoi An??
Are u using any travel guides? I cant remember much, but there are backpackers designated areas where there are plenty of choices. Just ask to view the rooms and if u r satisfied jus stay with it.

sorry for the many many qns!!!!
No problem!
thnx in advance for ur replies!!!!

:D :D 1234567

Techadd

I've got 3 rooms (twins sharing) available for Moderate Travellers travelling to vietnam from 16-20 December 2007-

Hotel : Tan My Dinh 2 Hotel (3* new Hotel)
Room Category : Junior Deluxe
No.of Rooms : 03 Twin Bed Rooms
Duration : 16-20 December 2007 (5 nites)
Location : 32A-34 Bui Thi Xuan , District 1, Ho Chi Minh City (City Central)
Ammenities : IDD, In room Safe, Cable TV, Mini Bar, Hair Dryer, In Room Wifi

Room Rate : S$85.00 per room nite with daily breakfast & tax inclusive. (Published Rate : S$166++)

Minimum booking : 01 room for duration 16-20 December 2007

Payment via bank transfer or paypal per room night, will issue you Hotel Voucher & receipt via your email or fax if u prefer once payment received.

First Come First Served Basis. Please message me or leave your name & companion name if interested :)

saigonblack

Techadd said:
I've got 3 rooms (twins sharing) available for Moderate Travellers travelling to vietnam from 16-20 December 2007-

Hotel : Tan My Dinh 2 Hotel (3* new Hotel)
Room Category : Junior Deluxe
No.of Rooms : 03 Twin Bed Rooms
Duration : 16-20 December 2007 (5 nites)
Location : 32A-34 Bui Thi Xuan , District 1, Ho Chi Minh City (City Central)
Ammenities : IDD, In room Safe, Cable TV, Mini Bar, Hair Dryer, In Room Wifi

Room Rate : S$85.00 per room nite with daily breakfast & tax inclusive. (Published Rate : S$166++)

Minimum booking : 01 room for duration 16-20 December 2007

Payment via bank transfer or paypal per room night, will issue you Hotel Voucher & receipt via your email or fax if u prefer once payment received.

First Come First Served Basis. Please message me or leave your name & companion name if interested :)

No offence, but you can get cheaper thru websites like Asiarooms at $63 for Superior and $79 for Deluxe.

http://www.asiarooms.com/vietnam/ho_chi_minh_city/tan_my_dinh.html

saigonblack

Techadd said:
Elios Hotel might just fit your bill, new 3 star hotel, walking distance to ben thanh market & backpackers alley

Any breakfast that comes with this hotel?

I emailed them sometime ago and they quoted me US54 per nite. I went to another website and they only shows US39 per nite which is less than $60. Most probably will book here since it is at Pham Ngu Lao Street

Techadd

saigonblack said:
No offence, but you can get cheaper thru websites like Asiarooms at $63 for Superior and $79 for Deluxe.

http://www.asiarooms.com/vietnam/ho_chi_minh_city/tan_my_dinh.html

Dude, u might wanna check and see the difference between Tan My Dinh and Tan My Dinh 2 Hotel the latter which is a Newer Sister hotel of the first with larger rooms and facilities and ammenities.. Asia Rooms are offering the price of the Older Hotel, if u want confirmation, check the address that they are providing of the hotel and check the ones that i am offering here.

and let me tell you one thing of the hotels sold on the websites, nothing in price is final unless they confirmed it and send you the hotel voucher :)

Techadd

saigonblack said:
Any breakfast that comes with this hotel?

I emailed them sometime ago and they quoted me US54 per nite. I went to another website and they only shows US39 per nite which is less than $60. Most probably will book here since it is at Pham Ngu Lao Street

yea they do have daily buffet breakfast. you send a direct enquiry to the hotel? try looking around websites that offer rares for this hotel, instead of sending an enquiry direct tot he hotel itself becuz hotels usually will charge a walk in rate or corporate rates.

saigonblack

Techadd said:
Dude, u might wanna check and see the difference between Tan My Dinh and Tan My Dinh 2 Hotel the latter which is a Newer Sister hotel of the first with larger rooms and facilities and ammenities.. Asia Rooms are offering the price of the Older Hotel, if u want confirmation, check the address that they are providing of the hotel and check the ones that i am offering here.

and let me tell you one thing of the hotels sold on the websites, nothing in price is final unless they confirmed it and send you the hotel voucher :)

No wonder the difference. My bad. Didnt know there is a 2nd Hotel there. :s22:

saigonblack

Techadd said:
yea they do have daily buffet breakfast. you send a direct enquiry to the hotel? try looking around websites that offer rares for this hotel, instead of sending an enquiry direct tot he hotel itself becuz hotels usually will charge a walk in rate or corporate rates.

Yup i emailed them direct and they charged me a higher price. The website I went charges much lower so I guess I will explore more before I go and book it. Still early though, so Im asking for more opinions before I finalise anything.

I dun want to stay at the hotel opposite Ben Thanh and am looking at other places now. So if anyone have more options, recommendations, please let me know. Thanks :)

babystitch

hey guys.. need help..
will be going to HCM tomm.. just need to know if i need to bring an adapter in order for me to charge my HP..
appreciate if anyone could help!

Techadd

bring an adaptor for three pins , as most sockets in vietnam are two pins, as for the voltage wise, they use the same as in singapore 220v :)

babystitch

ah! cool.. thanks bro..
then shld be ok.. my phone uses 2 pins, so shld be fine
thanks again!

pyrrhous

Anyone has recommendations for a three star hotel in HCM? Between SGD40-80 per night with free wireless internet access in room.

chisiang

pyrrhous said:
Anyone has recommendations for a three star hotel in HCM? Between SGD40-80 per night with free wireless internet access in room.

bro that price not possible for 3 star in HCM. Anyway you don't need 3 star, 2 star is more than comfy. The 2 star hotels are of equal standard as our hotel 81 with ensuite shower/toilet with breakfast. The 2 star hotels market is very competitive so you can get good service at good price. Most 2 stars price range from USD$20~40.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.