Vietnam

finale1

I just back from HCMC on 1st Sep. Typhoon made landfall already on 28 Aug but HCMC everyday rainy. Morning Sunny, 4pm onwards will start to light drizzle. Everywhere wet wet

Vincom Center under renovation. 1/3 of it is closed.
Kohnan Supermarket opposite Vincom center also renovating. 1/2 is closed and now quite messy. Otherwise a very nice place to chill and relax away from the crowd.

Tsuruha drugstore opened besides Vincom Center. Can find good deals for Japanese stuff.

Tried Hoa Tuc (michelin food guide) Soft Shell Crab. Damn good. $23 sgd with taxes.
Hoa Tuc Pomelo Salad also good. Small portion. $12 sgd

The Refinery Restaurant (besides Hoa Tuc) Caesar salad not bad, duck confit supposed to be best seller but i find it dry. Squid not bad. Ambience v romantic, can bring girl there :LOL:

finale1

If you guys go VN, remember to buy GRAB VIETNAM Travel Pass for $1.30sgd.

There's 4 x grab rides Airport at 25% off and 10 x grab rides 10% off.
Very worth

finale1

nobody go Hanoi to play?
I went there to visit some museums in Feb.
weather was so shiok that time.

recently went there again in end July, early Aug.
hot af.. leave the hotel lobby only, cannot tahan the heat liao.

Sent from Aniki Studio
Hanoi when hot is hotter than hcmc. When cold, its colder than HCMC.

The grab ride from airport to City is quite expensive... in HCMC, my hotel in D1 to Tan Son Nhat airport at 4.30pm is only 80k vnd after Grab discounts. Very affordable :LOL:

Innocuous*

I just back from HCMC on 1st Sep. Typhoon made landfall already on 28 Aug but HCMC everyday rainy. Morning Sunny, 4pm onwards will start to light drizzle. Everywhere wet wet

Vincom Center under renovation. 1/3 of it is closed.
Kohnan Supermarket opposite Vincom center also renovating. 1/2 is closed and now quite messy. Otherwise a very nice place to chill and relax away from the crowd.

Tsuruha drugstore opened besides Vincom Center. Can find good deals for Japanese stuff.

Tried Hoa Tuc (michelin food guide) Soft Shell Crab. Damn good. $23 sgd with taxes.
Hoa Tuc Pomelo Salad also good. Small portion. $12 sgd

The Refinery Restaurant (besides Hoa Tuc) Caesar salad not bad, duck confit supposed to be best seller but i find it dry. Squid not bad. Ambience v romantic, can bring girl there :LOL:

Hoa Tuc is popular with foreigners before it got Michelin food guide. I have yet to see any locals patronizing this restaurant probably because of its price. In the same ex opium refinery compound, they have a seafood restaurant (Bep Oc Saigon) under the same company that is more of a casual setting that offers snails, shellfish, squid tooth, frog, conch, cockle, sea urchin, scallop, oyster and etc.

finale1

Hoa Tuc is popular with foreigners before it got Michelin food guide. I have yet to see any locals patronizing this restaurant probably because of its price. In the same ex opium refinery compound, they have a seafood restaurant (Bep Oc Saigon) under the same company that is more of a casual setting that offers snails, shellfish, squid tooth, frog, conch, cockle, sea urchin, scallop, oyster and etc.
Actually I super love the softshell crab at Bep Oc Saigon and the razor clams in tamrind sauce. I keep going back. But now i think its not softshell crab season. Bep Oc doesnt have it now. Otherwise this is my go to for softshell crab at just $7.50sgd. Crazy worth!

At Bep Oc, I never saw Vietnamese locals too. Mostly tourists.

TLCTLC88

In Grab app. It would prompt you. But not immediately when you first open it to find grab at the airport. You can find it under subscriptions. It is also available for a few ASEAN countries.
So i should buy before I arrive in VN?

finale1

Grab Travel Pass also have good discounts for certain restaurants. Really worth.

also have 8x 25% for Grab Bike plus. Basically u take grab bikes plus for the same price as Grab Bike.

Today went to D10 to Jalan Jalan

huhster

If you guys go VN, remember to buy GRAB VIETNAM Travel Pass for $1.30sgd.

There's 4 x grab rides Airport at 25% off and 10 x grab rides 10% off.
Very worth
Aiya I just came back

Was in HCM n Hanoi for more than a week

huhster

Very rainy right?
Didn't rain, only the last night at HCM it started to rain

When I flew to Hanoi, it was rainy

1st day I flew to HCM, flight delayed then domestic flight also delayed. Best was return trip to SG, flight almost delayed by 2 hours and it's SQ

Wanderer123

hey, thanks for the reply.

Yes, it will be my 1st time going. You went vietnam by following tour or F & E?? actually i dont have any area in mind. I am just gathering some info here and do some planning here before going there. Most likely, it will be like a free and easy back packing style of trip with my friends.

About duration? I dont mind going for 2 weeks. My budget is about $1000 for everything. is that possible? I dont expect 5 star hotel either. just a reasonable room will be fine.

Anyway, what is prawn and crab in vietnamese? I have allergy towards them.

Thanks man.
Tom & Cua u need to avoid. 1k sgd more than enuf for 2 wks, its way cheaper than Bkk. Just diy can lah, flights from sg to viet is cheaper than KL. My suggestion, 1 week in Saigon cafe hopping, fly to Dalat to enjoy cold climate for another week. If you like beaches, take a few days from your Saigon week and add them your Dalat week, 3-4 hrs bus from Dalat to reach beach city of Nha trang, fly from Nha trang back to Spore. Book all hotels via booking.com, cheapest in vietnam. For detailed itinerary & budget, chat with Gemini. Travel up north only Dec onwards. Saigon rain is similar to sg.

BiG_FisH

for those who just came back from HCMC, is the airport fast track necessary?

I'll be landing on a Thursday morning 11am at Tan Son Nhat for reference.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.