Vietnam

finale1

Tom & Cua u need to avoid. 1k sgd more than enuf for 2 wks, its way cheaper than Bkk. Just diy can lah, flights from sg to viet is cheaper than KL. My suggestion, 1 week in Saigon cafe hopping, fly to Dalat to enjoy cold climate for another week. If you like beaches, take a few days from your Saigon week and add them your Dalat week, 3-4 hrs bus from Dalat to reach beach city of Nha trang, fly from Nha trang back to Spore. Book all hotels via booking.com, cheapest in vietnam. For detailed itinerary & budget, chat with Gemini. Travel up north only Dec onwards. Saigon rain is similar to sg.
Wah booking.com cheaper than Agoda.com?

I been using Agoda.com after switching from Expedia. I read about booking.com kena hacked years ago. Now just stick with Agoda

finale1

for those who just came back from HCMC, is the airport fast track necessary?

I'll be landing on a Thursday morning 11am at Tan Son Nhat for reference.
I usually land in Tan Son Nhat on Thursday or Friday evening 6.30-7pm. It’s manageable. Can clear within 1 hour.

I think Thursday morning 11am should be Sibei Xiong. The trick anyway is to always go to the extreme right side so that they may open up more empty lanes

Wanderer123

Wah booking.com cheaper than Agoda.com?

I been using Agoda.com after switching from Expedia. I read about booking.com kena hacked years ago. Now just stick with Agoda
Recent reports indicate a significant rise in scams targeting users of Booking.com and Agoda, with cybercriminals exploiting the platforms' in-app messaging systems to deceive travelers. Scammers have been able to infiltrate the official app chats, posing as hotel representatives to send fraudulent messages containing malicious links, often claiming there are issues with payment processing. These messages, appearing within the trusted app environment, have tricked users into providing sensitive personal and financial information, leading to unauthorized transactions. The issue is particularly prevalent in bookings made through Agoda, which is owned by Booking Holdings, and has been reported in various regions, including Japan and Singapore.

huhster

I landed on a Tuesday, took 45 mins using Fast Track

soulblader_89

Hi guys

what is the best transport recommend for Noi Bai International Airport to old quarter?

Is it Grab? do they have a grab point like Tan Son Nhat airport?
or shld I arrange airport transfer?

SpawnXp

up to u lor, u use fast track from providers, you also need to queue.
for super super fast track, no need to queue as long as normal fast track

finale1

Tried many different food this time in HCMC and out of perhaps 10, these are the best and i will Grab Bike there to eat it again.

Bo Kho Ganh (Michelin guide) - best seller beef ribs 110k vnd
https://maps.app.goo.gl/SWDVZ2SHonr5pq687

Bò Bít Tết Cô Út - Tiktoker Ms Yummyface hidden gem. Beef steak slices on hot plate with egg. Damn solid!

https://maps.app.goo.gl/9dwvrcHVaRCTpoBu5

TIAN LONG Tầng B3 TTTM Vincom Center Đồng Khởi - ChaoSan hotpot, price affordable and quality beef. They can help you cook. This shop in Vincom is newly opened since Aug 2025. Damn solid!

https://maps.app.goo.gl/RMwdDBN5nQVsnVfRA

Bếp Ốc Sài Gòn - my usual go to for fried softshell crab in butter 7.50sgd + razor clams 5sgd

https://maps.app.goo.gl/PTXMUb3kR4bJj2nVA

Torisho - my usual go to for cheap and good Japanese skewers
https://maps.app.goo.gl/E5QCC6FSnCrEts26A

ALSO remember to buy Grab Travel Pass for Vietnam (25k vnd or 1.30sgd) you will get

4 * 25% off airport rides
8 * 25% off Grab car / Grab Bike premium
8 * 10% off Grab car

Also you will get 10-15% discounts on certain restaurants listed on Grab like Bo To Quan Moc (ribeye steak not bad). For a 4D3N trip, i used up all the grab vouchers except the 25% airport rides. I estimated i saved around $30- $40.

SpawnXp

heard bout this from many sources. so what's the approach like? walk straight up to counter?
walk to the left most counter, there will be a officer standing infront of the area, open your passport and let him see the 500k discreetly. then close ur passport and he will point you where to queue. usually its the abtc/diplomat/aircrew lane.
the normal fast track will queue at the handicap lane

beanstalk6

Just put 500k inside passport

heard bout this from many sources. so what's the approach like? walk straight up to counter?

walk to the left most counter, there will be a officer standing infront of the area, open your passport and let him see the 500k discreetly. then close ur passport and he will point you where to queue. usually its the abtc/diplomat/aircrew lane.
the normal fast track will queue at the handicap lane

I strongly advise against any unofficial payments for such fast-track service. It is illegal in the law.
The Chinese get "special" treatment in many countries, not limited to Vietnam, Laos and Indonesia where they are solicited for bribes to clear customs/immigration. How did it all start? Some Chinese began paying even without being asked, because they regarded themselves as bosses. What began as the actions of some Chinese tourists manifested in the officials soliciting for payment outright, and spoilt the whole market for other Chinese tourists.

SpawnXp

Wow been doing this for almost 8years.
They want to clear the queue slowly so can earn for fast track.
Well just my 2 cents as I'm a noob in vietnam.
Sorry mods dont flame and zap me for sharing knowledge.
Think I just keep quiet

luei74

Wow been doing this for almost 8years.
They want to clear the queue slowly so can earn for fast track.
Well just my 2 cents as I'm a noob in vietnam.
Sorry mods dont flame and zap me for sharing knowledge.
Think I just keep quiet
here will not zap unlike bike forum, the most only issuing NTUC point nia 🙏 🙏

finale1

Actually when we pay KLOOK for fast track, KLOOK also pay the customs right?

Same same but different?

In any case, i often take Thurs/Friday SQ186 touch down SGN Tan Son Nhat 6.25- 7pm. This timing as long its not year end, usually can clear customs in 60 mins. If I take Thurs/Fri VJ814, it will reach SGN 7-7.30pm and the queues start forming. Usually 90 mins can clear customs.

I usually go to the extreme right lane (and on further right u will see empty booths which they will open up soon after 7pm). After 7-7.30pm, the empty booths will open and u can quickly make a dash for those booths and shorten the waiting time by 30-40 mins

finale1

Btw does anyone know how to get Vietnam Sim card Mobifone with no expiry date?

I using Vietnam Mobile and the connection is very lousy! Go Vincom Center basement, no reception. Go Saigon Center basement no reception.

But Mobifone reception strong everywhere

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.