Vietnam

freedomx10

If you come to Vietnam the first time, don't take bus. The bus system is not so good to rely on for newcomer.

About airport taxi, there are airport taxi and city taxi. In Vietnam, only airport taxis are permitted to wait for customers in the waiting line, and they have bad reputation of cheating customers buy altering taxi meter. If it takes 50,000 vnd to go to the city center by normal taxi, it take 3/2 or double that amount using airport taxi.

To catch a city taxi, just when you get out of the custom gate, you will see a row of taxis infront of you. They are airport taxi. Don't be stopped by the airport taxis' drivers, cross the street to the middle, there is another row of taxis, less crowded, normally 2 cars per company (only two cars per company are allowed to park there). You can take any taxi in this row. For peace of mind, take yellow taxi (which is called Vinataxi, tel 8111111) or taxi with tel 8272727.

Hi could you elaborate more on why is it not good to rely on for newcomer? in terms of inconvenience or very confusing for newcomer? Thanks.

ahkwan

there's quite a few pharmacy over there but seem to me they not very pro.. so u better make sure u know wat u r buying.

Pham Ngu Lao is backpacker streets. quite happening lar.. got pub n all tat
D1 is open till quite late one. Accordingly to my viet fren, it open till super late.. but normally i 12-1am went back hotel zzz le..

I nv buy viet sim card b4. i just call back using SG no. never use the 019 too as I was told by Singtel ppl tat it is cheaper to just call as per norm.

no lah, jus wanna buy some toiletries only... LOL... next monday morning flight... will reach hcmc 9.05am...

:s12::s12::s12:

playhard

Hi could you elaborate more on why is it not good to rely on for newcomer? in terms of inconvenience or very confusing for newcomer? Thanks.

The bus system is not good. Sometimes due to time constrains, driver will skip some bus stop (there are ppl who check the time the bus comes to some places, if the bus comes more than two minutes earlier or later, the driver will be fined (around 3SGD for each time), that why they tend to skip bus stops if they are late, or stay at a bus stop longer if they are early. It's also difficult for you to ask for direction, as not many ppl can speak English can be found there.

Anyway, it's cheap to take taxi (again, the right taxi) to city. around $5 or less I think.

watchlooker

Shopping in HCMC

Hi Guys,

In my research..... there are 6 shopping centers in HCMC as follow.....

Diamond Plaza Center
Add: 34 Le Duan St., Dist 1
Tel: 8225500

Tax Plaza
Add: 135 Nguyen Hue, Dist 1
Tel: 8213849

Sai Gon Center
Add: 65 Le Loi, Dist 1
Tel: 8232505

An Dong Plaza
Add: 18 An Duong Vuong St., Ward 9, Dist 5
Tel: 8323288

Zen Plaza
Add: 54-56 Nguyen Trai St., Dist 1
Tel: 9250339

Parkson Trade Center
Add: 35 Bis Le Thanh Ton St., Dist 1
Tel: 8277635

My Qn is which of the above is best for shopping Sport Goods such as Nike, Addidas shoes and apparels etc? And which is best for shopping for a wrist watches? Price wise which is cheaper..... or am I better to shop in the Markets?:s11::s11:

ahkwan

hey guys, i very sad sia... today i subscribe to starhub auto roaming... activation fee was $10 but wat stun me more is the rate... $1+/min... is there any pre paid sim card in vietnam that i can call back to singapore and how much is the rate???

Thanks alot...

Techadd

hey guys, i very sad sia... today i subscribe to starhub auto roaming... activation fee was $10 but wat stun me more is the rate... $1+/min... is there any pre paid sim card in vietnam that i can call back to singapore and how much is the rate???

Thanks alot...

they are prepaid sim cards as well, but are also fairly expensive if u are using it to make overseas call, vietnam has one of the most expensive telecom charges, (probably because they loan the landline from other major telecoms in teh region..) you could opt to send sms instead of making calls to save on your phone bills..

ahkwan

they are prepaid sim cards as well, but are also fairly expensive if u are using it to make overseas call, vietnam has one of the most expensive telecom charges, (probably because they loan the landline from other major telecoms in teh region..) you could opt to send sms instead of making calls to save on your phone bills..

omg, scare parents and gf wan to hear my voice mah... LOL...

foofam77

ok guys...gng to HCMC next week by Tiger Airway...

last set of queries:

- weather in HCMC...still rainy?

- from Elios hotel, what's the best and safest way to get to War Museum and Presidential Palace? Ask Hotel to arrange Vinasun cabs?

- and from War Museum/ Presidential Palace back to Elios? I reckon is to catch Vinasun cabs and ask them to go by meter...but how do i identify Vinasun cabs and how do i communicate to them to that i want to go by meter (rather than flat rate)?

thanks

onionhead

Hey all,

gg on a trip to HCM on 24/12 to 27/12 with a grp of friends.. staying in a hotel near the mkt. any must see or must do in hcm other than the usual chu chi tunnels? has anyone been to the damsen water park? safe ornot huh?

weird

er bro techadd, let say for now, pay in which currencies is better? coz i'm going in 2 weeks time. Thinking of how much to bring and change? Thanks.

bro, if you read the last 10 pages of this tread, u will find all the ans needed

Hey all,

gg on a trip to HCM on 24/12 to 27/12 with a grp of friends.. staying in a hotel near the mkt. any must see or must do in hcm other than the usual chu chi tunnels? has anyone been to the damsen water park? safe ornot huh?

damsen water park u can take bus abt 45mins.
but since its a grp as well take taxi but i dont know cost how much

safe or not.. i think viet is safer than JB.. hahah..
but again even in sg if u cross road also may kena bang rite?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.