Vietnam

myben5

i supposed it is still much more cheaper than s'pore...

maybe you know where to get cheap things
things are not cheap at hcm
chendol drink 15000d at ben thant market
coffee 7000d at roadside stall
beef noodle 45000d at pho 2000

cryn79

Just came back from HCM on 22 dec, wished cld have spent X'mas there. anyone got pics to share howX'mas is celebrated in Saigon?

leogeo

their district 1 on a normal day is worst than Sg's Orchard Road on Christmas

i was there on 20th/21st night.

ckpay

n618018204_1126257_6053.jpg

24/12 night...

cryn79

Hi all,

I was at ben tahn market on 21 dec night , went there to take pics with the snow ball thingy in the pics. I think their docartions though simple, better thn orchard road leh.

tulipsgal

Can any one tell me where can I find the most of wooden handicraft/sculpture in HCMC? I m going to HCMC after chinese new year and my folks want me to bring back a pair of wooden sculpture of an animal with dragon head but fish body. Any one here seen tat b4 in HCM?

jokerpoker81

do u have the address for the place??? haiz... this is a tough mission...

threw away the card liao lor.....u print out the picture of tht signboard n ask ur hostel / hotel lor.......i only rem tht driver took only about 15-20 mins ??? drive when departing frm the place to my hostel in district 1....nv drop off exactly at my hostel thou....but at the starting of the whole stretch of street...had to walk back to my hostel, nt v far....

cryn79

Hi tulipsgal,

I hope i am not discouraging ppl to buy from the handicapped centre, but i see those art pices selling much cheaper in cho lon ( ie andong plaza) . the handicap centre quote their art works in USD wheras you can still bargin abit at Andong plaza.

tulipsgal

u mean andong market in dist.5? my plan is to spend 1 day walking around dist.5 to look for it, coz that is their china town and i suppose i might have a bigger chance to find those dragon-fish wooden sculpture as dragon is a auspicious creature for chinese

jokerpoker81

u mean andong market in dist.5? my plan is to spend 1 day walking around dist.5 to look for it, coz that is their china town and i suppose i might have a bigger chance to find those dragon-fish wooden sculpture as dragon is a auspicious creature for chinese

nt really.....the mkt is divided into clusters, based on what pdt selling, it's juz one big 2 storey building, n wet markets etc outside the building, not like a whole street..............outsie that area...i thk nothg much.....most prob ppl wun understd eng liao from there.......i dun rem seeing handicrafts there?....mostly leather goods, shoes, bags, clothing....n other stuffs meant for locals.....

of coz if wan juz handicrafts....wun be as big as the handicapped handicraftcentre.....but benh thah mkt have quite few stalls.....can try luck there also.....

weird

rem to print a pic of tat weird animal to show them... i doubt they will understand wat u talking abt

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.