Vietnam

Kaizoku

Yeah I'm going there to. Was also wondering what's the exchange rate.
and should I split to half USD half Dong or just change everyting to Dong? Not gonna shop much. Prob just sightseeing and makan only.

The rates now in HCMC is 1SGD to 16,200VND, 1USD to 20,000VND at the money changer i usually go to. Hope this helps.

biodraft

back from hcmc last night. nothing much to do in hcmc. only went to those museums, night market, eat and drink kopi. good place to relax though.

dalat nicer to me. cool weather, sightseeing is good, people there more honest than hcmc. maybe cos is kampong area.

Luintoxon

Hanoi Travel Agency?

:s12: Anybody has any travel agency in Hanoi to recommend for trips to Sapa and Halong cruises?

Seems like the tour prices from hotels' websites are very high. :(

vthanhtrung

Just in case you don’t want to go well-known café or big restaurant for foreigner travelers, let me introduce some small coffee shops and food stalls in HCMC. Go there and you will know more abt living style of youth in this city. So sorry, i hv no time to translate into English, you can use google translate instead.

“Quen” café
kenh14.vn/c39/20100926052754997/ket-qua-tha-hon-binh-yen-va-thu-gian-voi-quen-cafe.chn
46/104 Vo Van Tan, P6 Q3

“The tea House”
kenh14.vn/c95/2009072408184313/the-tea-house-uong-tra-kieu-teen.chn
Add: 344 Hoa Hao, P.4, Q.10, HCMC
Opening hour: 8h30 - 23h

Sweetened porridge
kenh14.vn/c95/20090923122455206/di-an-che-ngoai-quoc-o-xi-gon.chn
Add: Nguyen Tri Phuong street, ask the local for exact address.

Wheel House Café
kenh14.vn/c39/20100817051155387/sai-gon-tan-huong-khong-gian-doc-dao-tai-wheel-house-cafe.chn
Add: Level 1 - 116 Suong Nguyet Anh, P. Bến Thành, Q.1,HCMC

Pingo cafe
kenh14.vn/c39/20100807022417190/ket-qua-cung-tam-tit-den-pingo-cafe-dia-diem-thu-vi-danh-cho-teen.chn
Add: 497/35 Su Van Hanh, P.12, Q.10, HCMC

Gloria Jean’s Coffee.
kenh14.vn/c4/20101217110414604/them-mot-dia-diem-cafe-ly-tuong-danh-cho-teens.chn
131-13 Đong Khoi Q1
106 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai Q3
Galaxy cinema 116 Nguyen Du, Q1

“Season” milk tea
kenh14.vn/c95/20100911100812967/tra-sua-seasons-dia-diem-moi-cuc-hot-cua-teen-sai-thanh.chn
Add: 91 Hoang Dieu, P12 Q4

Bonus:
So, you know HCMC, Ha Noi, Da Lat, Sapa, Nha Trang…How about other parts of Vietnam?
youtube.com/watch?v=94y6svVU4so&feature=player_embedded

Tenchoo

Anyways.. dont go hanoi..

****** up city polluted.. dirty.. people are rude.. and surprisingly.. quite expensive for a 3rd world country..

anyways i did manage to survive on $200 for the whole vietnam trip.. actually got spare cash..

stayed in dorm for bout US$5.. halong bay trip was about $25 us? and sapa was 3 nights 2 days.. was $75..

manage to rent a bike for $5 us a day and ride around hanoi.. really nothing to see. Sapa was nice though... quite scenic but very very cold in december.

biggest disappointment by far was Halong bay.. i thought it was gonna be an awe inspring view.. but its no different from those rock formations that u can find in thailand or phillipines.. What a rip off.. even for $25..

natas

****** up city polluted.. dirty.. people are rude.. and surprisingly.. quite expensive for a 3rd world country..

Your expensive is referring to?? Guess your expectation of these countries are too high. U must have been staying in SG too long to realise there are still developing countries around our region.... Vietnamese of older generation does not have education, but comparing to SG generation with education but yet rude, Vietnamese seem better.

biggest disappointment by far was Halong bay.. i thought it was gonna be an awe inspring view.. but its no different from those rock formations that u can find in thailand or phillipines.. What a rip off.. even for $25..

Again, your expectation is high, guess Mars surface formation will amuse u more. Majority of ppl find Halong Bay a good place to get away from city life.

In life, if u set your expectation high, u will always be disappointed. During tour, just go and relax and enjoy your freedom. Don't behave like in SG, where everything u expect to be orderly and the best.

Younger generation in SG is been spoilt..... Nice city, good public transport, orderly queuing, clean toilet, clean food and so on but once they are out of SG in region countries, they suffer from it and complain.

Tenchoo

Your expensive is referring to?? Guess your expectation of these countries are too high. U must have been staying in SG too long to realise there are still developing countries around our region.... Vietnamese of older generation does not have education, but comparing to SG generation with education but yet rude, Vietnamese seem better.

Again, your expectation is high, guess Mars surface formation will amuse u more. Majority of ppl find Halong Bay a good place to get away from city life.

In life, if u set your expectation high, u will always be disappointed. During tour, just go and relax and enjoy your freedom. Don't behave like in SG, where everything u expect to be orderly and the best.

Younger generation in SG is been spoilt..... Nice city, good public transport, orderly queuing, clean toilet, clean food and so on but once they are out of SG in region countries, they suffer from it and complain.

expensive as in a normal bottle of mineral water costs $1 sing dollar when i can get in bangkok for less that 30 cents?

I survived in vietnam on $200 for 7 days.. and i get the impression that u think i'm
spoiled? LOL. The same guy that thought it was impossible to do with that budget.

And thanks for calling me "younger generation" when i'm almost 30.. makes me feel good inside.. really thanks.

And the pollution there was bad.. really bad.. it was as if people were smoking all over the place.. thats why i said it was dirty.. u dont get that in other countries in south east asia.. and i've been to all except for myanmar. ALL the vietnamese people were riding their bikes with the face masks.. that how polluted it was.

And i dont know about u.. but halong bay is over rated. Its just now what i expected.. I go scuba diving often and i know my beaches..

A bunch of rock formations jutting out of a dirty south china sea is not my idea of "Scenic"

I didnt set high expectations.. i tell it how it is.. and from my travels.. hanoi isnt great AT ALL. I mean honestly.. Ho Chin Minh's dead body is an attraction? Really?

Maybe i'm not a city boy.. maybe thats why i think Sapa is really 100X better than hanoi..

but u need to get ur rose tinted glasses about vietnam and throw it out.. cause i gather u really love it for some weird reason.

natas

expensive as in a normal bottle of mineral water costs $1 sing dollar when i can get in bangkok for less that 30 cents?

Guess u bought your mineral water from 5 stars hotel.

And the pollution there was bad.. really bad.. it was as if people were smoking all over the place.. thats why i said it was dirty.. u dont get that in other countries in south east asia.. and i've been to all except for myanmar. ALL the vietnamese people were riding their bikes with the face masks.. that how polluted it was.

Your SEA limited to SG n Hanoi, where JKT, Manila or BKK are in SWA.

And i dont know about u.. but halong bay is over rated. Its just now what i expected.. I go scuba diving often and i know my beaches..

U dun go Halong to enjoy beaches...:eek:

A bunch of rock formations jutting out of a dirty south china sea is not my idea of "Scenic"

Guess u go blindly.... Halong are not famous for beaches and scuba. Google in the net, u can see what is expected in Halong.

but u need to get ur rose tinted glasses about vietnam and throw it out.. cause i gather u really love it for some weird reason.

No point talking to a shallow man/woman. Enjoy yourself in other countries. Last statement with u.

kaicheng83

hi all,

will be going to Hanoi this coming May...

will be there for 7 - 8 days (2D1N Ha Long Bay, 3D2N Sapa)

wish to ask how much expense should I bring?

is SGD 300 - 400 enough?

thks

iamyxr

i'm going HCMC for 6 days. any idea should i split 3 days to hanoi or stay 6 days in HCMC? will 6 days be too bored? :(

Will be going with GF.

frequency36

i'm going HCMC for 6 days. any idea should i split 3 days to hanoi or stay 6 days in HCMC? will 6 days be too bored? :(

Will be going with GF.

i not sure abt hanoi, but staying at hcmc shd be quite boring. u shd go to Mui Ne while u r in hcmc, it is a very nice and relax place

Techadd

hi all,

will be going to Hanoi this coming May...

will be there for 7 - 8 days (2D1N Ha Long Bay, 3D2N Sapa)

wish to ask how much expense should I bring?

is SGD 300 - 400 enough?

thks

if you're going on a package tour, it should be enough.

Techadd

I survived in vietnam on $200 for 7 days.. and i get the impression that u think i'm
spoiled? LOL. The same guy that thought it was impossible to do with that budget.

And thanks for calling me "younger generation" when i'm almost 30.. makes me feel good inside.. really thanks.

I didnt set high expectations.. i tell it how it is.. and from my travels.. hanoi isnt great AT ALL. I mean honestly.. Ho Chin Minh's dead body is an attraction? Really?

Maybe i'm not a city boy.. maybe thats why i think Sapa is really 100X better than hanoi..

You seem to have a different perception of your travel experience in Vietnam, too bad though.. ;) yes, i know you 'traveled' alot..probably even more so than most of 'us' here.. but Halong Bay was never advertised as a beach getaway in the first place.. you need to get the facts right before you complain...

cheers~

Techadd

Just in case you don’t want to go well-known café or big restaurant for foreigner travelers, let me introduce some small coffee shops and food stalls in HCMC. Go there and you will know more abt living style of youth in this city. So sorry, i hv no time to translate into English, you can use google translate instead.

“Quen” café
kenh14.vn/c39/20100926052754997/ket-qua-tha-hon-binh-yen-va-thu-gian-voi-quen-cafe.chn
46/104 Vo Van Tan, P6 Q3

“The tea House”
kenh14.vn/c95/2009072408184313/the-tea-house-uong-tra-kieu-teen.chn
Add: 344 Hoa Hao, P.4, Q.10, HCMC
Opening hour: 8h30 - 23h

Sweetened porridge
kenh14.vn/c95/20090923122455206/di-an-che-ngoai-quoc-o-xi-gon.chn
Add: Nguyen Tri Phuong street, ask the local for exact address.

Wheel House Café
kenh14.vn/c39/20100817051155387/sai-gon-tan-huong-khong-gian-doc-dao-tai-wheel-house-cafe.chn
Add: Level 1 - 116 Suong Nguyet Anh, P. Bến Thành, Q.1,HCMC

Pingo cafe
kenh14.vn/c39/20100807022417190/ket-qua-cung-tam-tit-den-pingo-cafe-dia-diem-thu-vi-danh-cho-teen.chn
Add: 497/35 Su Van Hanh, P.12, Q.10, HCMC

Gloria Jean’s Coffee.kenh14.vn/c4/20101217110414604/them-mot-dia-diem-cafe-ly-tuong-danh-cho-teens.chn
131-13 Đong Khoi Q1
106 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai Q3
Galaxy cinema 116 Nguyen Du, Q1

“Season” milk tea
kenh14.vn/c95/20100911100812967/tra-sua-seasons-dia-diem-moi-cuc-hot-cua-teen-sai-thanh.chn
Add: 91 Hoang Dieu, P12 Q4

Bonus:
So, you know HCMC, Ha Noi, Da Lat, Sapa, Nha Trang…How about other parts of Vietnam?
youtube.com/watch?v=94y6svVU4so&feature=player_embedded

gloria jean coffee house isn't cheap wor...:D:D

pker88

natas u stay in viet nbefore?

is hcmc a good place to go for a short break?
i heard airporto to town only best way is take their cab?

what hotel can recommend around thei city cte where can find shoip and makan?

i hope they speaks some english or mandrians?
but is it safe to go like bring camera wear and sliing around the body?

pardon my noobie questions ahah

do sg got a veit tour broad i can go ask and take some maps and catalogues?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.