Vietnam

excalibur324

i c from direct booking web de >.< all that range T.T

yea indochina is luxury de. i went to c those recommended ones most are luxury typed :(( read up some reviews those who signed up the cheap junk boat gt lousy stuff or sign up with their local tour agency then boarded a junk boat different from pictures shown. luxury too expensive. maybe gt those around 150per pax 1 oso can?thanks!
its always cheaper signing up at agency in Hanoi.

the Luon Cave and Titov island is indeed more ex den the normal one.. (based on my knowledge is becos more beautiful this and that)

my 2d1n was 36USD (2011 June) (Sinhtourist quote 91USD) it was normal, food was basic but junk was good. kayak at the 2nd day. so it was great value.

For me, Halong Bay itself is quite magnificent whether is Titov island or some unknown cave or island.

my friend paid for like 95USD everything the same except food was better.

strongly suggest book at the local agency.

use sinhtourist as a guide. https://www.thesinhtourist.vn/(S(qr...))/TourPlaces.aspx?ChiTietLoai=HL&SearchMap=1

dont pay more than what they quote since this is already the upper bound of price. they are able to quote higher than the rest because they are reputable.

solidifry

Hey guys, im planning my trip to Hanoi in June. Just a few questions, it would be glad if you guys could help me out here.

1) how long is the ride from Hanoi airport to train station(am taking train to sapa)

2) is it better to book a 2D1N tour to halong bay through the tour agency there or book before setting off? Also, do I have to book in advance if I book through their tour agency there?

3) accommodation in sapa preferrably book when I'm there or before setting off? Any diff in price?

excalibur324

Hey guys, im planning my trip to Hanoi in June. Just a few questions, it would be glad if you guys could help me out here.

1) how long is the ride from Hanoi airport to train station(am taking train to sapa)

2) is it better to book a 2D1N tour to halong bay through the tour agency there or book before setting off? Also, do I have to book in advance if I book through their tour agency there?

3) accommodation in sapa preferrably book when I'm there or before setting off? Any diff in price?

1) 50min - 1hr

2) book through agency there will be cheaper. daily departure.

3) accomodation aplenty. You can even find your own hotel without booking.

solidifry

Im planning to go to sapa from Hanoi on Friday. Is it advisable to book the ticket online or go there and buy? Any recommendation for which train to take? I've checked and they have so many trains going to sapa

mlangelo

Im planning to go to sapa from Hanoi on Friday. Is it advisable to book the ticket online or go there and buy? Any recommendation for which train to take? I've checked and they have so many trains going to sapa

You pay more if you book online. I booked mine at the station itself. However, if you wouldn't mind your hotel earning a bit of commission, rather than the other middlemen, you can ask the front desk to help you book.
I printed out the vietnamese name of the station, plus the map and asked a local waiter whom I befriended to write the name in vietnamese. And then I asked for directions to the station from the locals. They are pretty friendly. I had one nice policeman who escorted me part of the way. You could also take a motorcycle taxi to the station. I took one back to the hotel. Get the hotel name card and before you get on the bike, bargain the fare first.
Take the 9.10 pm train and reach Lao cai around 5.25am. If you have four in a group, book 4 beds together so that you can lock the carriage door while you sleep. Your things will be safer. Check this website for more info :
Train travel in Vietnam | Train times, fares, photos, how to buy tickets
Hope this helps!

tatchong

Hello all,
I am intending to go to Halong Bay over this weekend, saturday to tuesday. I am looking at booking a 3 day 2 night cruise.

However I need some help with the planning and execution.

I have been reading and decided to book a ticket to Hanoi. From Hanoi, how should I get to Halong Bay? I was reading some articles about Halong City, a bit confused about that.

Assuming I take a bus or train to the port, I then look around for an agent to book the cruise?

Any particular cruise or agent to recommend or avoid?

Thanks.

beanstalk6

You can get to Halong or Haiphong and set off from these embarkation points. Most people book their trip to Halong Bay in Hanoi, and these packages almost always includes transport to Halong where you board the junk for Halong Bay. Usually you sign up for the next day's departure. Anyway, the junks always leave Halong in the morning. You should probably ensure that you get to Halong at that time.

excalibur324

Hello all,
I am intending to go to Halong Bay over this weekend, saturday to tuesday. I am looking at booking a 3 day 2 night cruise.

However I need some help with the planning and execution.

I have been reading and decided to book a ticket to Hanoi. From Hanoi, how should I get to Halong Bay? I was reading some articles about Halong City, a bit confused about that.

Assuming I take a bus or train to the port, I then look around for an agent to book the cruise?

Any particular cruise or agent to recommend or avoid?

Thanks.
agent will bao ka liao once u book in hanoi.

transport will pick u up at your hotel lobby and 3hrs later u will be in halong city.

no worries.

excalibur324

never bought from online before. so not sure how its being done.

there are 5 trains every night tt goes to sapa. all overnight trains and reach sapa in the nxvmorning. normally wont get overbooked. trains differ due to the composition of cabins and carriages.

if you decide to buy in hanoi, remember to buy ticket direct from train station. important as its common for tour agent to buy a second class ticket for you and tell you its first class.

choose the 4bed ones (first class). pay a little more for a lot more comfort!

solidifry

never bought from online before. so not sure how its being done.

there are 5 trains every night tt goes to sapa. all overnight trains and reach sapa in the nxvmorning. normally wont get overbooked. trains differ due to the composition of cabins and carriages.

if you decide to buy in hanoi, remember to buy ticket direct from train station. important as its common for tour agent to buy a second class ticket for you and tell you its first class.

choose the 4bed ones (first class). pay a little more for a lot more comfort!

Thank for the advise! I'm going with my friend. Only 2 of us. If we boom a 4 bed ones will we share with somebody else in a room? And also, how much does it cost for 2 bed one? I saw the train to sapa online and they were really comfortable and nice. Ticket cost around 75USD. How much cheaper would it be if I buy directly at the train station for the same train I saw online? If I tell them Im going sapa valley, would they understand english? I scare wait they send me to some other places leh. As soon as I arrived in Hanoi, I will depart to sapa directly without any stopover at Hanoi.

excalibur324

Thank for the advise! I'm going with my friend. Only 2 of us. If we boom a 4 bed ones will we share with somebody else in a room? And also, how much does it cost for 2 bed one? I saw the train to sapa online and they were really comfortable and nice. Ticket cost around 75USD. How much cheaper would it be if I buy directly at the train station for the same train I saw online? If I tell them Im going sapa valley, would they understand english? I scare wait they send me to some other places leh. As soon as I arrived in Hanoi, I will depart to sapa directly without any stopover at Hanoi.
wah.. no stopover in Hanoi arh. hmmx.. den it might be a risk.

my ticket was 515 000 VND which translates to 25USD 4bed sleeper

there is no 2 bed sleeper one.

there is one counter who speaks rather good english. just tell her your train number (SE1 SE3 SE5 or SE7) and the date of departure she will do it for you. Sapa is well known so no worries.

most likely u will share with somebody. suay will be locals but heng might be other western travellers.

solidifry

wah.. no stopover in Hanoi arh. hmmx.. den it might be a risk.

my ticket was 515 000 VND which translates to 25USD 4bed sleeper

there is no 2 bed sleeper one.

there is one counter who speaks rather good english. just tell her your train number (SE1 SE3 SE5 or SE7) and the date of departure she will do it for you. Sapa is well known so no worries.

most likely u will share with somebody. suay will be locals but heng might be other western travellers.

Haha. Why would it be risky? Is it because the train ticket will be fully sold out during weekend? I will be arriving at Hanoi around 6pm. Hope that I can catch the train at around 9.50pm. Do you guys think I have enough time? Wah. Hope the person I'm sharing with are not a theft. Otherwise I jialat Liao.

excalibur324

Haha. Why would it be risky? Is it because the train ticket will be fully sold out during weekend? I will be arriving at Hanoi around 6pm. Hope that I can catch the train at around 9.50pm. Do you guys think I have enough time? Wah. Hope the person I'm sharing with are not a theft. Otherwise I jialat Liao.
there is a remote possibility that there is no first class sleeper.

there should be at least the soft seater (which i think is better than 2nd class sleeper ironically) in terms of comfort level.

provided there is no delay, u should reach hanoi train station 1 hr later. (evening traffic can be madness) latest 1.5 to 2 hrs

tatchong

Hello, thanks for the reply thus far.

For the junk leaving in the morning, it means I have to book a hotel for the day which I arrive in Hanoi. I intend to get a ticket which arrives in the afternoon. I assume I will be looking around for the itinerary which suit me and then stay in Hanoi for the night before departing.

Will I be able to find a hotel there and then or is it advisable to book online now?

Recommendations for cruise?

solidifry

there is a remote possibility that there is no first class sleeper.

there should be at least the soft seater (which i think is better than 2nd class sleeper ironically) in terms of comfort level.

provided there is no delay, u should reach hanoi train station 1 hr later. (evening traffic can be madness) latest 1.5 to 2 hrs

I see. I shall try my luck!

shermianz

there isnt much shopping to be done in HCM right? what is e idea amount to bring there for a 4day trip -mostly sightseeing excluding hotel

solidifry

does anybody have any recommendation in tailormade shirt/suit in hcm? I will only be staying in hcm for 2 days. Preferably can be done within 24 hrs. Afterwards, i will be flying to hanoi where i will be staying almost a week there. If you guys think 2 days to tailormade a suit is seemingly impossible, do recommend me a good tailor in hanoi.

Also, i heard that custom-made leather shoes in vietnam is kinda popular. Any recommendation on that? Its my first time to vietnam so kinda lost.

Thanks people!

Oceano

its always cheaper signing up at agency in Hanoi.

the Luon Cave and Titov island is indeed more ex den the normal one.. (based on my knowledge is becos more beautiful this and that)

my 2d1n was 36USD (2011 June) (Sinhtourist quote 91USD) it was normal, food was basic but junk was good. kayak at the 2nd day. so it was great value.

For me, Halong Bay itself is quite magnificent whether is Titov island or some unknown cave or island.

my friend paid for like 95USD everything the same except food was better.

strongly suggest book at the local agency.

use sinhtourist as a guide. https://www.thesinhtourist.vn/(S(qr...))/TourPlaces.aspx?ChiTietLoai=HL&SearchMap=1

dont pay more than what they quote since this is already the upper bound of price. they are able to quote higher than the rest because they are reputable.

Bro... Thank you for your postings. I gain quite abit from your positing about Halong Bay.

would like to check, are there many types of Junks (for tourist to stay overnight) or basically is the same 8-12 ppl per junk.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.