Vietnam

lovejade

i went with mr hien easy riders $40usd very good. lotsa sceneries places.. waterfalls. also have silk factory but if u don't want can ask him go elsewhere also no problem.
we took jeep 2 of us. $90usd.

mostly the rates they reply me is 65 - 75 usd.

ur jeep is 90 per day? any picture? what is his way of contact?

zorrus

currently in hanoi now, staying at old quarters.
anywhere to go after midnight?
seems like everywhere closes at 1130pm!

tmfwy

can share your dalat itinerary? i did a lot of readings on the easy riders and still dont know who to engage.

emailed one, and they reply me which standard dalat tourist place like factories on silk, rubber etc which i specifically wanted scenaric places for photography. *faceplam*
Dalat

I'm still in HCMC but just came back from Dalat

Unless you engage an international tour agency, expect to get a vietnamese speaking guide if you engage a local agency ( hint: English speaking guides cost 3x more ). I went with a local agency with my family. About < $150/pax ( 2 min ) for the land tour only. 3D2N @ 4 star resort ( the breakfast is decent )

the one i went with brought me to
Roller Coaster Place ( quite scenic with a waterfall backdrop~Yuo can check out my FB for it )
Valley of love ( quite Scenic IF you know where to look )
Dalat Flower Garden ( love this place )
1x shop ( decent prices and not carrot chopping like some places )
1x Church ( Probable )
1x Lang Biang Peak ( kinda like this place coz of the jeep ride. Feels like initial D going downhill though. Definitely not for the faint hearted. imagine 1 lane mountain road shared by 2x jeeps going in oppposite directions )
1x Aboriginal Dance
1x temple

The first day is travelling to Dalat and 1-2 places
The second day is mostly sightseeing
The third day is travelling back

Alternatively, you can hire an english speaking vehicle with driver. I think i was quoted about $230 for a viet speaking one in a Toyota Fortuna for a Dalat trip of 3 days. of course, this assumes you know where to go. The Driver will just bring you to the places they are familiar with or to the places you want to go.

lovejade

7 layers waterfall... i will hope to visit this place.. any of u guys went?

btw, thanks for sharing all your experience. :)

mediating-monks-on-pongour-falls-vietnam.jpg

source: http://twistedsifter.com/2012/05/picture-of-the-day-meditating-monks-at-pongour-falls/

tmfwy

7 layers waterfall... i will hope to visit this place.. any of u guys went?

btw, thanks for sharing all your experience. :)

mediating-monks-on-pongour-falls-vietnam.jpg

source: Picture of the Day: Meditating Monks at Pongour Falls «TwistedSifter
You should go Jiu Zhai Gou then

I got a shot at the multi layer waterfall, exactly ( i think ) of the scene they used in the Xi you Ji Drama.

Where is that shot taken from anyway?

There seems to be a curfew in vietnam where clubs close at 1am. If you intend to go clubbing after that, you gotta go to underground clubs.

lovejade

I got a shot at the multi layer waterfall, exactly ( i think ) of the scene they used in the Xi you Ji Drama.

There seems to be a curfew in vietnam where clubs close at 1am. If you intend to go clubbing after that, you gotta go to underground clubs.

under the picture, i posted the source and... name/place.

blue_line

I was in hcmc and the clubs didn't close till like 5am. :o party scene quite happening there too.

tmfwy

I was in hcmc and the clubs didn't close till like 5am. :o party scene quite happening there too.
Hee. which club?

Maybe they relaxed the curfew. but i remember last time i was clubbing in hcmc, they closed dang early!

Happening....i agree. not as happening as JKT, but you will be spoilt for choice in terms of companionship. :)
Plus, some come with free transport to boot. :p

IceX

any clubs to recommend in HCM ? best if the staff can speak english or chinese

cheekymonkey05

any hair salons to recommend in hcm? What are the charges usually like for normal hair wash and if there's happy endings?

tmfwy

any hair salons to recommend in hcm? What are the charges usually like for normal hair wash and if there's happy endings?
LOL. These sort of things, please don't ask in HWZ. Go SMB.
But generally

Hair Salons ( HOT TOC )
If around ben thanh market area ( you get charged a premium but they can speak english ). Easier for first timers.
Basics is 100,000 dong just wash and shampoo and blow dry ( the hair ). Tip is up to you ( Really. A tip is a gratuity. If u don't give, they may complain but its entirely up to you ). A decent tip is 20-50k for basic services.
They may also bring you up to another room to cut your fingernails, dig ear..etc. Thse form BASIC Services.

If outside tourist areas, hair wash starts from 30,000 dong basic. Tip up to you. BUT u gotta know some vietnamese..

Again, it might sound stupid or rude but ALWAYS ask for prices beforehand.
If you are scared, go with another person..

cheekymonkey05

LOL. These sort of things, please don't ask in HWZ. Go SMB.
But generally

Hair Salons ( HOT TOC )
If around ben thanh market area ( you get charged a premium but they can speak english ). Easier for first timers.
Basics is 100,000 dong just wash and shampoo and blow dry ( the hair ). Tip is up to you ( Really. A tip is a gratuity. If u don't give, they may complain but its entirely up to you ). A decent tip is 20-50k for basic services.
They may also bring you up to another room to cut your fingernails, dig ear..etc. Thse form BASIC Services.

If outside tourist areas, hair wash starts from 30,000 dong basic. Tip up to you. BUT u gotta know some vietnamese..

Again, it might sound stupid or rude but ALWAYS ask for prices beforehand.
If you are scared, go with another person..

lol thx bro any particular hair salons to recommend?btw what you meant if I just need to pay additional 20k-50k dong for the other services like ear digging or massage respectively? Their hairwash doesnt come with neck or hand massage right?

kunoichi

am interested/planning to go hanoi/sapa/halong bay this year, can anyone advise if it is better to book the sapa/halong bay tours here or to go to a tour operator in hanoi? :)

tmfwy

lol thx bro any particular hair salons to recommend?btw what you meant if I just need to pay additional 20k-50k dong for the other services like ear digging or massage respectively? Their hairwash doesnt come with neck or hand massage right?

LOL. If you wanna do a hair wash, i recommend going to the spas in proper hotels. They charge a premium but you get peace of mind.
If you are after some hanky panky,hee hee, the fun is in exploring :D

If you can speak Vietnamese, you will know what it usually comes with. As the usuals differ from salon to salon, it is hard to say.

The one i go to ( outside hcmc ) charges me only 15,000 dong for a haircut and 25,000 dong for a face massage ( maybe facial+massage ). I used to do my 2 hour cum facial cum hair wash / hair cut somewhere around Ben Thanh for 100,000 dong but then again, i had a local translate for me. Usually, you will see prices stuck on the show window pane much like in SG.
But if you happen to go into a salon because u care lured by an SYT, its an entirely different matter....

I would say the general prices for a hair wash / cut is around 30,000 dong min in hcmc for a non english speaking salon and 100,000 dong for english speaking salons with lots of SYTs hanging around.

If you are not a local, the locals will usually take every opportunity to charge you extra, even if the service is included!

Real life example
I go buy soya bean drink from market. My wife approached the seller than ask for 1 bottle. Seller's hubby say 9000 dong. When they saw that i was her husband, the seller's husband scolded his wife ( the seller ), admonishing her in vietnamese for not charging higher. The price became 10,000 dong from them on. The seller's conversation was in vietnamese, to which i was oblivious to. It was only after i reached home ( in vietnam ) did my wife narrate what happened to earlier on.

There is much discrimination in pricing between locals and foreigners but the general rule is simple. Don't pay more than what you should be paying in SG. If you go there for a simple hair wash, expect a simple hair wash, nothing else. Whatever extras they provide, assume it is not free. Tip them depending on their service.

If you kena carrot chop, don't be afraid. Take it as a lesson learnt / school fee and avoid making the same mistake again.

As long as you don't grossly overpay, its alright.

If really really afraid, go to a proper spa instead of a hot toc.
They offer complete ( non sexual ) services where you can easily spend a few hours relaxing in there for a complete body workout ( manicure / pedicure wash, shampoo, style, facial, massage.....etc ). The entrance fee starts from min US$10 and up. Each station you use, you pay tips. I recommend such spas for first timers.

The spas in VN will pay off for itself ( inclusive of airfare ) if you consider the value they provide vis a vis Singapore Spas for the amount of time spent there....

If you are looking for sexual services, look in other forums but generally, it will be better to find someone trusted to accompany you. If in doubt, patronise those in established hotels/motels. You pay more but you will most likely not get ripped off and paying like what others are paying.

Tips will vary largely from place to place so if in doubt, always do the following:
1. Always Ask for prices before hand ( ESPECIALLY when you do not see a price tag and if you are adding extras ). A calculator will prove handy. And yes, you can sometimes be charged US$100 for a normal tip or for some food you innocently purchased by a roadside stall!
2. If you like the service provided, pay more
3. If Kiasee, go to established places. You pay more for peace of mind.
4. If being ripped off ( err, shopping. :p ) in Cho Ben Thanh, expect to pay school fees till you are familiar with the prices. Don't bother asking for general prices coz it varies from shop to shop.. And unless the seller recognises you, be prepared to pay an inflated premium somewhat in magnitude to our COE system lol.

IceX

just came back from hcm..not as laidback as ive expected..actually quite hectic like the traffic..still rem first day I have fear of crossing the road but after that steady liao.

Actually HCM nothing for me leh..maybe cause I always stick to district 1..I would recommend skipping ben tanh market in the day lah..the night market is so much better with the road side stalls hawkers as well. One good thing is chilling at pham ngu lao area with cheap beer and wifi

The english language spoken by the ppl there is minimal..Overall verdict, can go back once a year for me max..haha I still prefer thailand:o

natlow

am interested/planning to go hanoi/sapa/halong bay this year, can anyone advise if it is better to book the sapa/halong bay tours here or to go to a tour operator in hanoi? :)

Pre-booking will give you the peace of mind and better manage the valuable time especially if you have that limited days. Costs may not be easily comparable as there are many ways operators could cut corners, you never know; Hanoi Bay cruise is one - ship type, cabins/ amenities, meals, itinerary (e.g. inclusion of rowing boat trip out to adjacent site, etc). I went with TNK after picking up from a forummer here.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.