Vietnam

dede1217

yeah i got scammed by taxi before in saigon. the meter jump like super fast and before i knew it i was paying 70 dollars for a trip that should have beeen just 10.. any idea which taxi companies i should use?

vinasun and mah ling ... the rest, especially saigon cab , not reliable lol ...

It's depend on ur arrival time (low or high season) from 1st May - 31th Sept ==> is low season & fr 1st Oct - 30th april is high peak of tourism in the north of VN.. If ur group is 4 or 5ppls i think you should contact to local agency in Hano to book in advance..

There s 2 kind of train ticket: soft sleeper (4berth/cabin) & hard sleeper (6berth /cabin)...Recommend to u to book for kind of 4bed~~~ cuz..i ll take a long trip to Lao Cai - Sapa :)
Thanks.. I think we'll take the hard sleeper anyway.. won't leave ppl out :(

cobragold

Anyone just back from vietnam and have small dong notes for sale please contact me, change at money changers all big notes, what is the biggest dong note.? Looking for 1, 5 and 10k notes.
Thanks

jasonlkk

I want to ask TS or any friends out there..

I am going to HCM next month end. Thinking of making some pocket money for myself. Can i know any items that i can buy in Singapore and handcarry over to Vietnam?

I am looking to small items like axe brand medicated oil or new handphones like iphone 6 or Samsung models. Quantity varies a few to a dozen.

Just want to know any items that i can sell off easily off the streets or people.
Any good advices will be much appreciated.

audiovideo

Anyone just back from vietnam and have small dong notes for sale please contact me, change at money changers all big notes, what is the biggest dong note.? Looking for 1, 5 and 10k notes.
Thanks

why you want the small note?
hope you din change at SG money changer :s22: ... easily slaughter you 1k dong per S$

suangern

Thanks
biggest domination is 500,000 dong (five hundred thousand)

juuzbe

Would like to visit hcmc in end Nov/early Dec. Hope it is not a wet seasons.

By the way, their normal cab canbtake 5pax?

juuzbe

Would like to visit hcmc in end Nov/early Dec. Hope it is not a wet seasons.

By the way, their normal cab can take 5pax?

cobragold

why you want the small note?
hope you din change at SG money changer :s22: ... easily slaughter you 1k dong per S$

Yes,
You are right, no need for small notes, will change $100 at airport for transport to city, then change in town. Notes of 50k should be small enough for hawkers to break.
Thanks

thenakedshades

Going to Hanoi in end Nov. Any idea what kind of prepaid data sim do they offer? And where can i get them? I'm staying for about 2 weeks.

juuzbe

usd 20 . mekong delta tour there is 2 types. either u go to ben tre/my tho or u go to vinh long .. different pricing

Which one do you think is better? How about those 2D1N mekong delta kind of trip? Anyone has recommendation for homestay exeperience too? Worthy to try? TIA for advice.

bleonz

Are shops open in HCM during CNY Lunar New Year?

Ultrafire

from ho chi minh possible to go mekong delta tours ? any tour operators to recommend ?

prefer semi private tours , dont like going by bus loads or sharing table to have shared meals unless buffet style

Delsamor

Other than old quarter (Hoan Kiem district) and the likes of pagoda/temple/museum, is there anywhere further that is worth visiting for any purpose?

juuzbe

Dalat kind of a nice place to visit. Would need advice from bros and sis here who had ventured there before for advice.

Read from Sinh webby that they have trips to Dalat but kind of 3D2N type which 2 days gone on the roads. Also read that Phuong Trang bus has hourly trips to Dalat from HCMC. Anyone had ventured their sleeping buses to Dalat before and may i know normally what time you would suggest depart HCMC to Dalat? 1N or 2N stay you think would be enough there?

Or anyone has recommendation for hotel to stay in Dalat and any day tour company I can go to?

TIA for advice.

audiovideo

thought of going to dalat too but thinking of the 8hrs by bus quite jialat.
how about fly nha trang, stay a while then bus to dalat 3hrs then later fly back to hcmc :s8:

suangern

thought of going to dalat too but thinking of the 8hrs by bus quite jialat.
how about fly nha trang, stay a while then bus to dalat 3hrs then later fly back to hcmc :s8:
good choice, at least not so tired.
Dalat kind of a nice place to visit. Would need advice from bros and sis here who had ventured there before for advice.

Read from Sinh webby that they have trips to Dalat but kind of 3D2N type which 2 days gone on the roads. Also read that Phuong Trang bus has hourly trips to Dalat from HCMC. Anyone had ventured their sleeping buses to Dalat before and may i know normally what time you would suggest depart HCMC to Dalat? 1N or 2N stay you think would be enough there?

Or anyone has recommendation for hotel to stay in Dalat and any day tour company I can go to?

TIA for advice.
I took phuong trang sleeping bus to another place called kien giang province before, it is quite cramp but I have no other choices, HCMC don't have flights to kien giang.
Are shops open in HCM during CNY Lunar New Year?
During CNY all (or most) shops will closed, many people working in HCMC are actually from other provinces, all balik kampung liao...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.