Vietnam

xiaojing11

Ok thanks audio and finale.
I not sure whether to go during Aug PH, if weather same as sg, still ok, becos stay in sg also hot. But not hotter and more humid than sg rite?

Is Aug peak period? Scared the accommodation will ex. Wat abt sg to hcm, estimate how much is the air ticket?

WhiteAnt

1) Take the bus for 10k dong or take the cab for 10usd. Theres no other options.

2) Cu Chi tunnel... i havent been before. But if the thrill of firing live AK47 rifle excites you, then you should go.

3) They have special promo for 3G SIM cards. Data is quite cheap in Vietnam.

4) Change USD to VND at the gold shops in Ben Thanh Market. The gold shops love USD. Personally, i feel they dont really appreciate SGD. But there are banks like Vietcom banks in HCMC. The rates are ok, comparable to Chinatown. Otherwise, its safer for you to change most of your money to VND in Chinatown or Arcade before going.

5) Take very good care of your belongings. Snatch thieves are all around. Dont make phone calls or check your phones along the roads. Go inside Kmart and convenient stores to use your phone. When you are there shopping, remember to bargain hard or walk away. Every step u take walking out of their shop, they will drop prices like a rock.

Vietnamese people in HCMC are friendly people. If you like, go to the park near Benh Thanh, you will find local Vietnameses crowding around Ang Mohs tourists to practise speaking English. Make some friends there =)

End May, the weather will be very hot. Stay hydrated. Stay safe and you will find this a pleasant trip.

Thanks a bunch, finale1!!

I am still thinking whether to include Cu Chi tunnel, though I'm not super keen in firing since NS has it :o I see if can find cheaper rates, because the price is too steep for just half a day.

P/s: Anyone who has been to Cu Chi can advise if it is a must go?

When bargaining with shops, what is the reasonable % to slash price: 30% or cut half price ok? No idea how much they mark up for tourists. :s22:

Hahaha so funny, they crowd around angmos to practice ENglish. Got a mental image that they each speak a different language and blur blur face lol.

Hot weather :eek: this is bad :(

finale1

Thanks a bunch, finale1!!

I am still thinking whether to include Cu Chi tunnel, though I'm not super keen in firing since NS has it :o I see if can find cheaper rates, because the price is too steep for just half a day.

P/s: Anyone who has been to Cu Chi can advise if it is a must go?

When bargaining with shops, what is the reasonable % to slash price: 30% or cut half price ok? No idea how much they mark up for tourists. :s22:

Hahaha so funny, they crowd around angmos to practice ENglish. Got a mental image that they each speak a different language and blur blur face lol.

Hot weather :eek: this is bad :(

In Ho Chi Minh, its pretty cut throat. The markup can be up to 300% or 50% depending on where you are and what you are buying. Personally i had this experience in Dalat and HCMC.

I bought a good silk scarf in Dalat for 90k. When i went to HCMC, theres this cunning lady at Taka plaza, first shop facing the outside selling many kinds of silk scarves. Her scarf are lousy but she claimed its better quality and she asked for 300k dong for 1. I said... sorry.. i paid 100k and i cant pay so much. Then she said she can give discounts. if i buy 2 or more, she can give me 280k. Then i said sorry and said i can only pay 100k. As i started to walk away, she quickly put her lousy scarf into a plastic bag and said "Ok sell u for 100k".

damn it.. she marked up 300% and i bot that lousy piece for 100k!

WhiteAnt

Exchange rate at Ben thanh mkt gold shops for sgd is now 16020.

Do you mind to advise where is Ben Thanh mkt gold shop? Any landmark or prominent sign to follow there? Because if the rates are better there, then I won't change in sg liao, or maybe change little bit like $50 here first so can get simcard at airport. :o

In Ho Chi Minh, its pretty cut throat. The markup can be up to 300% or 50% depending on where you are and what you are buying. Personally i had this experience in Dalat and HCMC.

I bought a good silk scarf in Dalat for 90k. When i went to HCMC, theres this cunning lady at Taka plaza, first shop facing the outside selling many kinds of silk scarves. Her scarf are lousy but she claimed its better quality and she asked for 300k dong for 1. I said... sorry.. i paid 100k and i cant pay so much. Then she said she can give discounts. if i buy 2 or more, she can give me 280k. Then i said sorry and said i can only pay 100k. As i started to walk away, she quickly put her lousy scarf into a plastic bag and said "Ok sell u for 100k".

damn it.. she marked up 300% and i bot that lousy piece for 100k!

Hahaha i also scared tio carrot chop! Like in bkk can slash a bit. Wtf, mark up 3 times the price for scarf :eek:

If they have silk pillow case, I wanna buy and try to see if it's nice. lol :s13:

audiovideo

Do you mind to advise where is Ben Thanh mkt gold shop? Any landmark or prominent sign to follow there? Because if the rates are better there, then I won't change in sg liao, or maybe change little bit like $50 here first so can get simcard at airport. :o

Hahaha i also scared tio carrot chop! Like in bkk can slash a bit. Wtf, mark up 3 times the price for scarf :eek:

If they have silk pillow case, I wanna buy and try to see if it's nice. lol :s13:

if really no sure, better to change it at HMC airport
next week I will take a photo of the gold shop my viet friend go regularly :s13:

also got an unhappy experience getting Tee in the market
some stalls the viet woman selling can be quite hostile
if you have viet friend with you lagi worst... don't ask your friend to help bargain cos they even tell your viet friend he or she should help fellow commade to earn more :eek: ... desperado!

audiovideo

Ok thanks audio and finale.
I not sure whether to go during Aug PH, if weather same as sg, still ok, becos stay in sg also hot. But not hotter and more humid than sg rite?

Is Aug peak period? Scared the accommodation will ex. Wat abt sg to hcm, estimate how much is the air ticket?

never ever felt cool in HCM b4 :s13: ... went there in apr, jun, sep, dec ... all at least SG kind of temp. during day time.... unless it rains.

tigerair ticket if get 1 month before likely can be $100 or lower one way....

Snake_

go to ben thanh market, but don't go inside. walk around those shops opposite and outside of ben thanh market. Go 1 round, u should see quite a few of them.

smilingbuddha

No need to change in sg. When you get to hcmc airport. Before you get out, the rates there ard 15800 to 15900 alr.

The gold shop is on the right of the market. Ask any local for money changing gold shop.

WhiteAnt

if really no sure, better to change it at HMC airport
next week I will take a photo of the gold shop my viet friend go regularly :s13:

also got an unhappy experience getting Tee in the market
some stalls the viet woman selling can be quite hostile
if you have viet friend with you lagi worst... don't ask your friend to help bargain cos they even tell your viet friend he or she should help fellow commade to earn more :eek: ... desperado!

Thanks that will be very helpful! A picture speaks a thousand words. Good reference for the rest too. :o

Wah viet so hostile, even thai also not like that :s22:

go to ben thanh market, but don't go inside. walk around those shops opposite and outside of ben thanh market. Go 1 round, u should see quite a few of them.

Oh so many gold shops? hahhaha i thought only one shop has it. :s13: #goodtips

No need to change in sg. When you get to hcmc airport. Before you get out, the rates there ard 15800 to 15900 alr.

The gold shop is on the right of the market. Ask any local for money changing gold shop.

Airport rates also so good than our local ones. Nice! :s12:

critical888

Q3 : Vietnam Sim card is available in Singapore @ hardwarezone travel bazzar http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/travel-bazaar-346/, get your sim card locally in sg, Because it can roam in singapore, so you can activate the data plan in SINGAPORE, reach land straight away use, still can give your friends etc your vietnam number before you even leave for vietnam. And best of all, the data plan last 30 days, anytime u feel happy to activate just activate first before the trip.

At the same time u still get a paid skype account to make unlimited calls to Singapore landline/mobile..

Hi guys, I saw a list of attractions, shopping and food r
recommendation. Need your kind advice as I will be going to HCM 4days3nights on the last week of May. Appreciate if anyone can help with below questions:

1. What are some of the best economy mode of transport for 2 persons from HCM Tan Son Nhat Airport to Hotel @ Ben Thanh Market area? Because only 2 of us, so I am thinking if there is sky train like in BKK or other similar transport?

2. Is Cu Chi Tunnel worth to go? Because it will take half a day at least and quite expensive too like around $70usd/pax

3. Do they sell prepaid sim card at airport? Anyone knows how much and which telco to choose, mainly for data so can surf web, whatsapp etc and won't get lost lol.

4. Can I confirm if it's more advisable to exchange money (from sgd to dong) at HCM airport, because i read that the rates is higher there? Last week I saw moneychanger about 15200 :o

5. Any special thing to take note of when in HCM? Be it weather or the people.

TIA!

WhiteAnt

Q3 : Vietnam Sim card is available in Singapore @ hardwarezone travel bazzar http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/travel-bazaar-346/, get your sim card locally in sg, Because it can roam in singapore, so you can activate the data plan in SINGAPORE, reach land straight away use, still can give your friends etc your vietnam number before you even leave for vietnam. And best of all, the data plan last 30 days, anytime u feel happy to activate just activate first before the trip.

At the same time u still get a paid skype account to make unlimited calls to Singapore landline/mobile..

How much is that? Is it reliable?

SibehEng

will be going to hcmc, while shortlisting hotel, found this Saigon odyssey 1 hotel in pham ngu lao rated 3.5 stars in expedia website but when i read abt the review ppl were commenting this hotel under the name of an an hotel from tripadvisor.

anyone tried before this saigon odyssey 1 hotel? confuse about does this hotel exist or it is actually called an an hotel?

finale1

will be going to hcmc, while shortlisting hotel, found this Saigon odyssey 1 hotel in pham ngu lao rated 3.5 stars in expedia website but when i read abt the review ppl were commenting this hotel under the name of an an hotel from tripadvisor.

anyone tried before this saigon odyssey 1 hotel? confuse about does this hotel exist or it is actually called an an hotel?

Pham Ngu Lao area nth much one leh... why dont u stay in ben thanh mkt area?

SibehEng

Pham Ngu Lao area nth much one leh... why dont u stay in ben thanh mkt area?

the hotel says it is quite near ben thanh mkt like 10mins walk so i suppose it is also quite near? but just curious that on expedia it is using the name of saigon odyssey 1 hotel but using the review of an an hotel from tripadvisor.

coz the room look quite spacious for a triple share room and very attractive price but wan to be sure it is what that is shown in expedia.

finale1

the hotel says it is quite near ben thanh mkt like 10mins walk so i suppose it is also quite near? but just curious that on expedia it is using the name of saigon odyssey 1 hotel but using the review of an an hotel from tripadvisor.

coz the room look quite spacious for a triple share room and very attractive price but wan to be sure it is what that is shown in expedia.

Not too sure abt the hotel.. but so far i book hotels with expedia, i pay for what i see. remember to use the code
MASTERCARDSG when paying with expedia to get 10% off

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.