Volvo Review - Most unrealiable & most problematic car I ever owned

chrislayer

Hi guys! I have a 2017 Volvo v40 T2 1.5t. Is there anything I can do to improve it’s performance ?

Don’t do anything as it won’t enhance the selling value. It is a good decent ride for a hatchback. Save towards a new upgrade ride.

mel1888

Interesting article.
Merc at 13 for E class.
Dun hear much grouse abt it tho.
Volvo tops for S90, wonder whats the cause.

HellHunter

We currently have a 2017 Volvo S60 T2. Still under warranty and during the last servicing they replaced the rotors(we paid nothing) and brakes. I found the rotor replacement a little peculiar for such a low mileage/young car. No noise, no noticeable reduction in braking performance either before the service/replacement. Let's hope it stays in reasonable mechanical order.

henrylbh

Clutch failure is normal. It’s wear n tear like brakes. Same for gearbox. Oil leak is ok if minor. My car leak many years liao. I just top up. Only issue is landed property friends get upset whenever i park inside.

I drive an alfa. 9 years of ownership. Yr volvo sounds pretty reliable to me.

Clutch failure and others you mentioned normal?

My nissan already passed 12 years at 340k mileage no problem with clutch. Even for brake pads, my first change was 120k, second change was 240k. Only gearbox nearly uplorry around 9.5 years at 270k. Never experienced oil leak.

I owned a new citroen before. It was a nightmare.

trento

Which model?

Clutch failure and others you mentioned normal?

My nissan already passed 12 years at 340k mileage no problem with clutch. Even for brake pads, my first change was 120k, second change was 240k. Only gearbox nearly uplorry around 9.5 years at 270k. Never experienced oil leak.

I owned a new citroen before. It was a nightmare.

myviowner

I am intrested to purchase v60 t5, anyone drive it before, how is the car?

Chio car.
If you looking for pre-owned rides, spare parts could be on a high side and challenging to find it sometimes.... source from workshops.

Matjes

Speaking as a Volvo owner, a S60 T4, the car has been extremely unreliable. Nightmare driving it. Fully maintained by sole agent but yet all the following failures.

My car in the 4th year, had a major engine breakdown & needed replacement. Before that, there were cases of engine oil leaks, changes of gaskets etc.

After the engine was replaced, immediately, the clutch totally failed and needed total replacement.

And shortly after, the gearbox failed and needed total replacement, all within a short 1.5 years!

Basically, I went back to sole agent around 10 times and the longest that I have to leave the car there is around One to one and half months.

It was a nightmare, totally painful.

My patience has finally run out.

I have some questions:
1. "My car in the 4th year, had a major engine breakdown & needed replacement. Before that, there were cases of engine oil leaks, changes of gaskets etc."
Q: Did you get an explanation why engine broke down to the stage where replacement of engine is necessary? Why did the engine leak? Which workshop made the judgement to replace engine and repair prior to the engine replacement?

2. "After the engine was replaced, immediately, the clutch totally failed and needed total replacement."
Q: How do you define failed? Cannot actuate? Something broke? slipping?
Total replacement is also a very unusual issue unless something completely broke down. Who told you clutch failed and need replacement. FYI, Volvo don't make their own clutches.

3. "And shortly after, the gearbox failed and needed total replacement, all within a short 1.5 years!"
Q: What does it mean by gearbox failed? How many km have you been on the gearbox? how much km did you cover before you changed your transmission oil and filter? What was the fault code? Who told you it failed?

4. Did you witness the failure codes during the repairs?
5. Did you see the actual failures of the parts when the workshop told you about the failures?
6. Did you see the actual new parts being installed into the vehicle.
7. How much were you charged for all these repairs?
8. Did you highlight to Volvo the problems you faced?

trento

In short, when engine leaks not addressed, will lead to total failure. Same for other leaks.

Most owners don’t open bonnet pull out dipstick n check

I have some questions:
1. "My car in the 4th year, had a major engine breakdown & needed replacement. Before that, there were cases of engine oil leaks, changes of gaskets etc."
Q: Did you get an explanation why engine broke down to the stage where replacement of engine is necessary? Why did the engine leak? Which workshop made the judgement to replace engine and repair prior to the engine replacement?

2. "After the engine was replaced, immediately, the clutch totally failed and needed total replacement."
Q: How do you define failed? Cannot actuate? Something broke? slipping?
Total replacement is also a very unusual issue unless something completely broke down. Who told you clutch failed and need replacement. FYI, Volvo don't make their own clutches.

3. "And shortly after, the gearbox failed and needed total replacement, all within a short 1.5 years!"
Q: What does it mean by gearbox failed? How many km have you been on the gearbox? how much km did you cover before you changed your transmission oil and filter? What was the fault code? Who told you it failed?

4. Did you witness the failure codes during the repairs?
5. Did you see the actual failures of the parts when the workshop told you about the failures?
6. Did you see the actual new parts being installed into the vehicle.
7. How much were you charged for all these repairs?
8. Did you highlight to Volvo the problems you faced?

Matjes

In short, when engine leaks not addressed, will lead to total failure. Same for other leaks. Most owners don’t open bonnet pull out dipstick n check

I have my skepticism about the TS postings.

Reliability is a very subjective word in the automotive industry. Yet the general public brandish this like a huge knife that stirs emotions into a judgement passed without substantiating it.

Based on the general knowledge of the automotive industry, reliability can be understood as the ability to meet the predefined KPI of the Quality management system which it is bonded to adhere to. They can mostly be broken into 2 types:

(1)Delivery PPM - liabilities stretches to the receiving quality at the point of disembarkation prior to transferring ownership to receiving party
(2)Field failures - liabilities reaches end user. Failures that happen while in the end user's custody. Failures caused by user abuse or unauthorized modifications are excluded as acceptable reasons of failures.

Breakdown classification by the customer has also to be measured by the quality system's complaint receiving team (warranty) and pitted against the sales figure to generate a failure rate. If it meets KPI, the model meets the predefined level of reliability. Therefore it is considered reliable. The KPI itself has to be defined using past history and justified.

The experience of marginalized owners' who unfortunately bought lemons is understandable. No one wants to make unhappy customers. But as long as the figure of discontentment does not exceed what the organization defines as acceptable, we cannot pass a judgement of 'unreliable' on the product.

My next question also comes in on how the vehicle was managed in the workshop. Engines and gearboxes are major components of the vehicle whose replacement has to be justified. The workshop who brokers the car has to have a warranty agreement with the factory. Justification of the warranty has to be made prior to the replacement so as to meet the quota/cost KPI of warranty. The golden question: How did they come to the conclusion that the engine and gearbox needs replacement? Was there a fault code? Were they trying to create a swing unit to facilitate cannibalization? Were they trying to just down the vehicle to buy time on its puzzling diagnosis so they conveniently pushed to the engine. Was the engine eventually replaced? During replacement, was it done properly as clutches nd transmissions are part of the driveline attached to the engine. A 'mis-installation' of the engine can lead to problems in the driveline leading to the eventual damage of the clutch and transmission. And in his case, the onus of the whole episode falls on the workshop and the owner and not Volvo.

Though the TS did not lay the blame on Volvo specifically, the title and the nature of the discourse suffice to lead future postings into prejudice against Volvo.

Just my 2cents worth after more than 10 years in the automotive industry.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.