Vpost? Borderlinx? Comgateway?

Trees

Hey!

Please help me to make a choice here. I've no idea of which shipping service to use. Vpost, borderlinx or comgateway?? Do share w me your experience if you have used them! THANKS!

I have tried Comgateway many times before. Their service sucks. There are no humans to talk to. The only way to contact them is through "live chat". You would be chatting with someone with a fake Ang Mo name like Kelly or Eyle. Sometimes while chatting they stop responding and I am waiting and waiting for their reply.

Once my package from Amazon was not delivered to Comgateway. Out of desperation, I wrote them an email, forwarding important documents. They did not even bother to reply or acknowledge.

Stay away from Comgateway, use Vpost instead. Vpost service is top notch, and the CSOs are a human, just dail 1605. Vpost has never failed me.

Comgateway is a Singapore setup, they have cleverly concealed their address and telephone number.

I never tried Borderlinx.

echineon

just bad thing is vpost couldn't order from newegg.com, that's what kept spinning my head these days. anyway, anyone know how to send cash (US notes) to friend in US? My friend's there, but she doesn't want to withdraw just $500 per month if I pay her by paypal. Western Union I've never tried but heard they required lot of legal documents (the hell?) and charge prestige fee (or ridiculously did it?) .
Any help appreciate. :)

mavicaste

Just want to keep this up for new users seeking to use freight forwarding.

Have used vPOST quite a few times and found their charges high, unresponsive to email and terribly slow to process everything.

This time, I decided to try comGateway and my notebook is being shipped out to Singapore now. The few times that I have emailed them to remove cancelled orders, they responded and have the request done within the same day.

If my package arrives fast like those forwarders using DHL as you guys have mentioned, I will probably stick with CGW.

qsgsgs

I had a nightmare when CGW overcaharged me. Imagine chatting online and they giving you unhelpful generic replies.

RoseTea

in terms of shipping, which is cheaper guys as of now? Comgateway or Vpost?
I think it's vpost. Just compared prices a min ago.

vpost divides volumetric weight(kg) by 6000 while its only 5000 for CGW.
CGW also calculates charges in units of 0.5kg, while vpost charge in grams.

gurble

Borderlinx GST Charges...Be Careful

Borderlinx GST charges have been a major pain in my last two shipments.

On their shipping total cost calculator, it indicates that no GST will be charged.... then when it arrives, DHL charges me GST on the whole shipment (including a $10 handling fee).

Even if I ignore their web calculator, I still have to add in the insurance costs myself and figure out the USD rate they are using (don't ask me how)

I emailed their customer service about it but basically their stance is "go figure it out yourself or you'll have to pay" eeks. Well, just be prepared for any unpleasant surprises.

weibchen

Depends la..
if under 1kg then Vpost is cheaper.
If more than 1kg then its about the same - CGW can be cheaper and hell lot faster.

sweetienite

For those who are using CGW, do you encounter slow service for your order?

I placed my order to CGW and received an email notification on 25th Sept. After a week later, they informed me that my order was cancelled by the merchant without any reason given thus CGW help me to re-order again.

Finally I received notification stating that my order had left the merchant warehouse on 7th Oct, but until now they still cannot provide me any tracking details for my order (to my US address given by comgateway)

As this is my 1st time using CGW, really very disappointed with their service. Even I wrote serveral email and check with the staff via LIVE online chat, I receive junk answer from them

Spongy

Borderlinx is getting so expensive nowdays and I am just wondering if it is still worth it to use them. They used to be faster in delivery but now they are taking one more day to deliver as compared to last time. They delivery is still quite speedy though. For those who uses them, you might want to check out retailmenot.com for coupon codes.

Mistic

borderlinx to me is not bad...

shippmetn rather ex, but its my mistake too, for got to ask them pack in smaller parcel.

shipping wise is damn fast...

had 2 shippment ship out on the same day... 1 by express 1 by normal.. want to see the diff in timing..

supraise tt normal clear faster... but both reach me at the same time cos at sg side got holding time... etc...

n guess wad both shippment was above 400sgd, no gst charge incur , lucky me...

so i will go for boder, cgw i check out their rate, fig tt it is more ex, haven try yet.. mayb soon

as for qns whether u can pay wif other cards yes... for boder, if u r doing the shopping urs self, u can pay wif any card get them to deliver to borderlinx. btu from them to sg need 2 use citi card,

but if u get border to assist u in the shopping u required to use citi card too :D

laaaal

For those who had used the Vpost, Borderlinx, Comgateway, how do you purchase from the US when your credit card is a non US credit card. Some site like neweggs do not accept non US credit card where the billing credit card and the address to be ship to (Vpost Borderlinx, Comgateway US addresss) is different.

So even if you have a US forwarder address, you can't purchase from Neweggs since your credit card address information is different.

Can neweggs accept paypal where we signed up in Singapore that has S'pore local address while we ask them to ship to these forwarder address (where it will appear as non confirmed address to them)?

I find having a Singapore paypal account is useless. You can't use it to purchase in US where they need US paypal account with US confirmed address. There are only a handful that will ship to oversea at Ebay and a quite a number of those who ship oversea are non US resident sellers. This is just limiting the seller we could buy from. Then online Retailers are also not accept paypal Singapore account. It's like you have a paypal account but very few places accept your paypal. I had signed up for paypal Singapore for few years but unable to make use of it for purchase.

ctrlplusf5

WARNING

For users wanting to ship from US/Europe/Japan through vPOST, please read this and be warned. I ordered an electronic item from vPOST shopping link (which brought me to a shopping page linked to amazon mercharts pages). The item that I bought was to be shipped via vPOST. Today I received an email from them stating the following. I guess some policies have changed for the worse, so be warned........

Dear Sir/Mdm,

Item concerned: Digital Camera (contains battery)

We regret to inform you that your order consists of one or more of the
following: wine or alcoholic beverages/battery/perfume/paints/spray/lithium
battery
which is categorized under prohibited items. We regret we are unable to
process this invoice. Please arrange with your merchant not to deliver your
item to the vPOST shipping address.

If your merchant has already forwarded your package, we can assist to make
arrangement for the package to be returned to sender or forward it to another
US address upon receiving. Please note that for returning or forwarding of
such packages, an administrative fee of S$10 per package is chargeable and you will also be required to pay for the return or forwarding postage.
Alternatively, you may arrange with your sender / merchant to pickup the
package from the vPOST shipping address. You may follow up with the seller /
merchant for refund after the package is returned.

Damn! Kena pwded by vPOST. First they enticed me with a shipping link at their website to shop for items from US merchants. Then they allowed me to proceed with the transaction to buy a 'prohibited item', then after amazon.com merchant posted the item, vPOST tells you to return your item for a shipping fee + admin fee.

Please be warned or be pwded!

Stay far away from vPOST!

cannotliao

there cases Borderlinx reject shipment due to similar reason.
there a list of Prohibited Items on their website.
if not sure better contact them for confirmation of the item allow for shipping.
maybe you want try ask vpost to forward the item to Borderlinx address see they willing to ship it over.

galen

The battery is a prohibition by SG customs, not the choice of vPost or Borderlinx or anyone. Can go customs website and find that info.

As for why some can get through, well, there's always human error, the stock people don't check properly and Customs also never see, so get through lor. I'd consider any such cases the exception rather than the norm.

rychellex

I realize hwz users mainly ship electronics from US.
I am thinking of shipping Kate Spade from US.
Which is more advisable to use?

SGGreatimes

My wife and I took some time to research all the companies that offer package forwarding outside the USA by establishing a US address.

Here is the list we came up with:

Vpost
Usa2me
Viaddress
Bongous
Borderlinx
Shipito
Usglobalmail.com

We each compared the Shipping prices between them based on the shipping calculators on these sites, We came to the one conclusion : Viaddress.com offers the lowest shipping prices to forward a package outside the US, using FEDEX/UPS/DHL.

They offer 2 types of services: $4.95/package forwarding or $9.95/month for Unlimited number of packages to be forwarded and one can cancel the monthly subscription anytime with no penalties like in the case of some other companies.

The Demo video on Viaddress.com explains how their service works and I have found nothing but good reviews about them on the web.

After chatting with one of their agents, I found out that they offer international customers with a US address just a couple of hours from Fedex international HUB in the state of Indiana...Very Smart !... this actually ends up saving a few days of package routing within the USA.

To test drive their service, I purchased the $4.95/package forwarding service and provided me with my US address within a few minutes.

Last week I purchased some Night vision Binoculars from Adorama using Overnight shipping... So check out this timeline:

Monday: Purchase made on Adorama.com
Tuesday: Package arrives at my address with VIADDRESS (They forwarded it the same day!)
Thursday: Fedex driver showed up with my package at my house in Serangoon, SG

Talk about fast service...

This is my unbiased opinion, and I hope this helps guys ;)

chunlianghere

My wife and I took some time to research all the companies that offer package forwarding outside the USA by establishing a US address.

Here is the list we came up with:

Vpost
Usa2me
Viaddress
Bongous
Borderlinx
Shipito
Usglobalmail.com

We each compared the Shipping prices between them based on the shipping calculators on these sites, We came to the one conclusion : Viaddress.com offers the lowest shipping prices to forward a package outside the US, using FEDEX/UPS/DHL.

They offer 2 types of services: $4.95/package forwarding or $9.95/month for Unlimited number of packages to be forwarded and one can cancel the monthly subscription anytime with no penalties like in the case of some other companies.

The Demo video on Viaddress.com explains how their service works and I have found nothing but good reviews about them on the web.

After chatting with one of their agents, I found out that they offer international customers with a US address just a couple of hours from Fedex international HUB in the state of Indiana...Very Smart !... this actually ends up saving a few days of package routing within the USA.

To test drive their service, I purchased the $4.95/package forwarding service and provided me with my US address within a few minutes.

Last week I purchased some Night vision Binoculars from Adorama using Overnight shipping... So check out this timeline:

Monday: Purchase made on Adorama.com
Tuesday: Package arrives at my address with VIADDRESS (They forwarded it the same day!)
Thursday: Fedex driver showed up with my package at my house in Serangoon, SG

Talk about fast service...

This is my unbiased opinion, and I hope this helps guys ;)
wow... u using standard or express?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.