Vpost? Borderlinx? Comgateway?

AshleyRiot

I've not been using BL lately...but they sent me an email lately...thought share with interested bros using BL... :)
We really appreciate your loyalty and to prove it, we would like to offer you 10% promotion code to receive a discount! - 374195

jazdrive

Oh crap after reading all the replies here I'm so afraid for my Kindle touch and it's case which is supposed to arrive on 9th March 2012 at the Changi Holding centre. It's ok for me if vpost delivers it on Mon 12th March 2012 seriously cause I put the address to my office address but I hope it's not a Saturday delivery as we don't work on Saturdays

I hope it's not a question about the honestly of the vpost staff as there was a case recently about a Singapore Postman being charged for stealing stuff he was supposed to deliver recently in the newspapers right?

My colleague from China managed to ship 2 kindle touches for himself and his friend with no issue using vpost hence I used vpost. I hope paying for the 18 dollar insurance for my kindle touch will be enough to cover of anything bad happens

Nothing to worry about, at least for now. vPost has never lost my items before and I was a regular customer last time.

What you should be concerned about is their speed rather. :s13:

leonaheidern

Shipment History
Date & Time : 06/03/2012 04:39 PM

Date & Time : 03/03/2012 04:54 PM
*Estimated arrival in S’pore Airport Processing Ctr (09/03/2012)

It says like that now la. Its left usa already. Now dun deliver on Saturday can already. Can deliver on Mon-Fri.

leonaheidern

Alamak status change. Now arrival 1 day later.

Shipment History

Date & Time : 08/03/2012 02:51 PM
Status : *Estimated arrival in S’pore Airport Processing Ctr (10/03/2012)

Someone

My share of the experience...

MyUS - Been using it during 2003-2005 and have been a quite reliable source of shipping for me from USA to Singapore. Shipped more than 100+ items during that period. During that period they sent me a few sheets of my personalized USA shipping address on stickers as well as an option to receive free past issues of USA magazines together with any shipment to Singapore. The best part is that they really opened up every single packages shipping to my USA address and then repackaged them into more compact packaging, hence reducing all the extra cost from those volumetric weights. Not to mention that they only charge my credit card after I have received the shipments in Singapore. "BUT" that's only during the 2003-2005 period. I am "not in a position" to rate their service now since I don't use them after 2005.

VPost - Big Headache!!! Tried their service a few years ago for a few times and it's still acceptable. But recently (Dec 2011) I tried their service to ship a few packages from Amazon to Singapore through their USA office and it's a NIGHTMARE!! E.g. my amazon tracking stated that vpost received my violin but it took vpost 2 weeks after received date for them to reflect on their online system. That's not all!! On the 3rd week after receiving still no email etc from them to notify me that they have received the item. Then I called them during that 3rd week and they told me I need to email them the invoice inorder to process. Emailed 2 times and no news or update. Called again on the 3rd day and they said no receive. Then on the spot emailed them while on the phone and they confirmed received (maybe it ended up in their junk mail?!!!) but after 1 wk still no update on their website. Called on the 4th week again to check and they said invoice received but they still checking on their usa site to match the item with the received invoice!! After that I called almost everyday till they bother to handle my case and finally found my item!! It's a very big package (violin+case) so it's hard to miss it but don't know why so hard for them to find it.

Finally after it's being shipped to Singapore (based on Singpost online tracking), it took them 1 more day to reflect in vpost system and another day for it to arrive at my place. Total took 5-6 weeks!!! Zzz... Oh, did I mention that everytime I called them I have to wait for that Indian lady on the phone to say her defaulted "have you check this and have you check that etc" statment before I was even allowed to speak and tell her that I have called before regarding an existing case. They seems to have no case history tracking system in place and everytime must read their default "checking statement" before allowing you to ask anything...

DHL "direct" - So far been one of the best I have ever used from 2004 to 2006. Beside the fast and cheap shipping (similar or cheaper than Singpost's rate but at much faster express shipping speed especially for big shipments!!), they provide free boxes for you to pack your items if you are shipping overseas and also pick up from your place. Payment wise, they only charge my credit card after I have received the shipments from overseas to Singapore. But they don't really do combine shipment from different overseas merchants/sellers. And I am talking about their business account, not the normal consumer one. Just spend a few dollars register a company and open a company acct with them and you will be amazed at the rates they can go. Like all express shipping companies such as UPS, Fedex and TNT etc, if you do frequent shipping from overseas to Singapore (non combined), then it's better to get a business account with them as their rates depend on how frequent and how big each shipment is.

Trying borderlinx this month and hope it's good since I don't ship alot nowadays and gave up on vpost. No need to flame me cos I am sure you will get better luck with specific shipping companies just as I get unluckily with some... :s8:

bluesky32

Is using amazon international expedited shipping about the same as using these forward services? Heard amazon failed in packing, so really scare of volumetric charges if using the forward services.

dragonics

Shipment History *
Date & Time : 08/03/2012 08:49 PM
Date & Time : 07/03/2012 03:33 PM
Date & Time : 07/03/2012 03:31 PM
Date & Time : 05/03/2012 09:11 AM
Status : *Estimated arrival in S’pore Airport Processing Ctr (06/03/2012)
Date & Time : 02/03/2012 07:56 AM

Just a reference for those using vpost.
Vpost alot of waiting and guessing. The status is not updated very frequently. Of course premium service like DHL will do a beta reporting job.

leonaheidern

er what got me worried is reading one of the horror stories someone else can sign for it and then the item goes missing as what I've read here.

If the delivery is to a big office building I do hope they would call you like DHL does for my office server hdd replacements instead of just handing it to someone else to sign.

If living in landed property at least u know the person goes to the gate and rings the doorbell or something.

How does the delivery service handle things like DHL and VPOST when its to an apartment building? Do they go up to the unit and call you to open the door or just drop it off at the receptionist or security desk and go update the system.

maritime

DHL "direct" - So far been one of the best I have ever used from 2004 to 2006. Beside the fast and cheap shipping (similar or cheaper than Singpost's rate but at much faster express shipping speed especially for big shipments!!), they provide free boxes for you to pack your items if you are shipping overseas and also pick up from your place. Payment wise, they only charge my credit card after I have received the shipments from overseas to Singapore. But they don't really do combine shipment from different overseas merchants/sellers. And I am talking about their business account, not the normal consumer one. Just spend a few dollars register a company and open a company acct with them and you will be amazed at the rates they can go. Like all express shipping companies such as UPS, Fedex and TNT etc, if you do frequent shipping from overseas to Singapore (non combined), then it's better to get a business account with them as their rates depend on how frequent and how big each shipment is.

Hi! I am interested in DHL direct shipping. How do you register for this service? So parcel will be sent to DHL in US and then forwarded to our address in Singapore? Thanks.

blade007

Hi all,

I have multiple shipments coming over from Amazon via CGW.
Understand there will be GST if i cross the 400SGD mark, what is the safe point for me to consolidate the shipments?

Total price+shipping
250USD?
300USD?

Any idea what/where exchange rate are they(our tax office) using to calculate?

Would need to know so I would know how many shipments should I split them up into.

Thanks guys~

jazdrive

Hi all,

Understand there will be GST if i cross the 400SGD mark, what is the safe point for me to consolidate the shipments?

Total price+shipping
250USD?
300USD?

Would need to know so I would know how many shipments should I split them up into.

Thanks guys~

Based on my experience, CGW uses a puzzling formula to calculate for GST. Even if the total amount (everything included) is not more than SGD 400, you can still be liable for GST.

So to be safe, <USD 250.

Someone

Hi! I am interested in DHL direct shipping. How do you register for this service? So parcel will be sent to DHL in US and then forwarded to our address in Singapore? Thanks.

You can check out their website's (DHL, Fedex, UPS, TNT, etc) contact page and just give them a call or email to ask about your requests. For me last time I usually give those merchants/manufacturers my DHL acct number and they will contact DHL to liase with the delivery to Singapore. It all depends on each company's policies that are subject to changes over time. Be sure to mention you represent a company!

Of course, the more requests you have, the more cost it will addon but the more frequent you ship or big volume each time, the better rates you can bargin. Based on your "projected" frequency+volume, they will calculate and give you a "rates" form for you to sign...

Someone

Hi all,

Total price+shipping
250USD?
300USD?

Thanks guys~

You should also include the insurance fee into the formular.
Price of item + Shipping + Insurance fee (if any) = Total price (should be less than S$400)

You can check out their exchange rates here...
Customs Currency Conversion - Main page

Of course, it's always better to add a few extra % (e.g. +0.07%) into the total amount and ensure it's below S$400 because they using the rates when it arrived, not when you shipped the item. So a few extra % into currency conversion will help.

So yeah for the super kiasu and kiasi, US$250 total should be super safe lolz...

leonaheidern

With any luck Monday I hope?

Shipment History

Date & Time : 10/03/2012 04:13 PM

Date & Time : 10/03/2012 04:50 PM

blade007

You should also include the insurance fee into the formular.
Price of item + Shipping + Insurance fee (if any) = Total price (should be less than S$400)

You can check out their exchange rates here...
Customs Currency Conversion - Main page

Of course, it's always better to add a few extra % (e.g. +0.07%) into the total amount and ensure it's below S$400 because they using the rates when it arrived, not when you shipped the item. So a few extra % into currency conversion will help.

So yeah for the super kiasu and kiasi, US$250 total should be super safe lolz...

thanks bros for all the advise and the link. Yeah i agree CGW have a weird way of calculating. most likely its because of the insurance. will try to factor in.
anyway i have like 5~6 shipments, each ranging from 50USD ~ 170 USD, so was trying to calculate.

anyway would paying the tax be cheaper than to pay for shipping? sounds impossible but juz checking. =D (will do the calcution again when all the shipments reach CGW)

leonaheidern

I can only say one thing.

Never order your stuff on a Saturday ever if you are planning to ship by VPost.

I ordered mine on Feb 25th 2012 just before 12pm.

Date & Time : 10/03/2012 04:13 PM

Date & Time : 10/03/2012 04:50 PM

Date & Time : 13/03/2012 12:13 AM

Date & Time : 13/03/2012 08:22 AM

xaleysan

I have used Borderlinx on a few occasions and it has been good so far.
Tracking of items were updated and I knew where my items are at any time. I think it was a little more expensive (I shipped from UK).

I have read and heard many horror stories on Vpost, so I dared not risk it. I'd rather pay a little more for a peace of mind.

blade007

thanks bros for all the advise and the link. Yeah i agree CGW have a weird way of calculating. most likely its because of the insurance. will try to factor in.
anyway i have like 5~6 shipments, each ranging from 50USD ~ 170 USD, so was trying to calculate.

anyway would paying the tax be cheaper than to pay for shipping? sounds impossible but juz checking. =D (will do the calcution again when all the shipments reach CGW)

Well just an update here(on my own questions).
I ended up shipping all my items in 2 separate shipments, total shipping fee came up to USD84 without GST.
If I did combine all of them, they would cost USD 95 with GST inclusive, so well CGW gets more money, IRAS gets nothing :s13:

Also, even with the weird calculations from CGW, I managed to play around the system, and using the rate I see for USD (1.25+/-), guess the safe zone is to keep the shipment+items prices below USD280.

=) Thanks again guys! Using CGW free express (from Amex), waiting for the shipment to come in next Monday. :D

xtwis7

Got any code for blinx? Sian, my toy from amazon cost 26 usd shipping also 26 usd.

flipclocknet

Vpost? Borderlinx? Comgateway

i think borderlinx is the best. i've use their concierge service and they do it very professionally.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.