'Wake up, stop dreaming, live with the reality': Asian parents on daughter's choice to major in arts

jazz2005

Asian always thinking about money. How to get ROI and what is a worthy investment.

AMDK will tell you to live your life. Money is not important.
Not all AMDK thinks like that especially those in the upper middle income group. They know what it takes to enjoy the kind of lifestyle they are accustomed to, and will direct their kids in the direction. However, they won't force their kids if they can't change their mind. They just suck thumb. Many of those that attend medical schools or law schools come from families where at least one parent had also attended.

Taloona

I know of people who were forced to pursue certain professions by their parents because of the salary. These people will work for a few years, became unhappy and switched careers after a while: lawyers turned artists (can survive by giving art lessons while holding art exhibitions and selling her paintings), researcher turned fashion designer, accountant turned teacher etc. So far only those who pursued medicine stayed the course, I guess medicine is a highly vigorous field of study, and you need both money and the brains to finish the course so those who went into this field are highly motivated to pursue it.

Taloona

what career in life doesn't have struggles? her parents are probably concerned with her financial stability.

the issue is struggling while having a huge debt vs no debt but struggling.. or having a job that allows you to pay off that debt quickly. like I said, post production track can get work. whether the pay is good.. depends. her parents probably want more financial stability for her.
If you are in a job that is aligned with your aptitude in general, you will see the struggles as personal growth. I have a friend whose sibling went to study law overseas because it is more prestigious. Last I heard, she kept failing her modules year after year and sank into depression.

DragonBlack

asian-parents-art-major.jpg

A Vietnamese woman, who goes by Kaitlynn on TikTok and appears to live in the U.S., shared an emotional conversation she had with her parents over her choice to major in the arts at university.

The video, which showed the woman getting emotional when confronted by her parents, has attracted more than six million views, along with thousands of encouraging comments praising her for pursuing her dreams despite her parents' objections.

Questioned on how she plans to support herself after graduation​

The video starts with an already teary-eyed Kaitlynn sharing a meal with her parents, an indication that the uncomfortable conversation had been going on for some time before she decided to hit record.
In Vietnamese, her mother questioned her on how she intends to support herself after graduating.
"I'm going to find a rich husband," she replied, adding in the video subtitles that she was "obviously joking".
Her mother, however, took her reply seriously and retorted with: "You're short and small, you can't do anything, you're nothing in comparison to others. Talk about marrying rich."
Her father interjects, and asked: "Why did you choose this major?"
"I'm in the post production track, I sit in a room and edit sh*t," Kaitlynn replied.
Crying some more, she added: "Leave me alone, I'll figure it out."
asian-parents-art-major-2.jpg

Her mother continued, and said it would be difficult for her to "survive" with this career.
Her father chimed in again, and told her: "Sit and think this through. Wake up, stop dreaming, live with the reality."
Kaitlynn's TikTok description indicates she is from Orange County, Los Angeles in the U.S.

Many empathise with her situation of dealing with Asian parents​

Kaitlynn's video seemed to strike a chord with many, with some sharing that they were able to relate to her situation.
art-major-comments-4.jpg

art-major-comments-5.jpg

Others encouraged her to keep pushing on with her choice in major, and said that what made her "happy" was more important.
art-major-comments-1.jpg

Some also pointed out that her parents may have had a narrower understanding on what would make a successful career, or that they are unable to communicate their worries to their daughter tactfully.
art-major-comments-2.jpg

art-major-comments-3.jpg

art-major-comments-6.jpg

Another Vietnamese woman in the arts industry also reached out to Kaitlynn to offer her "support" in her career if she needed it.
art-major-comments-7.jpg

art-major-comments-8.jpg

https://mothership.sg/2022/04/arts-major-asian-parents/

Her parents are right leh. Esp. her mom who seems to know her well that her daughter has a weak useless, pampered personality that can't do s.hit.

Knn, simple discussion about which major also can cry til like that and can't even use her straw properly.

If a lady is bright and smart with confidence, any degree course she takes she also can succeed.

Obviously her parents and sibling all knew their daughter too well. In fact they are trying to wake her up to save her from future hell, else she might have to become FL or porn actress, LOL.

Taloona

If you are in a job that is aligned with your aptitude in general, you will see the struggles as personal growth. I have a friend whose sibling went to study law overseas because it is more prestigious. Last I heard, she kept failing her modules year after year and sank into depression.
Some insurance agent saw my CV online and called me a few months ago to join the industry. I told her that I get headache if I see numbers every day at work. She laughed and hanged up.

I did Accounts at A levels and did badly. My JC life was miserable. It was only when I left school and pursued a field that I had an aptitude for that I flourished. I did not earn as much as my peers who went into the field but I have no regrets.

kamhwee72

asian-parents-art-major.jpg

A Vietnamese woman, who goes by Kaitlynn on TikTok and appears to live in the U.S., shared an emotional conversation she had with her parents over her choice to major in the arts at university.

The video, which showed the woman getting emotional when confronted by her parents, has attracted more than six million views, along with thousands of encouraging comments praising her for pursuing her dreams despite her parents' objections.

Questioned on how she plans to support herself after graduation​

The video starts with an already teary-eyed Kaitlynn sharing a meal with her parents, an indication that the uncomfortable conversation had been going on for some time before she decided to hit record.
In Vietnamese, her mother questioned her on how she intends to support herself after graduating.
"I'm going to find a rich husband," she replied, adding in the video subtitles that she was "obviously joking".
Her mother, however, took her reply seriously and retorted with: "You're short and small, you can't do anything, you're nothing in comparison to others. Talk about marrying rich."
Her father interjects, and asked: "Why did you choose this major?"
"I'm in the post production track, I sit in a room and edit sh*t," Kaitlynn replied.
Crying some more, she added: "Leave me alone, I'll figure it out."
asian-parents-art-major-2.jpg

Her mother continued, and said it would be difficult for her to "survive" with this career.
Her father chimed in again, and told her: "Sit and think this through. Wake up, stop dreaming, live with the reality."
Kaitlynn's TikTok description indicates she is from Orange County, Los Angeles in the U.S.

Many empathise with her situation of dealing with Asian parents​

Kaitlynn's video seemed to strike a chord with many, with some sharing that they were able to relate to her situation.
art-major-comments-4.jpg

art-major-comments-5.jpg

Others encouraged her to keep pushing on with her choice in major, and said that what made her "happy" was more important.
art-major-comments-1.jpg

Some also pointed out that her parents may have had a narrower understanding on what would make a successful career, or that they are unable to communicate their worries to their daughter tactfully.
art-major-comments-2.jpg

art-major-comments-3.jpg

art-major-comments-6.jpg

Another Vietnamese woman in the arts industry also reached out to Kaitlynn to offer her "support" in her career if she needed it.
art-major-comments-7.jpg

art-major-comments-8.jpg

https://mothership.sg/2022/04/arts-major-asian-parents/
Can find civil service job after getting the arts degree mah.....

Oh sheet.... she is not in SG....

x1243x

ah so it's just a matter of perspective no? needing to put food on the table also helps perspective.. anyway like I said in my first post, the track she wants to do can survive one.. not those useless degrees. just that maybe her parents are more cautious.

Jamestan80

Come Sinkieland , Degree in art can be VP & GM, short never mind but small a bit tought.

But neber mind , Squeeze a bit have already, just wear short skirt & low cut and shout woman power , gender equality. Sure can climb fast & high here.

If all else fail , just do Grab delivery.

figo16

Some insurance agent saw my CV online and called me a few months ago to join the industry. I told her that I get headache if I see numbers every day at work. She laughed and hanged up.

I did Accounts at A levels and did badly. My JC life was miserable. It was only when I left school and pursued a field that I had an aptitude for that I flourished. I did not earn as much as my peers who went into the field but I have no regrets.
Gen X or boomer spotted. a level does not offer accounts since year 2000.

Accounting going to be outsourced and taken over by tech liao. now it is flooded with jhk. heng you didn't join accounting industry

codemasterguy

What kind of art? those paintting/sculpture art?

She still does not realize. Those who speak harsh/tough, probably are the one care about her.
Those who speak nicely/encouraging in the social media, most likely does not care about her at all.

It is true that one should pursue his/her passion. But don't forget, someone has to pay for the bill.
She can always pursue art as hobby.

If she really insist to go, she can show to her parents, she pay her own loan and also work to pay for her study.

Art also requires creativity, and that's why i don't understand why people need to go uni/class to learn Art. Wasting time and money.

Another branch to art, is the design, such as architect, design interiors which is better imho.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.