Wall mount / bracket question

Streetwise

Any tips for newbie attempting to drill for the first time? I might loan the drill from Ikea instead, since they don't charge.

Google is ur best friend :D......anyway, here's a website that should help u. It's quite well written. Just remember that u need to mark out ur bracket holes to the wall u're drilling. Also measure that ur TV height, where possible is at optimal...ie, eye level.
http://www.familyhandyman.com/mason...ng-concrete-and-installing-fasteners/view-all
http://www.naturalhandyman.com/iip/infflatpanel/infflatpanel-concrete.html
http://www.gardenfork.tv/hang-a-tv-on-a-brick-or-concrete-wall

leongws

If u're having a hard time drilling thru' the wall, I'm suspecting it may be a reinforced conrete wall, which to my limited knowledge, part of the pillars of a flat and the regulations of HDB is that u cannot drill holes in reinforced concrete wall. For normal walls, u should not have an issue using a standard hammer drill. Personally, I'm using a Bosch hammer drill which have no problems drilling most types of concrete.

Good advice but I don't think I drilled into reinforced wall. I tried drilling holes for my curtains, wall mount tv bracket etc and using normal drill, I can say it only drill/scratch the surface of the wall, just make a mark point. The worst is when I drilling hole on ceiling for baby 'Yao Lan'. It requires our arm to be vertical position while drilling and with the weight of the drill, u can imagine how tedious it was as need to be drill deep enough for the wall plug hook.
In the end bought a rotary hammer drill and drill through all including the around 10mm hole for baby yao lan with ease within 10 seconds.
I live in old flat built around 1980s and its really hard solid concrete. I saw myself my relative using normal drill for new bto flat and they drill through the wall using just normal mode, not even hammer mode with normal drill.

Streetwise

Good advice but I don't think I drilled into reinforced wall. I tried drilling holes for my curtains, wall mount tv bracket etc and using normal drill, I can say it only drill/scratch the surface of the wall, just make a mark point. The worst is when I drilling hole on ceiling for baby 'Yao Lan'. It requires our arm to be vertical position while drilling and with the weight of the drill, u can imagine how tedious it was as need to be drill deep enough for the wall plug hook.
In the end bought a rotary hammer drill and drill through all including the around 10mm hole for baby yao lan with ease within 10 seconds.
I live in old flat built around 1980s and its really hard solid concrete. I saw myself my relative using normal drill for new bto flat and they drill through the wall using just normal mode, not even hammer mode with normal drill.

If u're using a hammer drill...there should not be an issue...unless of course the hammer drill is not performing to specs. Rotary drill is a little overkill but hey...if it works for u then it's fine :D. Fyi, I've DIY a 60yr old HDB as well as a 20yr and 5yr old flat. U're right that recent flats are easier to drill thru as the walls are less solid...but I hve no problems with solid walls nor ceilings with a normal hammer drill....but then again, I've been using a Bosch hammer drill. Never use a B&D...thus, no comment.

crystalnox

If u're using a hammer drill...there should not be an issue...unless of course the hammer drill is not performing to specs. Rotary drill is a little overkill but hey...if it works for u then it's fine :D. Fyi, I've DIY a 60yr old HDB as well as a 20yr and 5yr old flat. U're right that recent flats are easier to drill thru as the walls are less solid...but I hve no problems with solid walls nor ceilings with a normal hammer drill....but then again, I've been using a Bosch hammer drill. Never use a B&D...thus, no comment.
How many watts is your Bosch drill?

hawthorne

Rotary Hammers are best for the job. But they cost more than a normal Hammer. In addition, the drill bits are more ex also.

When I was staying with my parents, I used an old Makita hammer drill in the old HDB flat. It is tedious, took me about 1 hour to drill 4 holes. This is in constrast to a TV installer, who helped me mount my TV on the same wall. They used a Hilti rotary hammer, and drilled 2 holes effortless and within seconds.

So it depends on how often u think u will need to use it. I personally is the type of person who will get the best tools I can afford. So, if I am staying in that flat long term, then I would buy a rotary hammer.

For the record, I am using a B&D 700w hammer drill. I am staying in a 6 year old HDB, hence no need for a rotary hammer. My current drill can cope quite well for my current walls

Wongpk

$50 for installation is a good bargain
i paid $100 for the service alone (exclude the bracket )

Is it expensive to pay $120 to dismount and re-install a new bracket for a new tv?

current tv spoil liao and looking to get a new larger one, but will need to remount due to the soundbar below.

was looking at this and saw the options there ($69 for bracket and installation and $50 for remounting)

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/PHILIPS-AOC-BY-PHILIPS-50INCH-FULL-HD-LED/

ningquinox

Provide TV brackets & Mounting services

Hi guys,

We provide all types of TV Brackets wall mounting services from 26" - 75":

a) Normal Slim TV bracket
b) Tilting bracket
c) Double Arm bracket

Kindly SMS me at 91916861 for a reasonable quote.

jace88

I live in rental condo and owner said can install wall mount for tv as long as I remove and patch up later. Any idea how much this costs? Presume need to paint the wall afterwards too. Just trying to Budget - seems to be about S$100 for hardware and basic tilting mount for my 60" LCD tv based on gumtree adds.

stemcell

I live in rental condo and owner said can install wall mount for tv as long as I remove and patch up later. Any idea how much this costs? Presume need to paint the wall afterwards too. Just trying to Budget - seems to be about S$100 for hardware and basic tilting mount for my 60" LCD tv based on gumtree adds.

since rental why wall mount? no table?

hawthorne

For rented place, I wun bother. Just place on table or something.

Once u mounted the TV, it will be inconvenient to access the rear ports. No point compromising on the convenience if u r going to tear it down later

Wall anchors are very mahfan to remove. U need to hack away the surrounding areas and will result in a large hole. Then after patching, and paint back, u need to ensure the whole wall same colour. So r u going to paint the entire wall?

mrsun18

A rawl bolt for fixing wall mount looks like this:

KJTk1p1.png

It is not difficult to remove the rawl bolt if you understand how it works.

Check the section on Wedge anchors https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anchor_bolt

There is no need to enlarge the existing hole to remove it.

This is what I have done after removing the wall mount. Use a hammer to knock the exposed end of the rawl bolt into the wall, this is to loosen it's grip on the wall. Then knock the exposed end from side to side (that means perpendicular to the wall), again to loosen the grip further. After it is sufficiently loose, pull it out. The hole can be patched up with premix putty easily. This only cost $2 - $3 from Homefix.

As for painting, owners usually will paint up the house again in any case to attract new tenants. You can confirm with your landlord.

saintgtril

wacko

I'm guessing it will be a hole drilled out with a hole saw, and the size big enough to fit a 3-pin plug through comfortably. the hole will likely be hidden by the TV, you shouldn't be concerned about concealing it. if you really want a cover, use a circular table grommet.

saintgtril

I'm guessing it will be a hole drilled out with a hole saw, and the size big enough to fit a 3-pin plug through comfortably. the hole will likely be hidden by the TV, you shouldn't be concerned about concealing it. if you really want a cover, use a circular table grommet.

Thanks wacko for your prompt response! Am i right to understand then the hole saw is the industry standard size? If yes, i will not get my designer contractor to drill the hole if it is bigger than the hole saw size.

Good idea on the circular table grommet. I fail to think of that. :s12:

hawthorne

Thanks wacko for your prompt response! Am i right to understand then the hole saw is the industry standard size? If yes, i will not get my designer contractor to drill the hole if it is bigger than the hole saw size.

Good idea on the circular table grommet. I fail to think of that. :s12:

there is no industry standard hole size. Ur contractor will most likely just drill a hole that is large enough to fit a 3 pin plug through. If u want a specific hole size or shape, u shld let him know lor

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.