 Watch Series 6

ryan_khoo

I wanted the audio cue and I run while holding my phone on my hand so it's kinda easier to view and control the tracking from the phone rather than the watch itself. But mainly for the audio cues.

I don’t know about AW but in Garmin you can set “Audio Prompt” to ON and then select what you want it to read out to you and how frequently it reads out to you ...

Actually, for Garmin, the screen is big enough for you to configure what you want it to display. In Garmin, you can select it to display from 1 variable (in Apple speak = metrics) to 6 variables/metrics and you can choose various layouts to suit how you want to display these variables/metrics ...

Snoweagle

Thanks but still haven ship yet. So slow. 😅

Sometimes they will consolidate the orders to SG in a batch before shipping out. But once it leaves the facility, it should reach SG within the next day or two.

dreamer_toons

I used to run with my cellular AW and the Workout app. Recently, I tried out the mapmyrun app and it gives me the audio cue of my progress through the AirPod from my AW. Hopefully, the the audio cue will be integrated into the Workout app in the future.

Seem that there are models available for pickup at the store today for those who just want to buy online and pick up themselves.

Suleyman

In a way, the Watch is the same as iPhone. It comes with some useful apps but if you only limit yourself to apps as it came in the box, then you are severely underutilizing the Watch. Don’t like the default app (hello Maps!), just install a 3rd party one that suit you better.

The Workout app is fine, I feel, for those into just casual exercise . Just go out, whack a bit, close the circles & that’s it. If you are into more structured training (of any sport), there are numerous better options out there to explore and use instead..

Seem that there are models available for pickup at the store today for those who just want to buy online and pick up themselves.

For sure there are different stocks for the shop and the online ordering. I ordered a solo braided band & estimated delivery was 6-8 weeks. I walked into the shop at Jewel to try the sizing and they actually had the exact band I wanted in stock.

ryan_khoo

Anyone got face this problem too or is it me alone ?

Thanks

I have a problem, the occurrence is getting more frequent and kinda fed up ...

I know when there’s a red dot on top of AW means there’s some message to read. Just slide down to read. Lately, i try to slide down and it can’t slide ... try to slide up oso cannot. (But can slide left !).

The only solution was to OFF and ON the AW back ... and it works ... but really frustrating to keep resetting leh ...

Anyone got any ideas or tips to resolve this ?

Thanks

Unicornetto

Unicornetto

I feel your anticipation as when I did the same for the Series 4 two years back.

But don't worry, they won't take too long.

Thanks! ya I been eyeing the watch since series 4 Liao. Waiting for it to enhance the features before I purchase it considering how expensive is it. Decided to get it now since have the blood oxygen and solo loop. I have other apple products but never excited with it until the watch series 6. 😂

htngwilliam

Haha bro gt_5454,

For me, i have to have both ... 😝😝😝 because i am an apek now, i need the cellular function for security purposes that’s the only reason I bought the AW.

To answer your question, you need to ask yourself which of these 2 are more important:
1) to have the watch to warn/alert you when your Heart Rate is high during the run
2) to be able to make a phone call out during emergency at night while running ?

Bcos AW cannot do (1) above and Garmin cannot do (2) above.

If your main purpose is to wear it for social purpose, the the AW.

If your main purpose is for running, get Garmin.

I cannot answer the above question, both oso want, so i have to buy both 🤦*♂️

Hope that helps ...

Cheers

Actually this is not a 1-1 comparison. The Garmin 245 Music cost about $529. If you compare Apple Watch SE at $469, it has far greater features. I guess Garmin is an impressive watch for training. It prompts you on your heart rate, exercise intensity etc. However, Apple Watch have other apps functions and is also able to reply messages, make calls etc...More of an all rounder watch.

I have used Fitbit and Apple Watch before. Sometimes you don’t really want the prompt to say that you are running too fast, too slow. After a while, more or less you know how fast or slow you are running. If you are concern with ur heart rate, can glance on and off which you are running. I presume can also ask Sri to check ?

Snoweagle

Thanks! ya I been eyeing the watch since series 4 Liao. Waiting for it to enhance the features before I purchase it considering how expensive is it. Decided to get it now since have the blood oxygen and solo loop. I have other apple products but never excited with it until the watch series 6. ��

I’ve always been excited on every Watch and iPhone launch but these are very expensive annual upgrades so have to save a lot for them.

Think next year will be even more excited as the Watch is rumoured to have a design change, but shouldn’t deviate too much from current design.

The solo loop and braided solo loops looks good but on the fence on getting one since I’m currently using the link bracelet.

Suleyman

Thanks! ya I been eyeing the watch since series 4 Liao. Waiting for it to enhance the features before I purchase it considering how expensive is it. Decided to get it now since have the blood oxygen and solo loop. I have other apple products but never excited with it until the watch series 6. 😂

If you don't want to wait, put in another order & select the 'pick up' option. The physical stores have their own stock and one of them might have the model/strap combo you are looking for. You can always then cancel your earlier order.

Unicornetto

If you don't want to wait, put in another order & select the 'pick up' option. The physical stores have their own stock and one of them might have the model/strap combo you are looking for. You can always then cancel your earlier order.

Don’t have pick up option. I try everyday Liao since 21 sept. I even personally went to Apple Orchard to SSRR. They also don’t have

Unicornetto

I’ve always been excited on every Watch and iPhone launch but these are very expensive annual upgrades so have to save a lot for them.

Think next year will be even more excited as the Watch is rumoured to have a design change, but shouldn’t deviate too much from current design.

The solo loop and braided solo loops looks good but on the fence on getting one since I’m currently using the link bracelet.

Wah the silver link bracelet is $519 lei! So ex! 😱. The solo loop Just launch but colours limited. I would prefer the light pink Color but they only have it in the sports band

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.