Watercooling build assistance

zacky1223

Hello watercooling shifus! I need your help! I am trying to do a custom open loop watercooling. Pardon my lousy drawing. But this is the layout I am trying to do.

iWmd5aa.jpg

As this is my first time building open loop I am afraid some parts I might buy too much or too little. Also the layout if it's ok so need your guidance.

PC Parts
Case: Lian Li O11 Dynamic
CPU: I9 9900K
Motherboard: Gigabyte Aorus Xtreme Z390
GPU: MSI 2080 TI Gaming X Trio
Ram: GSkill Trident 8X 4 3200Mhz

Things to buy
Tubing
Bitspower Crystal Link Tube OD 16MM - Length 100MM ( Pre-CNC ) X 2
Bitspower Crystal Link Tube OD 16MM - Length 150MM (Pre-CNC) X 2
Bitspower Crystal Link Tube OD 16MM - Length 20MM ( Pre-CNC ) X 2
Bitspower Crystal Link Tube OD 16MM - Length 200MM ( Pre-CNC ) X 2
Bitspower Crystal Link Tube OD 16MM - Length 300MM ( Pre-CNC ) X 2
Bitspower Crystal Link Tube OD 16MM - Length 400MM ( Pre-CNC ) X 2

Radiator
Bitspower Leviathan SF 360 4xG1/4" Radiator X 2

https://shop.bitspower.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=6807

GPU Block

Bitspower Lotan series VGA water block and I/O bracket for MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti Gaming X TRIO
https://shop.bitspower.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=7138

CPU Block
AQUACOMPUTER CUPLEX KRYOS NEXT WITH VISION 1156/1155/1151/1150, PVD/NICKEL
http://www.performance-pcs.com/aqua...th-vision-1156-1155-1151-1150-pvd-nickel.html

Fittings

G1/4" Silver Shining Triple Rotary 90-Degree G1/4" Extender X 4
https://shop.bitspower.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=2085

Bitspower Silver Shining Enhance 90-Degree Dual Multi-Link Adapter For OD 16MM
https://shop.bitspower.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=5171

Bitspower Silver Shining Enhance Rotary G1/4" 90-Degree Multi-Link Adapter For OD 16MM X 6

https://shop.bitspower.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=5172

Pump and Reservoir

WATERCOOL HEATKILLER® TUBE 200 (Reservoir)

http://www.performance-pcs.com/watercool-heatkillerr-tube-200.html
ALPHACOOL EISPUMPE VPP755 - G1/4 INNER THREAD INCLUDING

EISDECKE D5 - PLEXI V.3 (Pump)
http://www.performance-pcs.com/alph...r-thread-including-eisdecke-d5-plexi-v-3.html

WATERCOOL HEATKILLER® D5-TOP (Pump Top)
http://www.performance-pcs.com/watercool-heatkillerr-d5-top.html

SGJoe86

bro, your fans are all in "push-out" configuration, where is your intake? o_O

shadow84

1. Dun bother planning fittings first, get the components into your case then plan for route.

2. Since u r gonna put a rad below and top, do measure the total dept of btm rad + top rad + res height + pump top.

3. For this case, it is designed with side and bottom as intake and top as exhaust.

4. 3x 360 rads may be overkill for 1x 2080ti. Temps aint gonna go lower. Shld be ard 45-48 deg on load. My 360/45mm top and 240/80mm side generate abt 50 deg load. Not much diff.

5. Just get alphacool D5 pump. Or to save space, get a res/pump top combo. BP shld have it, nt sure abt heatkiller.

zacky1223

Hi guys thanks for the input :) erm my drawing abit no clear let me redraw again share with you guys again. For the branding of the fittings i am not too sure if all the brands are the same but I like BP design.

So meaning I get the rads reservoir/pump first than I decide on the fitting?

I am not sure if one rad is enough for exhaust or I should put top and bottom exhaust rads and side intake with 3 more fans.or 1 x rads for exhaust and 1 rads intake enough liao. Ps ah I got alot of questions. Lol

shadow84

Hi guys thanks for the input :) erm my drawing abit no clear let me redraw again share with you guys again. For the branding of the fittings i am not too sure if all the brands are the same but I like BP design.

So meaning I get the rads reservoir/pump first than I decide on the fitting?

I am not sure if one rad is enough for exhaust or I should put top and bottom exhaust rads and side intake with 3 more fans.or 1 x rads for exhaust and 1 rads intake enough liao. Ps ah I got alot of questions. Lol

You can do a mixture which is what im doing also. But im more kiasu, fittings that comes in contact with tubing, i go for branded. Other male-female fittings, i dun mind barrow. Also, there is a guy in carousell that is selling barrow fittings, seems to be official distributor for barrow. He is currently redoing his pdf pricelist so im waiting for an update.

It would be better to get all major components first so that you can place with orientation and gauge on how your setup gonna be. This will reduce any unnecessary fittings costs if not in used or cant be used.

2x 360 rad is more than enough for 1x 2080 and cpu. U can go for 3 if feeling rich, but ur side rad needs to be 30mm max with fans at the 2nd chamber. If not, u wun have space for fittings.

If u go such route of 3 rads, u need pay extra attention to res and pump top height. It may overshot the height restrictions. Also, do include a fill port on top of res and cater that into the height calculations. U can go check if heatkiller has a res+ pump top combo.

For ppc, do sign up for their newsletter. They will occassionally send u codes during US holidays, around 10-15% depending on min spending. As for bp, they do sell direct from online shop, prices are all there once u log in. Can compare.

For cpu block, i recommend EK evo supremacy. Somehow, aqc nickel plating coating seems to have some issues with our weather. Less than a year, the nickel plating seems to have aged or got stain marks similar to water marks like those found in marine industry. I believe its due to our humid weather.

Lastly, find someone to share the wb blocks so as to reduce the shipping. lol. I might be getting new rads and change to hard tubing next year.

For res, u can consider this: http://shop.watercool.de/epages/WatercooleK.sf/en_GB/?ObjectPath=/Shops/WatercooleK/Products/30204. Its a res/pump top combo so as to save space. Im using the same combo from EK. Just need to buy D5 pump will do. Then can also consider buying their multi port res top cover so as to give u more options for fill port and res inlet port. Can also consider their fan mounting stand for horizontal rads. But take note of gpu length coz it may interfere as its length need to be within 2 fans space.

zacky1223

You can do a mixture which is what im doing also. But im more kiasu, fittings that comes in contact with tubing, i go for branded. Other male-female fittings, i dun mind barrow. Also, there is a guy in carousell that is selling barrow fittings, seems to be official distributor for barrow. He is currently redoing his pdf pricelist so im waiting for an update.

It would be better to get all major components first so that you can place with orientation and gauge on how your setup gonna be. This will reduce any unnecessary fittings costs if not in used or cant be used.

2x 360 rad is more than enough for 1x 2080 and cpu. U can go for 3 if feeling rich, but ur side rad needs to be 30mm max with fans at the 2nd chamber. If not, u wun have space for fittings.

If u go such route of 3 rads, u need pay extra attention to res and pump top height. It may overshot the height restrictions. Also, do include a fill port on top of res and cater that into the height calculations. U can go check if heatkiller has a res+ pump top combo.

For ppc, do sign up for their newsletter. They will occassionally send u codes during US holidays, around 10-15% depending on min spending. As for bp, they do sell direct from online shop, prices are all there once u log in. Can compare.

For cpu block, i recommend EK evo supremacy. Somehow, aqc nickel plating coating seems to have some issues with our weather. Less than a year, the nickel plating seems to have aged or got stain marks similar to water marks like those found in marine industry. I believe its due to our humid weather.

Lastly, find someone to share the wb blocks so as to reduce the shipping. lol. I might be getting new rads and change to hard tubing next year.

For res, u can consider this: http://shop.watercool.de/epages/WatercooleK.sf/en_GB/?ObjectPath=/Shops/WatercooleK/Products/30204. Its a res/pump top combo so as to save space. Im using the same combo from EK. Just need to buy D5 pump will do. Then can also consider buying their multi port res top cover so as to give u more options for fill port and res inlet port. Can also consider their fan mounting stand for horizontal rads. But take note of gpu length coz it may interfere as its length need to be within 2 fans space.

Hey bro thanks for the detailed guide man. I am looking at the D5 Combo from Bitspower now. However my main concern now is the MSI Rtx 2080ti length. It seems to be very long. Really need to plan the measurement well.

For the CPU block really luck you brought that up to me. I go for it because of the indicator cuz like a chio lol. I will look through other cpu waterblock for now.

shadow84

Hey bro thanks for the detailed guide man. I am looking at the D5 Combo from Bitspower now. However my main concern now is the MSI Rtx 2080ti length. It seems to be very long. Really need to plan the measurement well.

For the CPU block really luck you brought that up to me. I go for it because of the indicator cuz like a chio lol. I will look through other cpu waterblock for now.

If u can mount res onto side rad, gpu length should not be an issue. Unless its the atas models that have super long lengths. Try looking at the gpu edge straight on. If it does not exceed the grommets, u r safe.

zacky1223

I find EK res combo more versatile as compared to BP options. With their mounting bracket that caters to horizontal and vertical rads.

But actually the res and pump hardly make any difference? Correct me if I am wrong. It more of a branding? Other than d5 and ddc which is more for tight loops.

shadow84

But actually the res and pump hardly make any difference? Correct me if I am wrong. It more of a branding? Other than d5 and ddc which is more for tight loops.

Each brand has its own way of mounting. Just have to find one that suits what u need.

As for d5 vs ddc, d5 is more widely use coz of its efficiency.

joshuaho

Word of advice, avoid the bitspower crystal link as it cracks up extremely easily like acrylic. Go for PETG instead, much easier to cut and it’s clean

zacky1223

Word of advice, avoid the bitspower crystal link as it cracks up extremely easily like acrylic. Go for PETG instead, much easier to cut and it’s clean
Thanks bro I going for the PETG one :)

Each brand has its own way of mounting. Just have to find one that suits what u need.

As for d5 vs ddc, d5 is more widely use coz of its efficiency.

This is the current item i shortlisted. Ok ma ?

m9K6EWv.jpg

shadow84

Eh the 2 color I mix with distilled water right. Lol if like that i buy extra incase I want change color hahahaha

Lol, ok. As long as u dun buy a filter fitting can le. Coz this concentrate have particles inside which gives its colour. Filter fitting will clog up these particles and your pump will suffer soon.

If u gonna send to ezbuy warehouse for cheaper shipping, go check if the liquid can pass thru. If not, u can consider buying separately or directly from Mayhems. CAn also add in gpu blocks and rads to see the final shipping.

Encrypted11

Crystal link is acrylic.
I've switched from PETG to acrylic myself. Can say there are pros and cons to each.

PETG pros:
-Easier to cut (pipe cutter, scoring tool, scissors in some cases)
-Easier to bend
-Because it is soft, you can squeeze a malformed/kinked bend into a fitting and if the gasketing works well you still get no leaks.
-Less brittle

PETG cons:
-Common flatspots
-Lower melting point, potentially higher chance of tube melting/collapsing in a pump failure while PC is operating
-If you use clear coolants, you see the walls of the tubing fog up quite quickly.

Acrylic pros:
-Much higher melting point, lower risk of tube melting/collapsing in pump failure.
-Probably bending these will take thrice the time over PETG
-Retains most of its clarity for the long term
-Cleaner bends

Acrylic cons:
-Using a pipe cutter/scissor/scoring tool results in fissures and cracks, most use scroll saw, coping saws or minisaws
-Use various grits of sandpapers to flatten out ends rather than only the chamfer tool also used on petg
-Ends cut close to bends cannot be kinked or malformed.
-As acrylic is hard, you won't be able to fit such a tube in the fitting. If you do it forcefully you can strip or cut the rubber gasketing in the fitting.

If you scroll through compatibility lists of various coolants you'll also come to find that among hard tubes PETG has the lowest chemical resistance followed by acrylic before glass.
Much higher temps are required to bend acrylic so you'd have to protect your fingers with temperature resistant gloves like welding gloves. Make sure you chamfer acrylic tube edges well. They can be very sharp and cut through your gasketing if you don't do so. I personally pick acrylic.

There is no one size fits all in tubing but PETG is very easy to work with.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.