Wechat wallet

AprilChoo

there are wechat and alipay top up services floating around in the forum. can try that

you cant send and recieve money on wechat without id verification.

I have setup bank acs in china whenever i go to china . but lost the 2 cards and acc no. it has been like 5 yrs , will try to reinstate the account when in china. when ever you visit china , try to register and verify your youku , alipay, wechat pay , your ah tiong music app on hp , cos once you back in SG you cant do anything.

AprilChoo

I received a WeChat hongbao, but the app rejects my sg-issued credit cards. How ah?

you need open bank account china, 200RMB can open with ATM card liao . before open you need buy a sim card china and find a residential address for application/ the residential address can alibaba one. they even give me a dongle , which i lost everything . their internet banking is very confusing, more confusing then alipay so you can skip that out. just cash in a min amount for more functions in app when u b SG can liao/

zzxxzzxx

Tried and can link to OCBC CARD,no additional verifications, able to receive Hongbao now.

I've Bank Of China Account with a local China prepaid SIM Card.

A friend in SG was able to add OCBC credit card at WeChat Wallet verification.
So he was able to receive WeChat AngBao now.

Do try with your current Singapore Debit/Credit Card.
But you need someone to first send you an AngBao.
Then add in the card.

By Default, Singapore's WeChat do not see WeChat Wallet.

alvino

Then add in the card.

My wallet is activated when someone give me angbao. Card added but can Never top up anyway

tekster

Then add in the card.

U can add any credit card but unable to do top up

zzxxzzxx

No one mentioned TOP UP of WeChat Wallet using Non-China Credit/Debit Card....
You guys just thought it's so easy......

Like i've said, It's to RECEIVE WeChat Ang Bao.

Edit::

There'll be people in Singapore able to Send WeChat Ang Bao To You.
Then you pay in cash or transfer money to his Singapore Bank Account.

Just like Paypal users selling their credit in it.

aKaGiz

any kind soul can send me a 0.01 angbao to activate my wechat wallet? PM me?

seahkws

I tried opening an acct in Shanghai in Mar 18. Was rejected by ICBC and 2 other Banks. The regulation now is u need to be working in China to do so.

I wasn't able to receive angpow to top up without a locally issued CC even though my wallet is open.

Using SG Wechat. Still trying to overcome the problem and yes, best to have a unionpay CC in China.

seowbin

I tried opening an acct in Shanghai in Mar 18. Was rejected by ICBC and 2 other Banks. The regulation now is u need to be working in China to do so.

I wasn't able to receive angpow to top up without a locally issued CC even though my wallet is open.

Using SG Wechat. Still trying to overcome the problem and yes, best to have a unionpay CC in China.
have you tried to open via BOC ?

my friend opened maybe 2 yrs ago no issue,
mine was 3 years ago and recently updated my new passport number with them.

seahkws

have you tried to open via BOC ?

my friend opened maybe 2 yrs ago no issue,
mine was 3 years ago and recently updated my new passport number with them.

Yeah the bank staff took me the audits r strict now. Anyway it seems that if we download Wechat from Taiwan, HK, Macau or China it would allow foreign cards.

Will try it out soon.

jywy2005

I also tried checking with Bank of China in Guangzhou. Also couldn’t open an account.

seowbin

Yeah the bank staff took me the audits r strict now. Anyway it seems that if we download Wechat from Taiwan, HK, Macau or China it would allow foreign cards.

Will try it out soon.

I also tried checking with Bank of China in Guangzhou. Also couldn’t open an account.

lucky i'm early adopter :s13::vijayadmin:

open in gz, using hotel address

Wishingstar79

Maybe you can try more remote provinces. But if regulation changed, then all banks should be effective.
I couldnt even get a SIM card for tourist there, they need local address. I got my colleague to buy a SIM for me and now i pay a monthly subscription fee of RMB5 just to maintain.

I tried to do so last Dec and wasn’t successful. Will try other banks in Guangzhou next time I travel there.

zzxxzzxx

Maybe you can try more remote provinces. But if regulation changed, then all banks should be effective.
I couldnt even get a SIM card for tourist there, they need local address. I got my colleague to buy a SIM for me and now i pay a monthly subscription fee of RMB5 just to maintain.

Most major Airport in China have point-of-sales to get local prepaid card.
But it's not cheap, costing RMB 150 or somewhere there....
Didn't went over to ask them before....

Any tourist is able to get a Prepaid SIM from their Main Outlet (旗舰店) or Flagship Store. They are the only ones able to process Tourist's Passport.

Steyr69

Most major Airport in China have point-of-sales to get local prepaid card.
But it's not cheap, costing RMB 150 or somewhere there....
Didn't went over to ask them before....

Any tourist is able to get a Prepaid SIM from their Main Outlet (旗舰店) or Flagship Store. They are the only ones able to process Tourist's Passport.

how to identify Main Outlet (旗舰店) or Flagship Store?

brofeelgood

how can that b.

mine use sg cc. all webchat hongbao able to deposit in.

but then i only have ard 50rmb nia.. jin little.

Because WeChat has recently stopped accepting and linking overseas credit cards to its Wallet function. If you've registered yours previously, good for you. If you didn't and try now to set it up as new, you'll receive the error message: "暂不支持通过境外卡注册微信支付账户,请先添加中国大陆银行卡完成账户注册".

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.