What can we do?

Gummy Bear

Is it really safe to rely on dividend payout for our financial freedom? Whats the catch here? Can we really quit our job after we have achieved total monthly dividend $$$ more than our salary? If its that easy.. why are so many people still struggling in their day job? I once had a conversation with my friend. I talked about how we can achieve freedom on investing and get dividend income. He said his mum invested and lost huge amount of her saving. So he never believe in investing and dividend. He called it BS.

I am really sick and tired of my job now. What is the purpose of our life if we need to stuck in our job for most of our life time?

Sorry for being so negative now. I went to visit one of my friend's father in ICU recently. He is in critical condition. He is a very hardworking person. He never have time to enjoy his life. Being a victim of the "system", he spend his whole life supporting his family and now he ended up in this situation.

I cant help but feel really sad for him and for most of us who need to work and work and work till we die. Is our life really all about working to survive? DW is my inspiration.

I strongly believe no job is worth it. No matter how high your salary is or how fast you can climb the ladder. You are still working for others and you do not have the "real" freedom at all.

winorlose

If the society can only have rich people then no one will ever need to work and the "system" will collapse. Who is going to do the jobs for u?

That's why alot of these old people fall for scams "invest 10k and get 10k back in 12mths" sunshine empire, gold ponzi schemes.

All of them have get rich fast mentality. And this is the human weakness these scams pray on. Dont say them, even when investing in stock mkt, who can really buy and dont check on their shares? All of us have this mentality stuck somewhere in our head

Some pple swear by properties but thats only if u have bought at a low price and there js significant buffer for a downturn. Even then, properties need huge capital outlay.

Nowadays money easy to cheat, hard to earn. All those scammers happy happy take lots of $$$ and run road go enjoy liao.

So now save $$$ just go enjoy.. Yolo abit.. Travel and see the world. Singapore is just so small and ****ing boring.

ValueInvestor

Is it really safe to rely on dividend payout for our financial freedom? Whats the catch here? Can we really quit our job after we have achieved total monthly dividend $$$ more than our salary? If its that easy.. why are so many people still struggling in their day job? I once had a conversation with my friend. I talked about how we can achieve freedom on investing and get dividend income. He said his mum invested and lost huge amount of her saving. So he never believe in investing and dividend. He called it BS.

I am really sick and tired of my job now. What is the purpose of our life if we need to stuck in our job for most of our life time?

Sorry for being so negative now. I went to visit one of my friend's father in ICU recently. He is in critical condition. He is a very hardworking person. He never have time to enjoy his life. Being a victim of the "system", he spend his whole life supporting his family and now he ended up in this situation.

I cant help but feel really sad for him and for most of us who need to work and work and work till we die. Is our life really all about working to survive? DW is my inspiration.

I strongly believe no job is worth it. No matter how high your salary is or how fast you can climb the ladder. You are still working for others and you do not have the "real" freedom at all.

the rich become richer and the poor becomes poorer

because money grows more money

and debt grows more debt

most normal people... start off the rat race with debt
student loan
housing loan
marriage
car
bills
and so on...........
eventually very few people will get out of the rat race...

you think that listening to those who are still stuck in the rat race will help u get out of the rat race? LOL

ValueInvestor

btw quite a few forumers here have attained financial freedom a quite a young age... u can also check out some of our local bloggers.. some also have financial freedom liao

the most power one is wonderdoggie liao, she sold her business for millions and semi retire~ jin power la

alexchia01

Is it really safe to rely on dividend payout for our financial freedom?

Yes.

Whats the catch here?

There is no catch.

Can we really quit our job after we have achieved total monthly dividend $$$ more than our salary?

Yes.

If its that easy.. why are so many people still struggling in their day job?

Because many people don't know how to do it correctly.

I once had a conversation with my friend. I talked about how we can achieve freedom on investing and get dividend income. He said his mum invested and lost huge amount of her saving. So he never believe in investing and dividend. He called it BS.

This is an example of someone who don't know how to do it properly.

havetheveryfun

I thought you gonna have a big sum of inheritance? Why suddenly so emo?

Anyway.. I think this post will help enlighten you:
http://singaporeanstocksinvestor.blogspot.sg/2014/03/save-100-of-your-take-home-pay-what.html

All you need to do is try and save 50% of your take home pay, invest in something that yields at least 6% a year, and in 13 years you will be getting back dividends equivalent to your take home pay.

If you start work at 25, 13 years is just 38 years old.. say maybe you lost a job for few years, or if you cant get 6% yield maybe lesser, then take a bit longer, maybe you can still achieve it by 45 years old.

Sounds simple but not easy to execute the plan due to human emotions..

ValueInvestor

I thought you gonna have a big sum of inheritance? Why suddenly so emo?

Anyway.. I think this post will help enlighten you:
http://singaporeanstocksinvestor.blogspot.sg/2014/03/save-100-of-your-take-home-pay-what.html

All you need to do is try and save 50% of your take home pay, invest in something that yields at least 6% a year, and in 13 years you will be getting back dividends equivalent to your take home pay.

If you start work at 25, 13 years is just 38 years old.. say maybe you lost a job for few years, or if you cant get 6% yield maybe lesser, then take a bit longer, maybe you can still achieve it by 45 years old.

Sounds simple but not easy to execute the plan due to human emotions..

yeah this is very good, and can be done~ but yeah need a lot of discipline so very few will succeed in doing so

13 years of hard work to make a clone if yourself
then u relax at home and your clone fetches u the money month after month, song dah

Perisher

You don't know the joy of being a father then. I think that friend's father have enjoyed his life working for his family. Everyday watching them grow up and healthy should be the dream of every parents. Although the falling sick part is sad, but you can't really have the best of everything sometimes. Sacrifices in life are normal. Have a more balanced view.

If you look at those who have nothing to eat and would love to work to get what ever we have here then you will understand how lucky we are to have a job. I agree work and work till we die shouldn't be the way but don't make it sound like Singapore or any part of the world for that matter owes you a better life.

Everyone is responsible for their own life, especially in this country where education is almost a given. That(education) in and of itself is the key to a better life. How you use it will determine your own fate.

Also, like what some here has said already, being a long term investor collecting dividends can work. It of course also depends on other factors. One of the key is not to realise the losses just because the market is in crisis. Only cut loss on poor business, not bad prices. If they hold on to good businesses, they would have collected the dividends and come out of the crisis better than before as every crisis has shown.

wahkao3

yes agreed. well said!!
====================
We should generate our own passive income and stop relying on our boss/employer for livelihood

Just heard a friend got downsized. Poor guy. 3 young kids, wife not working and tons of bills to pay. It is ever more important that we generate our own passive income and stop relying on our boss for livelihood. S

Even if you are a good worker, anytime not your fault tio dai ji also can kanna fired, especially if the company is not doing well. Boss say want to keep him,tell him dont worry.In the end,downsize him without any warning.

For example, dividend warrior is someone we should model. He has enough passive income to cover his expenses. He can stop working whenever he wants to and still upkeep his livelihood. I hear liao very jelly :(

You all agree or not?:o
passive-income-word-cloud-concept-in-red-caps_sizeStock-Fresh.jpg

BirdSureHeadAway

nope, not safe

dont be hard up over dividend!

Hmmmmmm but sir u said passive income is the solution then u say dont hard up over dividend, dont mind explain how can we create passive income without dividend ???

Sent from nokia 3310 using GAGT

ValueInvestor

u look at all the rich people
top 50 richest in SG

they all major shareholders of listed SG stocks....

if u wanna be rich... have to own stocks/business/property

these are income producing assets!!!!!!!

wondrdoggie

u look at all the rich people
top 50 richest in SG

they all major shareholders of listed SG stocks....

if u wanna be rich... have to own stocks/business/property

these are income producing assets!!!!!!!

Actually, it's the other way around I think. They are rich because they own a lot of stocks, properties and businesses.

Question is how did they end up with so much assets? Inheritance aside, many basically invested in themselves by starting a business. They gave up the security of a job, gave up time with family and lived/breathe their business. They got wealthy when their initial investment of say $100k became $50m when the company goes public.

It's hard for a regular investor to ever hit this kind of multiples in return. But it's possible to use regular investment to gain a modest income to live on, provided you have a decent pool of funds to start and you maintain a disciplined approach to investing.

Gummy Bear

I read somewhere that diversification is for the "know nothing" investor and for the "know something". So how many of you guys are diversifying now? How do you define diversifying? If I invest in more then 10 different company.. does that mean I am also diversifying? Or I am diversifying when I investing in the whole market like the spy and Sti?

Sorry for asking such a dumb question..

As for starting a biz.. yeah.. but I dun think I have what it takes. I know myself too well. I dun have the energy and passion to run my own biz.. :D I would rather invest my $$$ in their biz and let them do their job.

In Robert Kiyosaki, Rich Dad Poor Dad, Cashflow Quadrant, I am now in the employee quadrant.. I wanna slowly move myself into the investor quadrant. A little bit at a time.

Shiny Things

Is it really safe to rely on dividend payout for our financial freedom? Whats the catch here? Can we really quit our job after we have achieved total monthly dividend $$$ more than our salary? If its that easy.. why are so many people still struggling in their day job?
Yeah, but maybe there's a better way to think of it than "oh I've hit my target for dividends, now I can quit my job". It's not that you can quit immediately, it's that it becomes easier to leave your job when you decide you want to leave, because you're not relying entirely on your salary to keep the lights on and food on the table.

Once you hit retirement age and you quit working entirely, you're not just going to be living off dividends - you can dip into your principal to maintain your 3% (or 4% or whatever) withdrawal rate.

Maybe what you need is a break from your job, first and foremost. If your boss will give you a month or two of unpaid leave, take it.

Oh the one hand - working for yourself gives you freedom, but in a very real sense you're also working for your clients (or customers, or whatever), because that's where your next paycheck comes from. And running a business has a lot more volatility embedded in it: the majority of small businesses fail - so you're at more risk of losing that paycheck. Not that I don't think running your own business is a good idea; it's just not for everyone.

On the other hand: oh god yes I cannot endorse this sentiment enough. There are so many cliche ways to put this - "nobody ever lies on their deathbed wishing they'd spent more time at the office" is my favourite - but life is not just about struggling through school and struggling through college and struggling through work and struggling through raising kids and then you die! Work is a means to an end, not an end in itself - work is about making the money to pay for the good things in life like hiking expeditions in rugged mountains, and delicious cocktails on tropical beaches with slack-key guitar music in the background, and that schweet classic drop-top Mustang you've always had your eye on.

My worldview is very much influenced by the Bret Michaels philosophical school of thought that was briefly popular in the mid-80s. Here he is on stage, giving a lecture about work-life balance; it's quick (not even five minutes), so turn your speakers up and listen to the whole thing:

I read somewhere that diversification is for the "know nothing" investor and for the "know something". So how many of you guys are diversifying now? How do you define diversifying? If I invest in more then 10 different company.. does that mean I am also diversifying? Or I am diversifying when I investing in the whole market like the spy and Sti?

Sorry for asking such a dumb question..

Hey, this is not a dumb question, this is a really good question.

"Am I diversified?" is a tricky thing to answer, because it's not binary; it's like asking "am I hot or not?". You can be more or less diversified: a portfolio that owns nothing but DBS and Singtel isn't very diversified, but it's more diversified than a portfolio of nothing but DBS; and a portfolio that owns nothing but IWDA is more diversified than our "DBS + Singtel" portfolio because IWDA owns thousands of global stocks under the hood.

And then you've got asset classes - you can own bonds, stocks, commodities, REITs, the list goes on.

The question you could ask, then, is "what's the point of all this diversification? Why do I need to screw around with all these overseas ETFs - why can't I just buy DBS and retire?". The answer is: diversifying your portfolio makes it safer.

Think about our "nothing but DBS" portfolio - what happens if DBS announces one bad set of profit numbers, or has one single rogue-trader scandal? Your portfolio's going to take it in the neck. If you diversify a little bit - if you buy some Singtel - it's going to hurt a lot, but not as much; if you diversify a lot, DBS's bad profit report won't even be a scratch on your portfolio.

(There are other reasons to diversify - reduced volatility, correlation benefits, rebalancing benefits - but the simplest reason is that it makes your portfolio so much safer.)

I'm about as diversified as you can get: bonds and equities, American and global. I could add commodities if I wanted, and some corporate bonds (my bond holdings are mostly in munis because I like the tax exemption), but at the moment I'm pretty happy. I might buy some commodities and dial up my bond holdings once US interest rates head back up, but that's about the only change on the horizon.

Gummy Bear

*Cough* I have another dumb question. :D When we say we invest into a stock.. and it yield 5%. So where does this 5% come from? Dividend yield? Capital gain?

wahkao3

*Cough* I have another dumb question. :D When we say we invest into a stock.. and it yield 5%. So where does this 5% come from? Dividend yield? Capital gain?
it comes from the company's bank account

prices adjust on EX

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.