What can we do?

w1rbelw1nd

Also the best investment are usually related to your work, because you know inside out what this industry's strength & opportunities are... which are usually much more reliable compare to the investment reports written by the brilliant analysts about each company.

Got to disagree with this statement. You may know the market/industry very very well, but ultimately will still be unable to answer these question:

"Has whatever I have considered been priced-in into current price?"
"Are there some other factors that I have not considered into my investments?"
"If there is a mispricing, will the market correct itself, or remain mispriced?"

From what I last observe, my CEO is diligently working, not busy flipping shares of competitors' companies... Only advantage they have is insiders news IMO

ValueInvestor

Singapore has lots of opportunities with good systems compare to lot of our peers, in fact its unrealistic to think the success we are enjoying now can last forever.

Personally I've been working overseas for nearly 10 years, I've achieved financial freedom if I choose not to go after flamboyant lifestyle, theres one thing I can share here:

Its true you can rely 100% on investment income for a living, but work is the most reliable source of income which guarantees you some money... so why throw this safe source of income away? Also the best investment are usually related to your work, because you know inside out what this industry's strength & opportunities are... which are usually much more reliable compare to the investment reports written by the brilliant analysts about each company.

true, and also depends on what kinda job

some jobs are really very stable income... like garmen jobs

if sales job... income can swing wildly... especially for those doing insurance or property

Perisher

Not just that. Perception is relative - if everyone around you looks like a basket base, you are gold by comparison. :s13:

True but look at Europe, US, China, Russia then... Singapore is still gold...

Dyhalt

"Has whatever I have considered been priced-in into current price?"
"Are there some other factors that I have not considered into my investments?"
"If there is a mispricing, will the market correct itself, or remain mispriced?"

These are all questions related to market perceptions, its not up to the company to decide. What I'm talking about here is much more solid and predictable.

Its not up to the company to decide how the market perceive the information and reflect on the stock price, but if we observe a robust demand over long term means I can invest in my company with relative safety, overtime it should yield positive result on both dividend growth and possibly capital gain. This is generally how billion dollar business like Walmart & Microsoft grows.

The company can do alot more to unlock corporate value without speculations, like doing NDR、investment conferences by the big houses to attract investments. These things are much more beneficial in the long run rather than speculations.

If you want to be successful in investment, you must first know what is investment and what is speculations. For a true investment non of the questions above should be a problem in my humble opinion, because in the long run you will still win.

ValueInvestor

Yeah, my happiness comes when I see my loved one such as my children and wife or my grandchildren are able to reap my fruits and hard work even if I am not around anymore.

I don't work and earn to plan to enjoy my life. My job is my enjoyment and trading/investing/gambling give me joy. End of day, when I make money or receive my salary, It's for my family and my children's education and expenses.

To me, investment and passive income quicken and accelerates my wealth, that's all.

Yeah Perisher, to each its own ba, just sharing my views :)

last time a wise man told me the 3 important things in life are

1) family
2) health
3) wealth

must learn to strike a balance

u guys agree with his saying ma?

winorlose

I'd like a bit more clarification on this statement please. What do you mean by HK is in a mess? And how is said mess caused by what youngsters?

hk not in a mess? these kids not even working yet but they can riot on the streets with their stupid democracy.. face it, without china, hk is dead.

tourists carrying luggage on the street = selling water goods? anyhow confront tourists and scold them?

they mk it even harder for their own hongkongers to mk a living..

business no sales = no need for more employment

w1rbelw1nd

These are all questions related to market perceptions, its not up to the company to decide. What I'm talking about here is much more solid and predictable.

Its not up to the company to decide how the market perceive the information and reflect on the stock price, but if we observe a robust demand over long term means I can invest in my company with relative safety, overtime it should yield positive result on both dividend growth and possibly capital gain. This is generally how billion dollar business like Walmart & Microsoft grows.

The company can do alot more to unlock corporate value without speculations, like doing NDR、investment conferences by the big houses to attract investments. These things are much more beneficial in the long run rather than speculations.

If you want to be successful in investment, you must first know what is investment and what is speculations. For a true investment non of the questions above should be a problem in my humble opinion, because in the long run you will still win.

Maybe I interpreted your intial point wrongly. Basically how I read what you mentioned is that "if you know the industry due to work experience, you can invest well in the sector ie. outperform some outsider when in investing in this industry".

Either way, I dont think any of us can substantiate our stand with research. I just want to share that my bosses have invested in related industries, and from their sharing they dont do better than the normal man on the street. Knowing more may mean you get overconfident. :s22::s22:

Dyhalt

Personally I think the key difference here is "Invest in what you do" and "Invest in what you do knowing its growing"

There are many reasons a boss can invest in related industries, but ultimately you should only invest in a company if its revenue & profits are growing. You will generally be more confident than outside investors because you'll know whether the growth is temporary, sustainable or being under/over estimated.

From experience as an IR manager I can say this fact holds true most of the time.

Cheers

w1rbelw1nd

Personally I think the key difference here is "Invest in what you do" and "Invest in what you do knowing its growing"

There are many reasons a boss can invest in related industries, but ultimately you should only invest in a company if its revenue & profits are growing. You will generally be more confident than outside investors because you'll know whether the growth is temporary, sustainable or being under/over estimated.

From experience as an IR manager I can say this fact holds true most of the time.

Cheers

got to agree on disagreeing then. IR manager= investor relations manager?

wondrdoggie

True but look at Europe, US, China, Russia then... Singapore is still gold...

Singapore is a great place to live and it will always be home. But I like the US too, having spent almost a decade there. If not for my family, I think I may move to California. Better weather, lower cost of living and higher standards of living.

Perisher

Singapore is a great place to live and it will always be home. But I like the US too, having spent almost a decade there. If not for my family, I think I may move to California. Better weather, lower cost of living and higher standards of living.

I'm talking more about the governance aspect rather than the living aspect.
But oh well. Will visit California if I ever go US.

NewInvestor

Yeah I can't argue with that. Glorious place. Too late in my life for me to make the move there.

ValueInvestor

having live in the other major economies(US/Europe&Japan) for a while, I still feel SG best to stay for retirement.... as its really a lot more safe

I got friend in US, at night go 7-11 kanna rob.......the black guy can take out pistol one... jin scary........

Europe they very racist....... u speak english to them, they reply u in french... KNN

Japan.... suicide rate very high... crime rate also going up.. a lot of bian tai, but its a good place if I can work part-time as AV nan yu

Maeda_Toshiie

having live in the other major economies(US/Europe&Japan) for a while, I still feel SG best to stay for retirement.... as its really a lot more safe

I got friend in US, at night go 7-11 kanna rob.......the black guy can take out pistol one... jin scary........

Europe they very racist....... u speak english to them, they reply u in french... KNN

Japan.... suicide rate very high... crime rate also going up.. a lot of bian tai, but its a good place if I can work part-time as AV nan yu

The French are language chauvinists, even to fellow Europeans. You will get a far better response if you try to speak broken French to them, than blab out in English right from the start, like so many tourists.

ValueInvestor

The French are language chauvinists, even to fellow Europeans. You will get a far better response if you try to speak broken French to them, than blab out in English right from the start, like so many tourists.

lol... u know how to speak french ma?

even if u wanna speak broken french also not easy lor, same as china tiong in singapore speak broken english to u, make u feel dulan only

ValueInvestor

you sure or not? u got go to europe and speak french before or not?

they will reply u in full french sentence... if u dunno the language its GG still

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.