What Do I Do?

silencedmemories

Sorry If I Posted This On The Wrong Thread, But it's My First Time.

I have never asked for help online. First time in my life i'm doing this. i do not know who do i turn too. Maybe you guys would be able to guide me.

My father is 65 years old, he's not very strong and still working. He's 2 months behind on his rent, and have to be out soon( a few days more) from his rented place. The start of his problems came after selling his house to pay for my late mum's medical bills and debts. a few months after she passed away, my dad manage to secure the agent to sell the house. but the money never lasted. after paying back all the debts, bills. He is left with almost nothing. That was a few years back, now times are getting hard, Very Hard. He turns to me for help, but i myself are unable to help due to financial reasons, and i do not own a place for my self. He tried social services, but that too is unable to help. His last options were asking CPF is he is able to withdraw a small sum of money. But he have yet to receive a reply. The monthly that cpf gives out is unable to last long as his paying his debt, paying his rental room. his daily food. I seriously don't know what to do to help him out. If you all could guide me in the right direction, i'll be more then thankful.

silencedmemories

He tried asking social services. that was i think a year back or so. they say it's hard for them to provide a shelter. and it would take months to help. The best options the could give is too talk to my other family members(Cousins) too help them relocate my father to a house that belongs to them. even that didn't work. Easy to say, my dad gave up and and slept on the streets for a time period. Then he manage to secure a rental place. But the cost of it, is too high, he isnt able to keep up with it.

soneat

He tried asking social services. that was i think a year back or so. they say it's hard for them to provide a shelter. and it would take months to help. The best options the could give is too talk to my other family members(Cousins) too help them relocate my father to a house that belongs to them. even that didn't work. Easy to say, my dad gave up and and slept on the streets for a time period. Then he manage to secure a rental place. But the cost of it, is too high, he isnt able to keep up with it.
May I know where are you staying? Can your Dad stay with you?

silencedmemories

i'm staying at a rented room also, already tried but that options is not possible as the land lord wouldn't allow and there's barely enough space for me as it's very small.

silencedmemories

HDB is an options we are going to try, already ask him to go with me on monday or as soon as possible. As for MP, we are not too sure but i will try find for an information on it. and bring him to the nearest one available. What i'm worried about is him getting kicked out in a few days time and i don't know how to help him on that matter.

silencedmemories

For the NCSS i'll try to give a call or email them now. Thank You So Much For All Your Help, it means alot to me

soneat

HDB is an options we are going to try, already ask him to go with me on monday or as soon as possible. As for MP, we are not too sure but i will try find for an information on it. and bring him to the nearest one available. What i'm worried about is him getting kicked out in a few days time and i don't know how to help him on that matter.
I guess you could have taken action much earlier to minimize the stress you are seeing now. HDB rental flat need to wait. Instead of you renting a flat from the open market, considering renting it from HDB and conserve your money. In the mean time, read up on HDB rental flat tonight, and tomorrow go to HDB and apply/take action.

soneat

I guess you could have taken action much earlier to minimize the stress you are seeing now. HDB rental flat need to wait. Instead of you renting a flat from the open market, considering renting it from HDB and conserve your money. In the mean time, read up on HDB rental flat tonight, and tomorrow go to HDB and apply/take action.
Don't delay.

You can do your application right away via E-Service.
http://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/re...db/public-rental-scheme/application-procedure

Tomorrow 8am call HDB at 1800-225-5432 enquire about the estimated waiting time

Happygirlzz

Ur mentioned ur dad is 65 years old.. wat about u? I guess, ard 30plus? 30plus years old, then r u working nw? If u are, then are u able to help him out? U mentioned u urself unable to help due to financial reasons? Able to explain n tell us in more detail? Did ur spending exceeds the amount u spend per mth tts why? Do u have other savings or investments at hand which can cash out n help ur dad?

Happygirlzz

Sorry if i asked too many questions, just wan to get a clearer picture .. but we r all trying to help u.. dont worry.. hmmm, maybe u can take up a job if u dun hv one? Or even if hv a job, can consider taking up 2 jobs or do fulltime n one side jobs? Or can ask employer to give advance 1 or 3 mth salary as u need money urgently? Provided u hv been with employer some time alr..

U mentioned bills n debts.. what kind of debts is that? Gambling debts? Credit card debts?? Housing debt? Car loans/debts??

silencedmemories

Ur mentioned ur dad is 65 years old.. wat about u? I guess, ard 30plus? 30plus years old, then r u working nw? If u are, then are u able to help him out? U mentioned u urself unable to help due to financial reasons? Able to explain n tell us in more detail? Did ur spending exceeds the amount u spend per mth tts why? Do u have other savings or investments at hand which can cash out n help ur dad?

Im 29 to be exact.For my part, im earning less then what an average singaporean earns. But honestly i fall under the category of low income. Financial difficulty in the sense that, my rent is takes more the 3/4 of my salary. The rest is spent on food, even that i tried to survive with bread on most days, but my part is working out and im surving bit by bit. Yes im trying to look for a 2nd job to help him out currently. Spending wise, i dont really spend. I dont drink, i dont party, i dont club, i dont even have a social life. Either im stuck at work, or im learning to code on my free time. But yes i do smoke. Savings no, investment far from it.

silencedmemories

Sorry if i asked too many questions, just wan to get a clearer picture .. but we r all trying to help u.. dont worry.. hmmm, maybe u can take up a job if u dun hv one? Or even if hv a job, can consider taking up 2 jobs or do fulltime n one side jobs? Or can ask employer to give advance 1 or 3 mth salary as u need money urgently? Provided u hv been with employer some time alr..

U mentioned bills n debts.. what kind of debts is that? Gambling debts? Credit card debts?? Housing debt? Car loans/debts??

My dad doesnt gamble, which i thank him for that. The debts are mostly relatives that he owes and those credit loans company where the interest rates are far higher then bank, credit card debts i think he has like one or two. The debts started when my late mum fall sick, due to the lung infection thing, which i cant recall. Ill try to find her death certs and look it up and update you guys. He tried to look for alternatives medicinal pratices that eats up most of his income, till he had to resort to loans and all this things. After selling the flat, he still have some debts left that he tried to pay off, bills are mostly his old handphone bills that he owes. But i dont think hes making any payment for it. Moatly he tried to pay back those credit loans so the dont hound him i guess, credit card bills im not sure if hes paying that but i'll try to talk to him and ask. As for asking my employer for advance, not going to happen. If i do, i'll be short on ny own rental. So yes, thats mostly about it, but if i remember any details i will update all of you again.

(update)
Condition leading to death is pneumonia

silencedmemories

Currently im browsing the sites like ncss, sos and other help options. What im sad about he's half hearted on all this help cause he tried with the help before and they cant do much. So he rather find help on his own which leads to all this & currently im trying to apply for this hdb rental that you post the link for me. Thank you all. It may be just a few words that you type on a keyboard, but this help goes a long way for me. Thank you so much all. Sorry for all the typos.

soneat

Im 29 to be exact.For my part, im earning less then what an average singaporean earns. But honestly i fall under the category of low income. Financial difficulty in the sense that, my rent is takes more the 3/4 of my salary. The rest is spent on food, even that i tried to survive with bread on most days, but my part is working out and im surving bit by bit. Yes im trying to look for a 2nd job to help him out currently. Spending wise, i dont really spend. I dont drink, i dont party, i dont club, i dont even have a social life. Either im stuck at work, or im learning to code on my free time. But yes i do smoke. Savings no, investment far from it.

1. Quit your smoking - Must.
2 . Switch to HDB public rental - Asap.

Happygirlzz

Wahh, rent eats up 3/4 of ur rental income ahh.. left 1/4 for daily necessaties.. ;( i'm sad to hear tt.. but dont give up, u still in ur 20s, long way to go !! Lots of opportunities waiting for u ! Ya i think can ask those social service ppl to help out.. dont need be half hearted.. abit here n there, adds up makes a huge difference..

Happygirlzz

And ya, quit smoking. Go gyming instead. Got such things as "happy hormones" after a good day of work out n muscles building. :) sweat it all out mann! Instead of smoking, burning away money lehh.. one pack cigg exp, avg 12 bucks...

highsulphur

Talk to your mp to help secure cheap subsidised rental flat for your dad. Then through your mp apply for financial aid. I help write petitions before at mp session. They should be able to help you.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.