What went wrong with the parenting of Amos yee?

IndigoEyes

any idea? good study case so that future and current parents can learn and avoid

Posted from PCWX using Bishan chicken rice stall number one

Poor child development is not equivalent to bad parenting though.

The amount of time where a child spent growing up plays the main part of development. No matter how much parents play a part, if the kids spent most of his time elsewhere growing up, they will be influenced by that external source. Let it be from school, circle of friends and the internet.

For Amos, the biggest source of influence was from the internet. The reason he ended up like that was because he idolised the westerns too much. That's why he picked up that accent even though he had never stayed in western countries before.

Actually, many Singaporeans are also influenced from the internet. For example, some people grew up with animes. They end up idolising Japan and adapt Japanese nicknames. That's how internet shapes a person growing up. It depends how much you can control and allow it to influence you. For Amos case with his western-influence dreams, it has become too extreme till he become like that. If internet doesn't exist, Amos would've a better self-esteem towards his Asian identity and wouldn't end up like that. It's the society which created Amos.

There's no way to avoid this. Banning modern kids from internet have more con then pros in this age of technology. Nowdays education and knowledge relies alot on internet and social media. The minimal thing you can do is to keep track on your kids internet history. Make sure he don't start idolising something to the extreme to the point he develop low-self esteem towards his own asian/singaporean/race identity.

BrOwnTeddy

Read in a Wan Bao article many years ago that he was taken care of by his grandmother from young because parents busy working outside. He was the only child of an only child IIRC so you can roughly guess how his grandma treated him.

So the lesson here is, if you and your spouse have only one child and both of you have a growing career, is either one of you willing to put your career growth on pause to spend time with the child throughout his/her early childhood or leave him/her with your parents?

Rather press pause. Unless I know that the grandparent can be strict and coordinated with the parent in providing a consistent form of teaching from parent to grandparent.

The moment any grandparent spoil the kid or debase themselves to be "slaves" and have zero pride, instantly lose caretaker status.

fishbuff

Haha he no longer sg citizen now us citizen...he has to settle this daichi himself in usa

They won't strip his us citizenship since according to international law not allowed to make someone stateless lmao

Sent from I Is Cat using GAGT

he is still a singapore citizen and holding refugee visa in USA.

BrOwnTeddy

A lot of people are being brought up by their grandparents what.

From parents to grandparents, the flow of teaching and discipline is consistent.

The moment in the family, 1 grandparent or 1 of the parent 唱反调 from the parent, the child will turn to others for that kind of respect when growing up.

And u better pray the "one" is a wise person.

HeadQuarters

Having children is like Russian roulette, you'll never know how the child is going to turn out even if you are a helicopter parent.

Children will eventually have their own thinking that might not align with yours.

This is why before you want to have children, think properly first. If you are lucky your child might be the next jeff bezos but more often than not you will give birth to a char siew or a criminal.

Best is just to be single and fufill your needs in geylang or just have a girlfriend/wife without children. Get a dog instead.

Not to mention to raise a child is super expensive, you could use the money to buy a car or service your HDB loan instead lol.

I think the number of char siews in EDMW can testify to what u said :(

cutekawaii

Proverbs 13:24
Whoever spares the rod hates their children, but the one who loves their children is careful to discipline them.

sg patriot missle

The amount of time where a child spent growing up plays the main part of development. No matter how much parents play a part, if the kids spent most of his time elsewhere growing up, they will be influenced by that external source. Let it be from school, circle of friends and the internet.

For Amos, the biggest source of influence was from the internet. The reason he ended up like that was because he idolised the westerns too much. That's why he picked up that accent even though he had never stayed in western countries before.

Actually, many Singaporeans are also influenced from the internet. For example, some people grew up with animes. They end up idolising Japan and adapt Japanese nicknames. That's how internet shapes a person growing up. It depends how much you can control and allow it to influence you. For Amos case with his western-influence dreams, it has become too extreme till he become like that. If internet doesn't exist, Amos would've a better self-esteem towards his Asian identity and wouldn't end up like that. It's the society which created Amos.

There's no way to avoid this. Banning modern kids from internet have more con then pros in this age of technology. Nowdays education and knowledge relies alot on internet and social media. The minimal thing you can do is to keep track on your kids internet history. Make sure he don't start idolising something to the extreme to the point he develop low-self esteem towards his own asian/singaporean/race identity.

Talk is easy how to implement

sg patriot missle

Having children is like Russian roulette, you'll never know how the child is going to turn out even if you are a helicopter parent.

Children will eventually have their own thinking that might not align with yours.

This is why before you want to have children, think properly first. If you are lucky your child might be the next jeff bezos but more often than not you will give birth to a char siew or a criminal.

Best is just to be single and fufill your needs in geylang or just have a girlfriend/wife without children. Get a dog instead.

Not to mention to raise a child is super expensive, you could use the money to buy a car or service your HDB loan instead lol.

Edmw S experts can testify to this

ninefile

every generation of kids will have a portion of kids who turn out bad, last time is those AST, 369 bad influence, those siao eh influence your kids to smoke weed and cigarettes at a young age and go pia zhui, pia si liao also nobody knows the parents cry when identifying the corpse...

internet exposes everyone to the outside world so much, that nowadays parents don't even know who/what is extreme that's showing on the screen of their children... i am 40, i talk to my cousins who are 18, they idolise those Kpop, Jpop, Cpop, i also dunno what kind of values that are being passed onto them... in another few years when its my kids' turn, i am also not sure if I can effectively 'police' their internet behavior and what gets passed onto them... some kids listen, you nag 10 times they listen and follow 5..... some are follow 1, some follow their friends more than their parents....

Tremere

Im only saying it may have had a part to play.

How people develop is nature and nurture. Nature is genetics. Nurture is not just parents. Can be the environment, major events that the person lived through etc...

mmb9qajq9swpi8xxy76a.jpeg

surfmax

I think the problem lies with his dad who has trumatised him and release his rebelious behavoir and non compliance to law....

natsuoto

I think the problem lies with his dad who has trumatised him and release his rebelious behavoir and non compliance to law....

How he traumatised him? I thought his parents divorced and he lived with mum?

Acetone

Seems like she already give up... but she forgot, she nurtured him to they way he’s become.

"“It’s very annoying because not only does he not listen to me, I also don’t think I’m the right person to give him advice because honestly, I am very unsure what he’s doing; I can’t understand the things he’s saying on the internet half the time”, she resigned.

Overall, netizens praised her for being able to let go and for her open-mindedness."

https://theindependent.sg/amos-yee-and-his-messed-up-relationship-with-his-mother/

BrOwnTeddy

He 20 years old already

Too late to turn back

The parents cannot just shrug off any responsibility of his upbringing

Above 7yrs old, no more correction/wriggle room liao.

"三年定终生"

If first 3yrs, the family wrought with conflict, disagreement on parenting methods, child keep pushing here and there, basic morals and responsibility and consideration sense never teach; very difficult to reshape once child hits 7yrs old.

In fact, a lot can be seen from a child when they are 3yrs old.

crossair

I think his dad was the only one who actually attempted to do his job to bring up a responsible young man.

Looking at the way the mom defended him in the beginning, she was the one who gave the impression to Amos that his dad is the evil one. The last thing you want to do when one parent is discipline the child is to have the other parent being the exact opposite. Good cop bad cop does not work in parenting. Ironically, this was what made Amos the deviant he is today.

The road to hell is paved with good intentions.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.