what's wrong with e-cigarette?

MrAwesomeX

Radio djs say no good, totally ban for smoking and possession.

Not as though real smoke got no harm to smokers health. No second hand smoke no good meh?

Can easily mix other drugs like weed into it .

More addictive especially to teenager as you can vape everywhere discreetly compared to smoking therefore can do lung damage significantly faster than smoking .

2nd hand vape smoke is invisible ams no smell more difficult to avoid hence more harmful in long run.

MrAwesomeX

First time hear people say cigarettes don't do anything to health :s13: living in own world?

Self deception is the worst deception, the picture big big on every box cannot see?
Slow death. If kill you too fast the cigarettes companies how to earn money sia .

should

They shouldn't ban it.

They should licence it. Register your details via SingPass, with the condition that in exchange for the right to vape, you irrevocably waive your entitlement for all forms of medical treatment whether it is public or private healthcare, and agree to be treated on a "last to serve" basis. This waiver is a lifetime waiver and will be in force even if you stop vaping 1 day after your declaration.

Then all the vapers will just die out fairly promptly and SG will become a better place since the typical vaper will self-exterminate (if you know the typical profile of a vaper).

dnsfpl

anything that cant be tax = illegal

same like bet soccer horse via spool is okay but not from private bookie

boringtelephone

cos too many flavours entice children. smell is not obvious, hard to catch children who vape. also like someone said earlier, the consequences of e cig liquid are still unknown because e cig liquid is relatively newer compared to cig. cig was available since many many decades or centuries ago.
to add on, as a non smoker i do prefer smokers vape, cos no smell. i curse at my neighbour whenever he or she smokes, super smelly.
but i think the government ban is mainly because of children la some primary sch kids already vape

TwyPlasma

you guys all really think is just tax issue ah? govt can easily tax anything they want. some more can tax your online and overseas purchase.
they just dont want to end up all suffer some illness then end up kpkb no money pay for healthcare, need to increase healthcare spending.
some more this e vape all no proper research about side effects not sponsored by the companies manufacturing it come out yey

zeozoe

Radio djs say no good, totally ban for smoking and possession.

Not as though real smoke got no harm to smokers health. No second hand smoke no good meh?

Some solvents used in e-cigarettes may be more toxic than even smoking cigarettes. Another issue is hard to track if there are other active agents/drugs besides nicotine inside e-cigarettes...

RadioAddict

You are missing my point.

The money from ciggies taxes is too lucrative so they will never outright ban it. They should draw from this a precedence and either tax vaping as an unhealthy but legal activity, or ban both ciggies and vapes together if they are serious about the ill effects on health.

Half hearted measures like ban one not the other is neither here nor there and hard to justify the fairnsss to smokers/vapers.
taxing vapes means status quo for next generation. Banning cigs today means pissing off the existing consumers of said products. There’s many ways to reduce or stop cigs by the government but this is the middle ground today. Again there is no political points to score from outright cig bans which is why none of the political parties makes this a main point in their campaign.

Regarding justification of fairness to smokers that’s probably the last thing on anyone’s mind 😂

Tuckie

They shouldn't ban it.

They should licence it. Register your details via SingPass, with the condition that in exchange for the right to vape, you irrevocably waive your entitlement for all forms of medical treatment whether it is public or private healthcare, and agree to be treated on a "last to serve" basis. This waiver is a lifetime waiver and will be in force even if you stop vaping 1 day after your declaration.

Then all the vapers will just die out fairly promptly and SG will become a better place since the typical vaper will self-exterminate (if you know the typical profile of a vaper).
U know u could use this example for cpf as well… we all know it wouldn’t work.. these people will just come back begging

tExtra

Same like why no airbnb and bwa kwa at pasar malam but deng deng can…. When the interests of the incumbent / its associates are affected, they would employ whatever pretext in the interests of public good to “illegalise” them and continue “whatver-poly”. :frown:

WW1 Flying Ace

taxing vapes means status quo for next generation. Banning cigs today means pissing off the existing consumers of said products. There’s many ways to reduce or stop cigs by the government but this is the middle ground today. Again there is no political points to score from outright cig bans which is why none of the political parties makes this a main point in their campaign.

Regarding justification of fairness to smokers that’s probably the last thing on anyone’s mind 😂
For the sake of sinkies present and future why not ban ciggies and offer rehabilitation programs for smokers to kick the habit? Cheaper than let them continue to be deadweight on healthcare budgets right?

Foetid

like why no airbnb?
is it coz it hurts the interests of certain big corporates?
but pretty sure is for health reasons as what official media stated.
dont pofma me or give me ntuc points

anything that cause govt to lose revenue or no revenue sure is ban ban ban, no need think, can take as rule of thumb

Dracky

E-cigarettes are safer than cigarettes if consumed at similar volume, but government is worried that its use will surpass that of cigarettes.

should

U know u could use this example for cpf as well… we all know it wouldn’t work.. these people will just come back begging

Then go the other direction - make a few token raids for publicity purposes. But otherwise be not so enthusiastic about enforcement action. After all, this is not a high priority task in the greater scheme of things.

If you have noticed, vapers typically come from a particular demographic that can be described as a liability to the SG population mix. The fewer liabilities we have the better it is for SG. So let this group self-destruct.

tomsss

no means to tax e-cigarettes, so they chose the easy way out by banning it

RadioAddict

For the sake of sinkies present and future why not ban ciggies and offer rehabilitation programs for smokers to kick the habit? Cheaper than let them continue to be deadweight on healthcare budgets right?
Let’s say we ban cig what’s next? Alcohol?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.