when u are quitting, do you do proper handover? my predecessor never hand over anything

Bumiputera

Same, kena boss ask to set up phone number so that overseas ppl can call toll free. Simi how to set up, even IT also don’t how to do.

Now can use teams, zoom or your fav app, so need toll free? What era liao ....

chaiscool

Now can use teams, zoom or your fav app, so need toll free? What era liao ....
Those are online mah, need phone line without internet.

Some sites no internet one, factory/ secure locations so to support them need to have a phone line.

Bumiputera

I didn't learn anything from the previous coworker when I started working. He teased me by mentioning a few crucial subjects without providing any substance, then he promised to cover everything after lunch.

I paid for the meal because I thought he might genuinely teach me something.
Heck, at the end of the day, I learned nothing from him, and I haven't run into him since. He tossed enough MC to last a week.

I still remember that awful person called Eugene. But I can't remember his face now.
I opposite sia.....

I always trying to teach people so that I can have more people to do my sai kang....

But people usually don't like me teach full syllabus cos very dry, so no way I can really transfer fully my knowledge.

Bumiputera

Those are online mah, need phone line without internet.

Some sites no internet one, factory/ secure locations so to support them need to have a phone line.
Remember of my previous boss who ask me to look into a way to set up a gateway so that the monitoring system can sent alerts for free via WhatsApp....

I was like, can do but for free, wait long long.... The API developers no need to eat ah?

project_00

I handed over and left my job more than 4 year already. I thought I handed over everything or at least 95% of it, but I still get queries about the business, code and infra when I meet up with my ex-colleagues

chaiscool

Remember of my previous boss who ask me to look into a way to set up a gateway so that the monitoring system can sent alerts for free via WhatsApp....

I was like, can do but for free, wait long long.... The API developers no need to eat ah?
If low volume think it’s possible though.

Jeremy1

No need to handover, don't know anything just ask your boss :grin:

He should be the master of everything :s13:

samloi

sometimes i think if i go liao then quite a few operations will gg.com.
ask them find backup they complain $$$ not enough. hint them for more money they ack blur.....

Taloona

Same here, nothing was handed over. He told me he didnt actually do anything for 2 years so nothing to hand over. I went around to check with ppl what he did daily, i was told he always not in office and claimed he WFH, ppl call him no answer, always not attending meeting, for 2 blardy years.

so, he was telling the truth.
Management sleeping? What is that person's role?

PCguy

I still got ex-colleague asked me on my project 5 years later after I left.

TheITGuy

Management sleeping? What is that person's role?
Mgmt did keep chasing him, even the customers expressed their concerns. This guy had been with the project since beginning so they tolerated him until really cannot liao. Other ppl have been tanking his jobs for him until beh tahan. In summary, everyone beh tahan then he knew it was the time to go

hachi

Did a word file with all the hyperlink to the shared drive for various projects and data....

zeozoe

My 3 most recent experiences with handover...

1. My department 2nd IC left while I was a new staff and the dept director (10+ yrs lao jiao) ask me to take over their duties. Basically no handover at all as the departing staff clear leave ~1-2 weeks after announcement. I just try my best and do, the dept director was okay but in dept meetings sometimes will kenna suan, "Don't you know xxx thing is done in a certain way" or "SOP has always been xxx, yyy" or "Good luck with your proposal, the other dept will never approve" etc. 1st year was quite tough.

2. I joined a role which is supposed to be done jointly by 2 staff as 1 staff (3 years exp) just tendered. There was a 20 mins call to "handover", where basically the resigning staff told us the rough duties, sent us a generic company SOP legal document (30+ pages of rules), and pointed us to a shared folder with 1000s of files. The other staff (1-2 years exp) was fairly new to the role too and basically just tell me to "chill and don't worry" when I ask him questions on how to do the role. I worked with this other guy for ~1 year, but never met him physically until he resigned and I complained to the dept director that there was no handover and this guy isn't even clearing the daily shared work. After learning the role myself for 6 months, I realized that this guy didn't care for the job at all and I had to remind him to do his work constantly. After both of them left, I realized that alot of the filing requirements were not met for many years, there had been high turnover in the role with ~5 departures in 8 years, outdated report formats were used etc. Kenna internal audit and the department was one of the worst performing and the audit department try and blame me and ask me to do remedial work for all the past years. I laughed at the audit guys and tell them that the information is all missing and they can report it to the CEO. Auditors insisted repeatedly that I had all the underlying decade of information and would need to compile everything within a month or face penalties. I laughed and asked the auditors to do it themselves since they know I know where the information is and they were 'most familiar' with the requirements,. In the end everyone in the audit department left lolz. By the time they recruited new audit staff, it was my turn to throw letter.

3. My department staff had resigned and my dept boss asked her to handover her duties to me. We sat down for about 1 hrs to chit chat. 20 mins was on actual work stuff like transferring files and answering my specific questions as I was quite familiar with the role already. 40 mins we just chat about random stuff. Got just enough info to bring the projects to completion and had to read ~100 pages of new materials to finish everything. Not too bad experience.

virtualape

I start preparing a handover list a month after I join the company. Add in and edit as I move along. It becomes a sop manual eventually.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.