Where is your favourite Briyani???

Kumar22

Have you tried the briyani sold at those industrial area - Tuas / Pandan ?

The "good" ones are better than everywhere in Singapore.
Pls don't ask me where is it, i dunno the exact address, someone tapao for me last time lol
No. Yes some industrial have good food because it's cheaper to rent.

An acquaintance's mom used to do so at various industrial canteens. Food was top notch, exactly like home food. Cheap and good portions too.

No use for a Name

i dont really eat any bryani but one of the best briyani i had was at Dubai.. there's no zhup or anything but the chicken is cooked along w the rice. not like sg, seperate one

waterdestiny

Bro, I have tried before. Once you taste their briyani, everywhere else you go you will be disappointed because none able to match this one.

ramlee

Generally I categorize briyani in 2 categories. Restaurant and normal hawker/coffeeshop/Indian Muslim eater.

Restaurant and I mean the really good Indian ones will generally have the better briyani. Best I ever had was from Rang Mahal. But that's pricey. A slightly less pricey would be Islamic Restaurant. That also quite good. But not all expensive and pricier restaurants have good briyani. You'll need to read reviews beforehand to know which cmi.

But for the average person - the second category - I find that if you see a Malay or more Malay leaning type of Indian Muslim (like our Halimah), they make the better ones. Like Rafi Ali's dad's one. Almost always all the Indian Muslim restaurants cmi. It's as you said, just coloured rice, and chicken or mutton curry put on top of it.

So this guy's one looks more like the ones the Malays would cook, really dum briyani. Actually the other way round, the Malays copied the Afghans, Banglas and Pakistani way and modified it a bit.
However that said, there is a difference between Bangla and Indian style as pointed out to me.
So it's something on my bucket list.
AJkfVhH.jpg

Boss, this one kym? :(

Kumar22

AJkfVhH.jpg

Boss, this one kym? :(
Alamak, how can you call me boss? You're the one with properties and shaking legs in Ozzie, you're the bossman!!:)

I guess it looks ok, how does it taste?
iirc the restaurants along Indian Race Course Road, they have prawn briyani but use the big tiger prawns.
I forget whether they actually peel the skin or not. Long time never eat.

Kumar22

VzOndDL.jpg

and served in a pot like this? :(
Ya some got serve in a pot, even a pot for 1. Usually these will taste better than normal ones.
But more expensive of course...
Do try Rafi Ali's dad's one at Tg Pagar (Blk 5 I think)
This has always been good from before at Railway station to current place.
Got standard one...

Oh ya, you still in Australia? Are these ones you bought in Ozzie or locally?

No use for a Name

that's mandi, not briyani. Got lamb and cheekon as well :(

rice-biryani-lamb-traditional-arab-dish-mandi-haneeth-madfoon-rice-biryani-lamb-traditional-arab-dish-mandi-haneeth-141291313.jpg

Can only find in Bedok Food Centre in Singapore :(
They told me it’s briyani
The one w the pot I had it too, is quite nice. But the metal plate nicer. The chicken was fall off the bone tender kind

ragtop

Ya some got serve in a pot, even a pot for 1. Usually these will taste better than normal ones.
But more expensive of course...
Do try Rafi Ali's dad's one at Tg Pagar (Blk 5 I think)
This has always been good from before at Railway station to current place.
Got standard one...

Oh ya, you still in Australia? Are these ones you bought in Ozzie or locally?

Moved to nearby shop at Hoe Chiang Rd already.

virtualape

Around 5.5- to 7 I think.

Chicken mutton and fish
articles says 150 servings..hmmm. easily $825 daily takings x 26 days = approx $21k.

less rental: $5k
utilities: $2k
ingredients: approx $400 (assuming average $2.50 per serving)
cleaning: $2k
total: $9.5k

nett: approx $11.5k. annual $138k. huat ah.

focus1974

https://mothership.sg/2021/06/briyani-47-hougang/

My friend went there yesterday, had to wait 1.4 hours to get his order. Long queue it seems.
Shop only opens around 3 hours for lunch.
I've been to this coffeeshop numerous times before. All the Indian Muslim stalls died a hasty death. But this one seems that it's gonna last a very long time.
Haven't tried yet and be the first time I've ever tried Bangla food

people are these daft.. to want to wait 1.4hours for food..

even 30mins i also hiam too long....
i just go to the next stall to buy

i always see under 5 person queue.. i go and buy

kumokumo

Biryani serve very fast 1 leh, just scoop and pack.
if queue 1.4 hrs how many million ppl queueing Sia...

dqwong

Tried Briyani 47 at Yishun. Long queue, waited almost one hour.

Although it was lower priced at $5.5 chicken+ 0.3 for plastic container.

I felt that they didn’t give enough meat portions as the meat was chopped up and not served as whole with bones. The curry is on the drier side, it smells nice but it’s that spicy at all.

The rice is okay but not as flavourful as those that has multicolor grains. It also didn’t have star anise.

I guess I am used to the more spicy and more heavy flavour of the other briyani. I don’t think I would go back to Briyani 47 again.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.