Where to tailor clothes =D

hst201

Well, it depends on what you are getting. If it is $250 at some of the mid range Mtm shops we see in Singapore, then I say not.

xinping

eh i got a pair of chinos. bought too big. waist big, thighs area big, lanpa area "lao lao" like china man lol.

is it possible to alter to my normal fitting size ah??

revolusionn

hi guys, this is my first time tailoring, so I tried calling in a few of the tailors recommended by you guys. I think Mr Frankie Ong (funny name) provides the best deal, maybe cos he can cut cost by operating from home. I just started working, so am not looking to spend too much.

But anyway, after meeting him I thought he was very willing to share alot of info with me (reg cloth & industry practices, apparently most tailor nowadays outsource their sewing to Batam island, but he does it himself with his wife) and was pretty direct to me about the price and how much more for each detail.

I tailored 2 shirt and a pants, and altered some of my older clothes. (Japan cotton $55/shirt with extra detail, polyester mixed pants $45, alteration is around $4/ piece). I think the workmanship is exceptional for such a cheap price. Next time I'm coming back for the Italian 2 ply cotton (he quoted $90) and bespoke blazaar ($250, but depends on cloth). Only downside is he is pretty hard to find in the Bishan area and he is very busy (apparently he has quite a following from the internet). I recommend making an appointment (Frankie Ong phone number 64568457, HP: 83117580).

Appreciate bro charlie for the heads-up. Called up Frankie after work and was glad that he agreed to fit me into his schedule on the same day.

The uncle was v friendly and it was a very informative session for me to find out more about the types of materials, pricing and cuttings etc cos i know nuts about tailoring.

My orders were as follows:

2-ply shirt $60 + Blazer $250 = Total $310

Quite pleased with the deal since its much cheaper than what i was quoted at other tailoring shops

Sinkie

For pants, what kind of material should we choose? What are the diff style / cuttings we can choose?

Sorry am a noob in all these.

Do you all prefer slim? Tapered or relax cut for biz pant??

NoTimeToWaitAr

Appreciate bro charlie for the heads-up. Called up Frankie after work and was glad that he agreed to fit me into his schedule on the same day.

The uncle was v friendly and it was a very informative session for me to find out more about the types of materials, pricing and cuttings etc cos i know nuts about tailoring.

Quite pleased with the deal since its much cheaper than what i was quoted at other tailoring shops

Hi there, did he told you how long it takes for him to complete your order? Cause I need a blazer soon, either tailor-made or buy off-the-shelf.
thanks

silverwing

hey guys, I have a pinstripe pants from g2000 (the stripes are barely noticeable), do I have to pair up with pinstripe blazer? And is the stripe have to be in the same weight?

ralfale

Do you all prefer slim? Tapered or relax cut for biz pant??

Hi

Nothing too loose for me. Need to look smart but definitely not slim cut. For office use. I'm already v slim so I think slim cut will make me look like a pole lol.

xRenol

Have to wait till you get your shirts to see how is the quality.

Boltstorm

hi guys, this is my first time tailoring, so I tried calling in a few of the tailors recommended by you guys. I think Mr Frankie Ong (funny name) provides the best deal, maybe cos he can cut cost by operating from home. I just started working, so am not looking to spend too much.

But anyway, after meeting him I thought he was very willing to share alot of info with me (reg cloth & industry practices, apparently most tailor nowadays outsource their sewing to Batam island, but he does it himself with his wife) and was pretty direct to me about the price and how much more for each detail.

I tailored 2 shirt and a pants, and altered some of my older clothes. (Japan cotton $55/shirt with extra detail, polyester mixed pants $45, alteration is around $4/ piece). I think the workmanship is exceptional for such a cheap price. Next time I'm coming back for the Italian 2 ply cotton (he quoted $90) and bespoke blazaar ($250, but depends on cloth). Only downside is he is pretty hard to find in the Bishan area and he is very busy (apparently he has quite a following from the internet). I recommend making an appointment (Frankie Ong phone number 64568457, HP: 83117580).

sounds gd.
can post some pics of the fit?

feecha_gal

Featured Merchant
hey guys, I have a pinstripe pants from g2000 (the stripes are barely noticeable), do I have to pair up with pinstripe blazer? And is the stripe have to be in the same weight?

The stripes definitely should be the same if you want to pair it up with a blazer, and also the cloth has to be the same material and colour! You can also wear the pants on its own with a plain blazer.

Boltstorm

you should buy a complete suit.
if you try and match ur own suit, it will look off and tacky

Charlie_TeoBKMD

sounds gd.
can post some pics of the fit?

hehe, I abit paiseh to post the pics la... My main problem is that I got abit of a beer belly (no thanks to my overly thirsty roommates in Uni), so most of the clothes I buy outside fits my shoulders but would show my "baby bump", or they would fit my belly but don't achieve the slim fitted look I wanted. I have hard time finding a slim fitted shirt that will fit my body without enhancing my certain "assets", so I decided to get my shirts tailored instead. Maybe next time when I slim down to my NS body, then I post my pic.

Overall I think I achieved the effect I wanted and well within my budget too. To xRenol, I think their quality is pretty good, not all budget place is bad lah. I ask my mother (who is in retail) to take a look, she say the material and stitching ok one. To me, the fit, comfortable material, and colour most important.

xRenol

hehe, I abit paiseh to post the pics la... My main problem is that I got abit of a beer belly (no thanks to my overly thirsty roommates in Uni), so most of the clothes I buy outside fits my shoulders but would show my "baby bump", or they would fit my belly but don't achieve the slim fitted look I wanted. I have hard time finding a slim fitted shirt that will fit my body without enhancing my certain "assets", so I decided to get my shirts tailored instead. Maybe next time when I slim down to my NS body, then I post my pic.

Overall I think I achieved the effect I wanted and well within my budget too. To xRenol, I think their quality is pretty good, not all budget place is bad lah. I ask my mother (who is in retail) to take a look, she say the material and stitching ok one. To me, the fit, comfortable material, and colour most important.

Sorry if I phrase my words wrongly, I am enquiring more about the type of material and fit.

Boltstorm

dude it's ok...we dun intend to admire your body, just check whether the fit is correct!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.