Where to tailor clothes =D

eyz

come to think of it, probably, i'm used to the pricing at Empire, where the double ply Egyptian cotton cost around 2500 baht. I do have a Thomas Mason shirt made by CYC,which cost around 180$.

Maybe I'll make 2 shirt with the lower range fabric and 1 piece with the higher range.

Thanks for giving a price comparison.

I think their prices seems attractive.

Eg.Thomas Mason fabric shirt cost 4000 bahts (SGD 160+) with MOP. Price fixed, unless you're oversized. Minimum u needa order 3 shirts.

KBKS charge $200, minimum 3 pieces. Dylan prolly charges $200+.

elisee1

Speaking of going thailand to make clothes, is it really that much better/affordable to do it overseas?

All in a Day

Speaking of going thailand to make clothes, is it really that much better/affordable to do it overseas?

Def cheaper in bkk but downside is the tight timeline (assume u go for a short hol) and therefore little margin for error/alterations and future alterations if needed

Carnage

It's a little sad knowing that one needs to have a special occasion or belonging to the upper caste to have a reason to "wear a jacket". We're talking about going out to gai gai, jalan jalan, walk walk on weekends for instance and not eating at hawker centers with your jacket on. Not hot meh eating in such stuffy environments?

The only valid argument to me for not doing that is the weather in Singapore. Otherwise why not? Again, just a cultural quirk of us Singaporeans. You don't see that happening in Tokyo. On the flip side, you get stares if you wear shorts and slippers there.

So are we underdressed or overdressed in other countries then?
I guess that's the difference between the people around me and others? (No it's not warm to me, not even close to stuffy)

Eating at food centres and coffee shops are deemed normal. We do eat at nice places where there's a formal dress code, but not to the extent that a tie is necessary, much less jackets. Yes, I don't wear shirts even when I go out.

Having said that, I do wish I have my jacket on days when my boss decides to surprise me with impromptu client meetings or when I need to do onsite deals on weekends (mentioned earlier).

I guess it's just against my policy of dressing smartly when I'm already in a monkey suit 40 hours a week. :(

All in a Day

I guess that's the difference between the people around me and others? (No it's not warm to me, not even close to stuffy)

Eating at food centres and coffee shops are deemed normal. We do eat at nice places where there's a formal dress code, but not to the extent that a tie is necessary, much less jackets. Yes, I don't wear shirts even when I go out.

Having said that, I do wish I have my jacket on days when my boss decides to surprise me with impromptu client meetings or when I need to do onsite deals on weekends (mentioned earlier).

I guess it's just against my policy of dressing smartly when I'm already in a monkey suit 40 hours a week. :(

U need a jacket in office for standby if it's important to u to be wearing one for client meetings.

If your boss keeps hauling u up for meetings regularly (even though w/o notice), then it may not be that "impromptu" afterall?

All in a Day

I have a shirt and tie dress code at work too and can't wait to take off the tie after office hours. Haha

PetiaC

I have a shirt and tie dress code at work too and can't wait to take off the tie after office hours. Haha

after work i like to unbutton the top button, loosen the tie and tuck in the tie into shirt around third button hole.

Carnage

U need a jacket in office for standby if it's important to u to be wearing one for client meetings.

If your boss keeps hauling u up for meetings regularly (even though w/o notice), then it may not be that "impromptu" afterall?
Yes, I have 1 to standby. But I think it's starting to show signs of being worn too often. (1 jacket in the last 3 years is too much.)

Need to haul my lazy ass to tailor another one at least. :(

All in a Day

Then must find a way to hold the tie. And no one can see it.

Erm mostly no.

Normally put my tie in the pants pocket or bag if I am carrying one. Not particular about the bulge and can accept the potential to wear and tear.

I know some people are particular about having to fold their ties and strictly wear on until they get home to hang the ties. Not sure if you are one of those.

Tucking in tie in shirt w/o an undershirt.. Erm ok...

All in a Day

On the topic of wearing jackets in Singapore.

Thought of doing a simple survey with the gentlemen here how many of you will be wearing a jacket/suit for your CNY visiting?

To start things off - my answer is "No"

FYI, I actually do find merit in wearing jacket for CNY visiting. It is handy for keeping the ang baos that u give/receive.

urbanturban

Thought of doing a simple survey with the gentlemen here how many of you will be wearing a jacket/suit for your CNY visiting?

FYI, I actually do find merit in wearing jacket for CNY visiting. It is handy for keeping the ang baos that u give/receive.

Good question. No for me.

Mystech13

So hot...... mai lar

RockstarBB

Sam Newman Tailor?

Hey, just wondering if anyone heard from Sam Khorana from Newman Tailor (bangkok), heard from a friend he's coming to Singapore soon to take orders?

anyone got any feedback/review?

Carnage

No. Simply because I don't have 1 suitable. The chilly weather is making me regret this though. :(

PetiaC

Not when visiting but when going out drinking in the evenings. This year weather so nice to wear a jacket, dun waste it.

RTPJRTPJ

Instead of a cardigan or a hoodie, I will always bring along my linen jacket as I easily get cold in shopping centers and in the movies haha.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.