Which Direction Will Property Prices Go ?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

drkcynic

Whilst property may seem like a sure bet to park your money, it is often because owners don't explore other options.
Remember to add all kinds of costs and see if other options can deliver 2.5% and higher.
Otherwise even CPF will give you that.

Say your nett rental yield for a 1m property is 2.5%, it is 25k a year though, which you only need 250k cash/cpf + a housing loan to secure. Slightly more risk because you have a loan to service and all the considerations that comes with being a landlord.

Meanwhile CPF returns is only off 250k of CPF monies, returns is signficantly lower and of course CPF is subjected to government flip flops.

Thanooors

Seems like the moderator are not keen when people buy property for investment.

The market have no ears. Posting rubbish here no tangible effect on property prices.

Just make you feel shiok shiok =:p

Whatiff

Say your nett rental yield for a 1m property is 2.5%, it is 25k a year though, which you only need 250k cash/cpf + a housing loan to secure. Slightly more risk because you have a loan to service and all the considerations that comes with being a landlord.

Meanwhile CPF returns is only off 250k of CPF monies, returns is signficantly lower and of course CPF is subjected to government flip flops.

Hello there, please educate me here. Is the 2.5% interest on CPF OA only up to the first 250k? Any cap on the 4% earned in SA?

surferpunk

Hello there, please educate me here. Is the 2.5% interest on CPF OA only up to the first 250k? Any cap on the 4% earned in SA?

lol.. he's just using the $250k as the outlay for either investment.

250k to buy a 1m property. rental yield of 2.5% is about 25k. so it's 25k out of 250k, brings about 10%!

but if park in cpf, that 250k will only bring about 2.5%.

Afro69

lol.. he's just using the $250k as the outlay for either investment.

250k to buy a 1m property. rental yield of 2.5% is about 25k. so it's 25k out of 250k, brings about 10%!

but if park in cpf, that 250k will only bring about 2.5%.
Don't forget If one uses CPF 250k, need to pay back sum+compunded interest for the period too, so it's not a 10% so simple.

jackycar

So funny,still got people dreaming thinking property price will drop.

U know hdb resale price is moving up?

U know enbloc owners looking to buy houses to replace the homes?

U know the effect of low interest rates?

Perhaps in your dream then prices will drop.
Already 20 years still got so many people dreaming. Wake up, dont ask obvious qns.

Must be salty agent

drkcynic

Don't forget If one uses CPF 250k, need to pay back sum+compunded interest for the period too, so it's not a 10% so simple.

You don't have to pay it back until you sell your unit. Even when you do, it just gets added back to your OA for your next property purchase, or for your retirement.

bolster

You don't have to pay it back until you sell your unit. Even when you do, it just gets added back to your OA for your next property purchase, or for your retirement.

If you sell your house after 55 yrs old, do you still need to pay back if a person already has minimum sum?

1993newbie

Shoebox apartment market down on recession shakeout

5JlVUnp.jpg

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/real-estate/shoebox-apartment-market-down-on-recession-shakeout

SG is progressing well going up
flat price will sure go up

when a country dying down then everything will down spiral:s8::s8: don't need to ask

petetherock

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...erest-buying-property-car-bank-loans-13162720

Low interests will drive the excitement..
And most people can't find other instruments of investment easily..
Plus the people grabbing the units out there feel that the current crisis doesn't affect them.
And true enough, there are quite a few with deeper pockets and stable jobs.
The job attrition will hit 10-25% but that leaves a lot more people with money and they like property.

d5dude

Actually I agree with petetherock. Long term (10 years) quite likely to be up but short term don’t know. The trick is to invest for long term. It is also extremely important to find “good” tenants and property agents. Property is an over leverage segment. Government don’t want it to fail because it will affect their beloved banks. If property is like stock market (less leverage), government don’t really care. If investor die, then their problem

One can also easily make the argument that gov dun want property prices to skyrocket, so any upside will be capped, stocks OTOH, have no cap to upside.

I think regardless of short term or long term the days of big gains from property is long gone, the biggest increase in population was from early 2000s to mid 2010s, with the pandemic and rising anger over foreigners its hard to see such population spikes again. In fact I dun think the population will even be anywhere near 6.9m by 2030.

Property prices will likely continue to move sideways like its been for the last few years, this is my base case scenario, its predicated on the assumption that the pandemic will be going away soon (with a vaccine), things are a lot more grim if the pandemic stays with us for 5 or more years.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.