Which MBA?

Kyoji83

Must be over supply of Bachelor & Master Degree graduate in the market that employer have the bargaining power to demand Master degree graduate to do Bachelor Degree graduate position.

If this still go on, next time you see almost all Singaporean are doctorate degree graduate holding Diploma or Bachelor Degree graduate position.

Singapore will be the most highest educated country (with high unemployment rate) but citizen will hold lower position then their qualification with lowest salary compare to the 1st & 2nd class counties in the world.

lately, keep seeing jobs that prefers MBA students ley
knn

sg_r1_newbie

Choosing MBAs are a tricky business. You need to be very clear on what your objectives and constraints are. Some people look at costs, GMAT scores, rankings or the opportunities.

For INSEAD, it's the people that you are rubbing shoulders with that will open the doors for you. Very few people can afford to pay the $100k school fees so you know you are with the "elite".

The top schools have very good connections with the corporate world and that helps to provide job or internships opportunities with the best companies around.

Lastly, rankings (or brand) are important because at the end of the day you will graduate with an MBA. It's the name of the school that sets you apart from the rest of the candidates.

Just my 2 cents worth :)

Kyoji83

Just to add in reminder.

When you want to rub your classmates shoulder, they also want to rub your shoulder.

If you have nothing to offer, you will be on your own.

Choosing MBAs are a tricky business. You need to be very clear on what your objectives and constraints are. Some people look at costs, GMAT scores, rankings or the opportunities.

For INSEAD, it's the people that you are rubbing shoulders with that will open the doors for you. Very few people can afford to pay the $100k school fees so you know you are with the "elite".

The top schools have very good connections with the corporate world and that helps to provide job or internships opportunities with the best companies around.

Lastly, rankings (or brand) are important because at the end of the day you will graduate with an MBA. It's the name of the school that sets you apart from the rest of the candidates.

Just my 2 cents worth :)

meyappan

Invitation to Strathclyde MBA Information Session

STRATHCLYDE MBA - NOW 87 IN FT GLOBAL MBA RANKINGS

Date: Tue 26 Feb 2013
Time : 7.15pm
Venue : YMCA, One Orchard Road, Level 2

Speaker : Dr. Katerina Nicolopoulou (Strathclyde Business School)

To register, please contact Sean Tan at seantan@ymca.edu.sg or call 6586 2378/79. Strathclyde | YMCA

little_prince

haha,u also frm Pratt ar? seems everi1 also do MBA with ESP de lah. they say if dun meet min grade need to pay back the module $$ rite? is this true? Knw of anyone tat tio b4?

so far never hear before leh.

haiz... pratt business really sibei jialat... after i hear dave hess i sianz 1/2 liaoz...

time to start job hunting...

klip234

I think Part time :
1) NUS -- world reknowned.
2) SMU -- upcoming and location
3) NTU -- very good MFE program but not sure about MBA, yet to become a global brand

GSB by the way I just learnt is 200K part time. I might as well invest in a house it has better ROI.

True value of MBA = tools you learn + Networking (Nothing else).

syeechee

I think Part time :
3) NTU -- very good MFE program but not sure about MBA, yet to become a global brand

GSB by the way I just learnt is 200K part time. I might as well invest in a house it has better ROI.

Here is the latest ranking from the well-known Financial Times:

http://rankings.ft.com/businessschoolrankings/global-mba-ranking-2013

NTU has a better ranking than NUS in terms of MBA programme in Singapore (2013).

klip234

Rankings will be rankings. :) You have to take them with a pinch of salt. I don't think any of the rankings have the same basis. All have different basis and different people giving funds to push their agenda through rankings.

Note: Rankings are a key way to get more applications($$) for University.

Between NUS and NTU, I frankly think there is no difference. But somehow the reach of NUS brand name is more Singapore industry and Abroad.

When you say you studied in Singapore: The immediate reaction is University of Singapore? Then you say no, Nanyang Technological University then they are like OK, I haven't heard of that. Maybe a change of name will help NTU? I don't know. Singapore Technological University :)

In MBA especially which is probably going to be your last degree, the name of your last university matters a lot!
I tend to think when you are networking, brand name matters! Within Singapore I don't think there is a problem at all but when you network outside of Singapore it maybe more helpful to be a NUS grad than a NTU grad.

syeechee

I agree to some extent. Ranking doesn't represent everything.

Maybe NTU should change its name to STU for even better recognition :). Hahaha.

shadow82

so far never hear before leh.

haiz... pratt business really sibei jialat... after i hear dave hess i sianz 1/2 liaoz...

time to start job hunting...
haha, he give those politically correct ans rite? In terms of marketing and branding, i tink Pratt is far cry away from GE & Rolls Royce lor. I hear aredi also sian. I need to study finish MBA then can run leh. haha.

veefounder

I think Part time :

but GSB gives u contacts from the heart of the business itself though

ludwigvb

Hi there,

To rank an MBA, i like to base my opinion on facts

1. What MBA do top management consultancy recruit from? to find out, go to McKinsey & Company, Bain & Company, BCG websites

2. What business schools do investment banks recruit from?

3. What MBA in Singapore has students coming from top universities such as american ivy league, NUS, Tokyo university, Seoul National University etc etc?

Best regards

greddy88

folks, my first degree was done only for 1 year with poly advanced standing.
i'm now in middle management. partly hardwork, partly opportunity.

i'm exploring to obtain a mba, just in case another job opportunity comes along, which requires one.
imo, different products cater for different requirements.
so..i think i am probably going to get bashed for asking this... but anyway, here goes..

which mba is easier on an individual in terms of workload/time required to spend on the programme? ie. not that siong type.

i don't really care whether it is tier 1 insead type of quality, but at least should be decent (not from some fake uni), and easier on the pockets? :s22:

briefly, my profile..
early 40s
mnc, middle management manage a direct local team of 8 and overseas team of around 50

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.