Which MBA?

dareaper

folks, my first degree was done only for 1 year with poly advanced standing.
i'm now in middle management. partly hardwork, partly opportunity.

i'm exploring to obtain a mba, just in case another job opportunity comes along, which requires one.
imo, different products cater for different requirements.
so..i think i am probably going to get bashed for asking this... but anyway, here goes..

which mba is easier on an individual in terms of workload/time required to spend on the programme? ie. not that siong type.

i don't really care whether it is tier 1 insead type of quality, but at least should be decent (not from some fake uni), and easier on the pockets? :s22:

briefly, my profile..
early 40s
mnc, middle management manage a direct local team of 8 and overseas team of around 50

Not too sure what's easier on the pockets for you since there's no hard numbers, but i think Manchester Business School is pretty good in terms of general reputation. Not at the level of Insead, but still decent. 3 years for part-time MBA, though you have the option to take up to 5 years to finish it, hence spreading out the workload.

jona12

folks, my first degree was done only for 1 year with poly advanced standing.
i'm now in middle management. partly hardwork, partly opportunity.

i'm exploring to obtain a mba, just in case another job opportunity comes along, which requires one.
imo, different products cater for different requirements.
so..i think i am probably going to get bashed for asking this... but anyway, here goes..

which mba is easier on an individual in terms of workload/time required to spend on the programme? ie. not that siong type.

i don't really care whether it is tier 1 insead type of quality, but at least should be decent (not from some fake uni), and easier on the pockets? :s22:

briefly, my profile..
early 40s
mnc, middle management manage a direct local team of 8 and overseas team of around 50

You can look at S P Jain Global MBA looks comprehensive and different specialisation.

staroidz

NTU/SMU MBA

Hi

Does anyone knows whats the MBA intake size for these 2 school? is it easy to get in?

little_prince

haha, he give those politically correct ans rite? In terms of marketing and branding, i tink Pratt is far cry away from GE & Rolls Royce lor. I hear aredi also sian. I need to study finish MBA then can run leh. haha.

yalor. whole aviation in general is in trouble.

GE also same **** lah. i was from geaso.

anyway i just tendered. going off to a better place next month.... lol

sure99

Agree. And many people don't mind paying $20k-$40K to buy a piece of false hope. And the private school providers know how to be opportunistic in this. Please don't be another sucker....

The employment requirement in order to move up to higher position in your current or/and prospective organization or to become a lecturer in private school.

Apart from that a MBA in Sg mostly is a waste of time & false hope for ROI market by Uni & Pte Sch.

shadow82

yalor. whole aviation in general is in trouble.

GE also same **** lah. i was from geaso.

anyway i just tendered. going off to a better place next month.... lol
wah throw le ar? so envious. GE also not doing well meh? my fren inside nw leh. seems ok according to her. I tink only Rolls is doing well.haha. gd luck with ur new job bro.

shadow82

Hi

Does anyone knows whats the MBA intake size for these 2 school? is it easy to get in?
Local uni all need GMAT ba. UK uni dun need GMAT. so u might want to factor tat into consideration if GMAT poses a prob to u. Not sure abt NTU but SMU MBA de interview seems quite fierce de judging frm wat i heard frm my fren. So wun be easy to get in ba. Anyway, generally speaking lall ocal uni MBAs confirm wun be easy de cos all veri content heavy de. I tink the SMU MBA die die need to complete in 18mths? Tats wat i heard, u should verify tat urself ba. NTU NBS is veri strong in Asia & the world de. Its quite high up in FT rankings. IMHO, u need to suffer b4 u can reali learn anything de ba. Nothing is free in this world.

However, I do agree that MBA is overrated like wat some folks r saying here. If ur cohort dun haf big shots to network then the pt of a MBA is greatly reduced. depends on luck de lor this sort of tink. Think properly b4 u commit ba.

little_prince

wah throw le ar? so envious. GE also not doing well meh? my fren inside nw leh. seems ok according to her. I tink only Rolls is doing well.haha. gd luck with ur new job bro.

heard my ex geaso colleagues complaining. not sure if really so jialat.

pratt business is really in the dumps. anyway, i figured, even if i stay, it'll be at least 5 yrs before i got chance to hit manager grade. new offer is a big step up for me.

i guess this whole restructuring thing at IAT/CAS is a blessing in disguise for me....

greddy88

According to rankings, ah neh schools are ranked high in Asia. Asia Business Schools

i suppose the students will be mostly indians?
one problem i noticed..or at least in my company, when 2 or more come together, they will tend to speak their language, eg. hindi, despite other non-speakers around.
you'll have to tune their frequency back to international language.

very tiring if you need to constantly tune them back, especially if these guys are in your team.

jona12

i suppose the students will be mostly indians?
one problem i noticed..or at least in my company, when 2 or more come together, they will tend to speak their language, eg. hindi, despite other non-speakers around.
you'll have to tune their frequency back to international language.

very tiring if you need to constantly tune them back, especially if these guys are in your team.

Haha ... I guess it will depends on where the school is located. Therefore, more of the students would be of that race. I think business school would tend to have a diverse mix of student so that you can learn from different culture and management styles.

synapse

Agree. And many people don't mind paying $20k-$40K to buy a piece of false hope. And the private school providers know how to be opportunistic in this. Please don't be another sucker....

so having an MBA in SG does not help in career advancement or better job opportunities?

greddy88

imo some people say till so elite such that no ivy league no talk.

but realistically...how is it possible for peasants..

yes.. it will be good to hear from those who took more 'on the ground' B grade mba and benefit their career and knowledge from it.

Xiaosa1

If you are someone who wants to immediately get offered a good job upon people seeing your MBA Degree. I will say an ivy league is the way to go.

I came from an Australian Uni MBA Done in Singapore. For all MBA aspirants who are looking at this direction. The important thing is to use the knowledge gained during the studies to gain a better job or move up in your current employment.

After spending 2 years in an MBA Degree doing assignments/market reports and group presentations, one should have grown as a working professional and see things in a different light. If there is no growth in character after the degree, probably the MBA journey is wasted.

Yes, some people may think its using 20k - 40k to buy false hope. I do agree if you expect people to immediately offer you a job or get ahead in interviews when people see your degree, then perhaps your mindset should change.

Of course, there are people who spend 20-40k to go Europe and buy shoes and bags or buy half a paper for a new vehicle.

Getting senior level jobs is based on personal character and attitude together with other skills like communication, presentation etc. The MBA journey should hone the candidate and the candidate should develop his/hers career principles, ethics and attitudes. At more senior careers, these principles matters to the company.

At more junior levels, probably the company will see if your skill sets match the job scope. At more senior level, your attitude, work principles and ethics matter more.

I wont say my Australian Uni is anything fancy. Just GO8. But using the things I learned and developed during the journey, my annual income had improved 3X ever since I completed the degree in 2005.

Just my personal opinion..

greddy88

thanks xiaosa for your comment.

i have seen some job openings with comments like mba preferred or advantageous.

of course, if some insead guy also applied that job, his chances will be higher than a b-grade one.
but if there is not b or even c grade mba, the resume will go straight into the trash bin no matter how good i am.

imo it opens doors, but yes, it don't guarantee.
i don't have one..but am still considering which one to get.

just wanna hear more comments.. i'm limited with budget and time..not young anymore..:o

chottohen

Hi

SMU has 94 students (part time and full time).

NUS, NTU, SMU all about GPA and GMAT scores. I had a GMAT of 7xx and all 3 schools kept chasing me to apply. Good work experience is important but secondary if you have good scores.

Edit: Was accepted to all 3 schools.

lee_tired_sheep

SMU has 94 students (part time and full time).

NUS, NTU, SMU all about GPA and GMAT scores. I had a GMAT of 7xx and all 3 schools kept chasing me to apply. Good work experience is important but secondary if you have good scores.

Edit: Was accepted to all 3 schools.

any reason you didnt apply to insead?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.