Which MBA?

Kyoji83

Hi All

I am considering between Bradford and Strathclyde MBA and have a hard time choosing between. I come from a engineering/sales background and finance is tradational area.

Strathclyde seems to be good but I am not sure if the lecturer actually teach as I am not very good in hardcore finance related are. t there any one who has is taking Bradford or Sttathclyde MBA and can adivse me on that?

What about the assignment/ exams? Which is easier?

Thanks.

I do not know about Bradford MBA but my bad comments for part time MDIS-Bradford BSc, AdvDipBM, DipBM lecturers are:

They lecture like they are rushing for time & they will over look importance topics that will appear in the exam paper.

Some keep making mistakes until my classmates keep correcting them.

Since my part time MDIS DipBM to AdvDipBM modules, sure will students fail their paper & this make me wonder if they have quota to fail students?

braduate

I do not know about Bradford MBA but my bad comments for part time MDIS-Bradford BSc, AdvDipBM, DipBM lecturers are:

They lecture like they are rushing for time & they will over look importance topics that will appear in the exam paper.

Some keep making mistakes until my classmates keep correcting them.

Since my part time MDIS DipBM to AdvDipBM modules, sure will students fail their paper & this make me wonder if they have quota to fail students?

wah, think the standards really dropped after i graduated. during my time, i seriously never encountered what you've said. in fact some of these lecturers even did the following

Mr Krishna Rajulu
- arranged for 2 EXTRA SUNDAY CLASSES (9AM to 5PM) few weeks before exams. Even met me day after my last 8th term exam to discuss with me about my final term (term 9)

Dr Danial Theyagu
- spent a whole lesson giving us a motivational talk on how to approach the 3yr course, and they've served me well through-out my 3yrs.

Mr Das Gupta
- his focus areas are always THE WHOLE BOOK. And one of his fave quotes are: "is it important? is it important? NO!! It is VERY important!! and then Exams of course never come out, but he make you understand the areas so well, it served as a foundation for you to apply during the exams.

Mr Manek
- would go thru with you on all the FOA1/2, and EVERY CLASS, he will write from the left to the right side of the LONG whiteboard at least 5 or 6 times, covering each and every step of the entries. he dont feel tired, all the students were at some point begging sliently for him to stop already. but when the results came out, i think nobody complaint. aha

Mr Sam Swee Chee
- he will really screw you side-ways if you mess up your strategic assignment

all of the above, their classes more often then not end very near to 10pm. and i never felt they were rushing through the topics. Infact, many of them told us, we will need to read the whole book and tons of journels, internet, newspapers, and supp textbooks.

and more very good lecturers: Ms Emily Chua, Mr Lim Kiam Soon, Mr Frankie Lim, Mr Fabian Lim, Mr Kadir

i think if you kana all the above names, your experience should be quite good.

Kyoji83

Bro, I never kena even 1 of the good lecturers that you have name out, sad =~

I should have study DipBM after my NS & I may turn up to be your classmate & have those good lecturers instead of wasting my time on part time H.NITEC ECE & DipEEE.

Haiz~~

wah, think the standards really dropped after i graduated. during my time, i seriously never encountered what you've said. in fact some of these lecturers even did the following

Mr Krishna Rajulu
- arranged for 2 EXTRA SUNDAY CLASSES (9AM to 5PM) few weeks before exams. Even met me day after my last 8th term exam to discuss with me about my final term (term 9)

Dr Danial Theyagu
- spent a whole lesson giving us a motivational talk on how to approach the 3yr course, and they've served me well through-out my 3yrs.

Mr Das Gupta
- his focus areas are always THE WHOLE BOOK. And one of his fave quotes are: "is it important? is it important? NO!! It is VERY important!! and then Exams of course never come out, but he make you understand the areas so well, it served as a foundation for you to apply during the exams.

Mr Manek
- would go thru with you on all the FOA1/2, and EVERY CLASS, he will write from the left to the right side of the LONG whiteboard at least 5 or 6 times, covering each and every step of the entries. he dont feel tired, all the students were at some point begging sliently for him to stop already. but when the results came out, i think nobody complaint. aha

Mr Sam Swee Chee
- he will really screw you side-ways if you mess up your strategic assignment

all of the above, their classes more often then not end very near to 10pm. and i never felt they were rushing through the topics. Infact, many of them told us, we will need to read the whole book and tons of journels, internet, newspapers, and supp textbooks.

and more very good lecturers: Ms Emily Chua, Mr Lim Kiam Soon, Mr Frankie Lim, Mr Fabian Lim, Mr Kadir

i think if you kana all the above names, your experience should be quite good.

braduate

wah in that case alot of the lecturers left?

i know Mr Krishna Rajulu left.

I still see Dr Danial Theyagu, Mr Lim Kiam Soon and Mr Manek and Mr Kadir around. The last time i saw Mr Das Gupta his hair all white already. I tio him twice, i remembered he look very old sudd when i was in year 3. like alot of white hair.

Here what they taught me:

Mr Krishna Rajulu
- International Business
- Global Business Environment

Mr Das Gupta
- FOA 2
- Corporate Governance

Dr Danial Theyagu
- Business Law

Mr Manek
- FOA 1

Mr Kadir
- Financial Management

Ms Emily Chua
- Marketing Management Strategy

Mr Sam Swee Chee
- Understanding Strategic Management
- Applied Strategic Management

Mr Lim Kiam Soon
- Cost Accounting

Kyoji83

In this case, do not know if I should apply for BSc Aug09 intake or take a break & apply for Jan10 intake?

To tell you the true, I have given up abit hope on MDIS.

wah in that case alot of the lecturers left?

i know Mr Krishna Rajulu left.

I still see Dr Danial Theyagu, Mr Lim Kiam Soon and Mr Manek and Mr Kadir around. The last time i saw Mr Das Gupta his hair all white already. I tio him twice, i remembered he look very old sudd when i was in year 3. like alot of white hair.

Here what they taught me:

Mr Krishna Rajulu
- International Business
- Global Business Environment

Mr Das Gupta
- FOA 2
- Corporate Governance

Dr Danial Theyagu
- Business Law

Mr Manek
- FOA 1

Mr Kadir
- Financial Management

Ms Emily Chua
- Marketing Management Strategy

Mr Sam Swee Chee
- Understanding Strategic Management
- Applied Strategic Management

Mr Lim Kiam Soon
- Cost Accounting

jl6250

MDIS so bad mah???

What about Strathclyde MBA lecturer at YMCA? Any idea of the quality of lecturer? Do they teach the important concepts or basically expect you to mug the notes and is discussion all the way???

Thanks for advise :)

ahkiat07

Ha, I went for the preview of MDIS/Bradford and I am super turn off coz the person seems to be a salesman for MDIS and do not know more than anyone in the group he is talking to ba... I left in <10minutes (was waiting for him to stop)

Anyway, would like to know how is Strathclyde doing too after the shift to YMCA... Heard a lot of poor support initially? I hope it is doing fine now

braduate

In this case, do not know if I should apply for BSc Aug09 intake or take a break & apply for Jan10 intake?

To tell you the true, I have given up abit hope on MDIS.

bro,

then maybe try other courses lor.

alot of choices lah, keep your options open

vesfreq

Mr Manek

I think this chap teaches another accounting programme. His rings a bell. To be honest, its the lecturer's commitment to the job and the students. It has to go both ways.

My management lecturer was really good and still teaching. Official teaching hours 7 to 10pm. He would ask everyone come in at 6.30 and end only at 10pm. He is like 50 something. V dedicated. James Kwan (from SAA) is another v dedicated one. The thought of his name reminds me of his lecture .... TOMEs. :s13:

My viewpoint about pte education is that you need a school which is supportive of their lecturers' work. Behind the lecturing scene is the untold amount of work and toil. I think the real acid test about lecturers' competence is when you are tasked with an actual piece of assignment at work. If you are not even able to apply what you learnt, your time is truly wasted.

A bit OOT, we should view the process of pursuing further education as one of knowledge acquisition. For with greater knowledge, one acquired greater ability to do more.

vesfreq

MDIS so bad mah???

What about Strathclyde MBA lecturer at YMCA? Any idea of the quality of lecturer? Do they teach the important concepts or basically expect you to mug the notes and is discussion all the way???

Thanks for advise :)

You ought to call up Sean at YMCA. He is very helpful. Last I spoke with him, I heard (if I'm not wrong) that there are compulsory workshops and tutorials. Emphasis more on the students to do self-study and read up.

First year is more intensive on exams, if I ve not remembered wrongly. Its quite good value for money. If ever given another choice to choose, I may have chosen strathclyde. Otherwise, Birmingham at AEC is a worthwhile consideration I heard. Boss was full of praises about Birmingham and HWZ comments have been positive, I think.

Kyoji83

Really must see which lecturer.

Some lecturer ask you to use point form for exams because it is a Information Systems module & it is more on technical than theory based unlike other business modules.

I happen to know some of them & they use point form for adv.dip exam & fail.

One of them appeal but it is unsuccessful.

That guy is feel cheated because the guy have qualification which is able to get exemption for degree 1st year Information systems module but just because the lecturer ask him to use point form while the marker who is the lecturer mark in essay form standard.

I think this chap teaches another accounting programme. His rings a bell. To be honest, its the lecturer's commitment to the job and the students. It has to go both ways.

My management lecturer was really good and still teaching. Official teaching hours 7 to 10pm. He would ask everyone come in at 6.30 and end only at 10pm. He is like 50 something. V dedicated. James Kwan (from SAA) is another v dedicated one. The thought of his name reminds me of his lecture .... TOMEs. :s13:

My viewpoint about pte education is that you need a school which is supportive of their lecturers' work. Behind the lecturing scene is the untold amount of work and toil. I think the real acid test about lecturers' competence is when you are tasked with an actual piece of assignment at work. If you are not even able to apply what you learnt, your time is truly wasted.

A bit OOT, we should view the process of pursuing further education as one of knowledge acquisition. For with greater knowledge, one acquired greater ability to do more.

vesfreq

Just to highlight.... Not sure if I had miscommunicated this point across about manchester mba. Apparently, some folks thought that I lamented manchester as being bad. Please read carefully. I only mentioned that it was expensive.... I didn't imply that it was bad in any way.

I would choose strath on the basis of pricing. But, it wouldn't imply anything about which uni is better or worse...... Thats all. Please read..... :yawn:

spitboy

anyone considering the lancaster one?
between strathclyde and lancaster, there's really not much to choose between..

Biogentic

Just to highlight.... Not sure if I had miscommunicated this point across about manchester mba. Apparently, some folks thought that I lamented manchester as being bad. Please read carefully. I only mentioned that it was expensive.... I didn't imply that it was bad in any way.

I would choose strath on the basis of pricing. But, it wouldn't imply anything about which uni is better or worse...... Thats all. Please read..... :yawn:

hi vesfreg may i know which mba program you enrolled into it successfully... can share with me the years of experience you have? i am interested for reference, since you hold similar qualification as me, thanks so much!

cmycmgj

Hi seniors,

Any seniors here graduated with MBA from University of Strathclyde?

I have just gotta a place in University of Strathclyde MBA commencing in Oct 2009 :)
It has been 4 years since I last touch textbooks so not too sure if I can manage to finish the course :( Curriculum has changed to put more emphasis on final year project.
Any advice for newbies?

Majolica

Hi seniors,

Any seniors here graduated with MBA from University of Strathclyde?

I have just gotta a place in University of Strathclyde MBA commencing in Oct 2009 :)
It has been 4 years since I last touch textbooks so not too sure if I can manage to finish the course :( Curriculum has changed to put more emphasis on final year project.
Any advice for newbies?

I haven't touched textbooks for 8 years, but i still manage to pass cfa level 1 in dec.
Going to commence my mba studies soon. Patience and persistence pay off.

Majolica

Manchester Vs Nanyang MBA

Anyone doing manchester or nanyang mba? What are their student profile?
Why did you choose one over the other? I am torn between them.

Appreciate any good advice.

cmycmgj

Hii majolica,

Is student profile the only criteria is your selection of MBA?
Price - NTU
Recognition local - NTU on par with Manchester (less govt/stat sectors)
Recognition overseas - Manchester
Accredition - Manchester
Duration - NTU (2 years) vs Manchester (2.5 years)
FT ranking - Manchester for consistency

IMHO, Manchester ranks among the top in 2nd tier MBAs (Strathclyde, NTU, NUS and maybe SMU?) in Sg. 1st tier = CBS and Insead

Majolica

Hii majolica,

Is student profile the only criteria is your selection of MBA?
Price - NTU
Recognition local - NTU on par with Manchester (less govt/stat sectors)
Recognition overseas - Manchester
Accredition - Manchester
Duration - NTU (2 years) vs Manchester (2.5 years)
FT ranking - Manchester for consistency

IMHO, Manchester ranks among the top in 2nd tier MBAs (Strathclyde, NTU, NUS and maybe SMU?) in Sg. 1st tier = CBS and Insead

thanks for your advice. I will be under scholarship which SPRING will bear part of the cost and my employer will bear the remaining cost. Hence cost is not an issue. Both NTU and Manchester are the approved programmes, besides SMU, Unisim and NUS.

I did my research and both NTU and Manchester have better ranking than the others. SMU and Unisim relatively unknown overseas. NUS is not even ranked.

I am a finance manager with a local firm. The company intends to groom me to be the next successor take charge of their overseas expansion. Main concern is not just the knowledge but the networking opportunities the programme can bring .My long term vision is to expand my horizon and of course i really hope to use cutting edge knowledge learned from the programme to translate into profits for my company.

Dilemma arises cos my boss is rather myopic . As a typical chinese boss sadly speaking, he only knows nus and ntu and he feels a NTU MBA will give the firm more mileage since NTU is our national university. But I beg to differ as an overseas degree might be more useful for our overseas expansion.

I am fine with both curriculum as mba almost teach the same stuff. I am concerned about the opportunities it will bring for me and my company. Hence student profile is very important to me as being in a local firm for many years, I am restrictive in my thinking and I hope to overcome that in the mba course, through interacting with others.

Anyone doing manchester or ntu can advise?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.