Who else is hoping for a jia lak recession with the 1997 kind of scale to come soon?

Kain999

Global no cos heavily invested.
But if contained within SG, yes, dun mind suffering some losses to see karma.

swenson

Sinkapore is one of the more unique economy in that as long as one strive hard, one can make it, regardless of race or religion, unlike some neighbours where if you are not of a certain race, even if you are a natural citizen, opportunities are limited.

Covid was an extraordinary case where the govt introduced support schemes to assist involuntarily unemployed workers and financial support of a few thousands $$ per month to jobseekers and bosses alike to keep them surviving/afloat.
This is a major policy shift for sinkapore, whom have all along do not subscribe to unemployment benefits, unlike some welfare states. However, it has created the common thinking nationwide that when the going gets tough, the govt will help to get the tough going with $$ handouts.
Logically this is not sustainable for us, a country without natural resources where $$ can come FOC from the ground like oil, farmland, mineral deposits etc, unfortunately the spending have to come from somewhere ==> corporate/personal taxes, GST, COE, land duties etc :cry::cry::cry:

tamago_

you got clobbered 97?
Nope, but I lived through it as a primary school student. I go out alone since kindergarten taking buses and MRT, I read newspapers everyday at that age and I was able to observe what happened out there. And I attended WP’s rally for Cheng San GRC as a primary school kid too, looking at JBJ from the front row? :o

HushiePuppies

Got difference meh

When no recession: Cannot afford HDB

When recession: Also cannot afford HDB

When no recession: Poor people cannot afford fish in cai png.

When recession: Rich people cannot afford fish in cai png.

nyvrem

Wah I hope recession hits oz

Make the housing market crash

:crazy:

nachtsid.er

97 one is not just one event. once recovery comes then hit by 2000 dot com burst then again 911 in 2001 followed by 2003 sars. i think many people nowadays cannot tahan 7 years of slow growth or downturn continuously.
that period was also the lowest hdb prices for bto and sales of balance flats

tamago_

97 one is not just one event. once recovery comes then hit by 2000 dot com burst then again 911 in 2001 followed by 2003 sars. i think many people nowadays cannot tahan 7 years of slow growth or downturn continuously.
Agreed. Imagine the East Asian economies were flying for a decade before the 1997 crash, and students who grew up in that swinging 90’s expecting a better life ahead, only to start their working life during this lull period with lower starting salaries, which has impacted them throughout their career (as it was harder to climb the salary ladder). NUS grads were only getting $2k+ or so, as there were not many good jobs to go around.

Many continued to resent the Government to this date for not helping them, which I feel is totally reflected in the voting patterns for Sengkang GRC.

But what to do? With every recession being very different, the Govt can only learn and improvise. It was so hard to predict what form would the next recession come in.

jericho75

Agreed. Imagine the East Asian economies were flying for a decade before the 1997 crash, and students who grew up in that swinging 90’s expecting a better life ahead, only to start their working life during this lull period with lower starting salaries, which has impacted them throughout their career (as it was harder to climb the salary ladder). Many continued to resent the Government to this date for not helping them, which I feel is totally reflected in the voting patterns for Sengkang GRC.

if such 7 years downturn were to happen again. confirm population will goes back to 4 million. ppl will start running away.

yes. seng kang population mostly those 1970s ppl which are affected greatly by 1997-2004 recessions. so explains why the ppl there voted otherwise.

MyWill

Moi old uncle. Can rem last time papaya scolded sinkies. Said ppl went in with eyes open. U no saving, u deserved it. U overleaveage, u deserve it. U no job, u deserved it.

focus1974

Then see if papaya will save sinkies like they promised to do so during erection?

siao.
recession hurts a lot more people than normal/booming economy.

recession is retrenchment.
retrenchment is middle income most affected coz they got the most debt , least rainy day savings and family commitment.

jericho75

siao.
recession hurts a lot more people than normal/booming economy.

recession is retrenchment.
retrenchment is middle income most affected coz they got the most debt , least rainy day savings and family commitment.

i mean sinkies voted for papaya to save them in recession mah. so must see recession really got save sinkies or not.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.