Who else is hoping for a jia lak recession with the 1997 kind of scale to come soon?

Abcismyname

If we want a 1997 style recession now, it'll be quite jialat. Companies being forced to cut cost will accelerate the effects of structural unemployment due to AI/ML.

Private hire drivers, call centres, SWE etc.

Not fun guys.
Those who hope for jialat recession must be no family to support and bbfa type.

coolhead

Those who hope for jialat recession must be no family to support and bbfa type.
If a jialat recession here similar to 1997 really hits, I really won't like it. Structural unemployment is happening as we speak, that's why there are the gig economy to soak up the underemployment. If there are viable careers, who will wanna do gig economy.

But even the gig workers can soon be displaced by AI/automation/ML. Gradually taking place in China. Could happen here faster than we think if companies are forced to cut cost and innovate.

Singapore is really an expensive place to hire workers.

Yesterday my vb ask me to think of biz idea, say our jobs won't be secure which I think is true.

neo_aw

Looked like Covid hasn’t done much damaged to the west……. And hasn’t even recovered from that….

I see high chance recession from the west ……. Esp the debt of the arrogant country

touchring1

Don't build your wealth at the expense of other people's misery. That is very bad karma to wish for recession which will greatly affect everyone.

Actually, I see it differently. TS is sending a warning to watch your spending. Save for rainy day. It's good karma. TS is quite kind, also warned about underlying conditions more than 2 years ago.

curahee

If you are hoping for drop in property price and rental, I can say it's fat hope. The govt now has full control over the current system as compared to the 90s whereby market force regulate the market naturally.

jericho75

If a jialat recession here similar to 1997 really hits, I really won't like it. Structural unemployment is happening as we speak, that's why there are the gig economy to soak up the underemployment. If there are viable careers, who will wanna do gig economy.

But even the gig workers can soon be displaced by AI/automation/ML. Gradually taking place in China. Could happen here faster than we think if companies are forced to cut cost and innovate.

Singapore is really an expensive place to hire workers.

Yesterday my vb ask me to think of biz idea, say our jobs won't be secure which I think is true.

Anyway Lau pat sat $3.30 chai png hiked prices go $4.70 liao. No recession.

jericho75

If you are hoping for drop in property price and rental, I can say it's fat hope. The govt now has full control over the current system as compared to the 90s whereby market force regulate the market naturally.

I would say fed qe has been saving everyone since 2008

jericho75

Don't build your wealth at the expense of other people's misery. That is very bad karma to wish for recession which will greatly affect everyone.

This type of things will inevitably happens. If u are not prepared then cannot blame anyone. 1997 those Kenna before will know how to save for rainy days.

coolhead

Anyway Lau pat sat $3.30 chai png hiked prices go $4.70 liao. No recession.
still the same leh. you chose 1 meat(but count as seafood) and 2 veg.

I just ate today, 1 meat and 2 veg, after 10% app discount is $3.96.

touchring1

I dun care lah. Just wanna see papaya will save sinkies like they promised to

I think they will help, but it will only benefit if chiu is in the lower income range. Few hundreds in CDC voucher can make quite an impact for those earning $1-2k a month type. This group is actually quite big as it includes retirees. Some more, if chiu spends money, it's also in a way helping to contribute to rental which feeds a lot of their businesses so why not?

jericho75

I think they will help, but it will only benefit if chiu is in the lower income range. Few hundreds in CDC voucher can make quite an impact for those earning $1-2k a month type. This group is actually quite big as it includes retirees. Some more, if chiu spends money, it's also in a way helping to contribute to rental which feeds a lot of their businesses so why not?

I mean is helping ppl tahan or defer their mortgage kind of help. Those few hundred ones cannot do much. Even 1997 I was low income also never got any help from papaya. Also need to teach those young ppl drinking one bubble tea that cost $6-7 is not worth it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.