Why are Singaporeans so entitled and self-centered?

mickey88

Take public transport must chiong to be the first to board and disregard others along the way. During peak periods always crowd near exits instead of moving in to let more people board. All must chiong for the empty seats,

On the roads always chionging and overtaking like rushing to someone's funeral, even if there's a red light in front and there's no point to drive so recklessly. When someone signals to move into their lane, many would accelerate even faster to not allow this. If someone makes a minor mistake on the road, horn until like no tomorrow, but if ownself make mistake, then it's just an honest mistake ma.

Came across too many cases of Singaporeans being rude and demanding to service staff, speaking to them in a very condescending tone when their expectations or special requests are not met. Be it in F&B, retail, transport or elsewhere, and sadly not just within Singapore but when they are overseas too. Even for things beyond control of service staff.

Comparing and competing with one another in all aspects of life, always preaching to other people on having to make the best or right decisions from their own perspective else be looked down upon.

Everything can also complain until no tomorrow.

How come like that?
It is our culture..suck it

lordofshanghai

its not limited to singapore lah,
everywhere also same, up north. down south.

even the west also same what. if u have nothing, do u think they will come and save or support you?
if our economy is not good, will our neighboring countries workers come in to work?

ichinisan

It is very stressful here. Too tough to survive.

That is why there are more siao langs everyday.

tarui04

Sinkies bash foreigners it's called xenophobia
Foreigners bash Singaporeans it's called free speech

curiosity_20

Take public transport must chiong to be the first to board and disregard others along the way. During peak periods always crowd near exits instead of moving in to let more people board. All must chiong for the empty seats,

On the roads always chionging and overtaking like rushing to someone's funeral, even if there's a red light in front and there's no point to drive so recklessly. When someone signals to move into their lane, many would accelerate even faster to not allow this. If someone makes a minor mistake on the road, horn until like no tomorrow, but if ownself make mistake, then it's just an honest mistake ma.

Came across too many cases of Singaporeans being rude and demanding to service staff, speaking to them in a very condescending tone when their expectations or special requests are not met. Be it in F&B, retail, transport or elsewhere, and sadly not just within Singapore but when they are overseas too. Even for things beyond control of service staff.

Comparing and competing with one another in all aspects of life, always preaching to other people on having to make the best or right decisions from their own perspective else be looked down upon.

Everything can also complain until no tomorrow.

How come like that?

I'm not like most typical Singaporeans. I'm empathetic and caring but many take advantage of my kindness. The problem with Singapore is that there's too much competition. Everyone wants / is seeking an "advantage" over everyone else.

I've seen it how toxic my fellow Singaporeans are. When trying to have a good time, people also compete and sometimes not happy that you are enjoying yourself and would rather see you unhappy and miserable so they can "laugh" at your expense.

And the foreigners, some learn from us and act the same way.

curiosity_20

All learn from the top which is PAP capitalism behaviour.

How many times have LHL encouraged Sinkies to steal lunches?

You look at Shan's behaviour and you think that is what you should aspire to.

Until our role models change, Sinkies will remain like that.
What kind of Minister goes around telling people to steal other people's lunches....tell your kid to steal his classmate lunch box OKAY?

appleorange_

I'm not like most typical Singaporeans. I'm empathetic and caring but many take advantage of my kindness. The problem with Singapore is that there's too much competition. Everyone wants / is seeking an "advantage" over everyone else.

I've seen it how toxic my fellow Singaporeans are. When trying to have a good time, people also compete and sometimes not happy that you are enjoying yourself and would rather see you unhappy and miserable so they can "laugh" at your expense.

And the foreigners, some learn from us and act the same way.

this is what everyone says about themselves too

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.