Why aren’t government doing anything about the crazy hdb prices?

sgggid

Hello if not how to push GCB to 88M ???
All HDB owners huat also mah…
All landlords huat also mah …
Why complain?
Cannot beat them join them lor…

Medicated Oil

For fun in my free time. Isnt that the point of edmw?

All the logical inconsistencies yet all so self-righteous. The irony is hilarious.
It is not hilarious when it happened to you.
I am not here to be right.
That is not my purpose here.
If you dun agree, I am fine with it.

tuxguy

Was monitoring, monitoring, if do something like only can sell back to HDB price crash, those bought will not be happy but those buying happy.

If let market forces play out with prices rising and rising, those bought happy, those want to buy unhappy.

So monitoring da best

Now nearing GE, lagi cannot do anything

BunnyPancake

Few reasons...

1) If they take few hundred K loan peg to a HDB value, then suddenly government made some cooling measures and the HDB value tanks, I am pretty sure the bank will ask them to top up via cash to offset the difference between the home's value and loan amount. If they took out a collateral loan, lagi gg. You can expect a lot of bad debts and bankruptcies.

2) Sinkies are selfish. Imagine you and your friend everyday kpkb about government and rising cost. But now your friend getting married and die die need to buy house liao... He take whatever current value there is, say, $1 million. Do you think they will be happy if suddenly a cooling measure kicks in? They will immediately become die-hard opposition supporters who wants to 'teach' the government a lesson by voting the opposition. However, if nothing much is done to cool the value and value keep going up, these people will feel they are rich and they are afraid of their home value to drop... If the opposition makes the mistake of proposing cooling measures, these voters will immediately side with the ruling party or government.

For other words, if they do any cooling measure, it will push more people to vote against the government instead. Rather take tiny measures or leave it as that and say it is 'supply and demand'. Do you think those people living in condo or landed want their value to drop? lol

I can guarantee you those who once die-die want to vote opposition but now their HDB value is near or over millions of dollars in value, they will want to keep things the way it is... They would either vote for the ruling party, or null vote. Either way, it benefits the ruling party.

Mr Totoro 38

The present and future gen will have some serious issue in repaying the house loan and their retirement.
This issues are accumulated all over the past 20 to 30 years ago!

all along the way and past ge, NO ONE raised or voice out loud! Now then kpkb….

sinkies really has NO hopes la…

reckon this kind of serious issue will keep worsen down the road !

can basic survival is “steal laugh”… don’t talk abt affordable house and retirement! Forget it la!

Medicated Oil

This issues are accumulated all over the past 20 to 30 years ago!

all along the way and past ge, NO ONE raised or voice out loud! Now then kpkb….

sinkies really has NO hopes la…

reckon this kind of serious issue will keep worsen down the road !

can basic survival is “steal laugh”… don’t talk abt affordable house and retirement! Forget it la!
Dun think they will predict that the price will shoot till out of their reach.
Just like you telling your dad that the chicken rice will be $6 20 years ago.
I think your old man will laugh at you.

Dun think the present admin will do anything about it.
If there is anything wrong, they can bail out any time.
Not for most of the residents.

icebleue

Have ah they keep launching bto so that people won’t buy ridiculous prices from first time owners.
But stupidity of people to keep buying at high prices…

Mr Totoro 38

Dun think they will predict that the price will shoot till out of their reach.
Just like you telling your dad that the chicken rice will be $6 20 years ago.
I think your old man will laugh at you.

Dun think the present admin will do anything about it.
If there is anything wrong, they can bail out any time.
Not for most of the residents.

sighssss
So be it la…

you and me cannot savage anything at all.
take good care of yourself and your family!

If they bail out, that time will be surely GG for sinkies!
also, if it will crash, let it be la!

Medicated Oil

sighssss
So be it la…

you and me cannot savage anything at all.
take good care of yourself and your family!

If they bail out, that time will be surely GG for sinkies!
also, if it will crash, let it be la!
The next 20 years will be some interesting period for SG.
It will be some rough ride.

Shawny88

BTO are still within the affordable range, although it is at the upper range, creeping towards too expensive.

The killer is the resale market property prices…

Donkey Kong

Hike in price Is a source of income to the government via tax. They are the landlord of the hdb flats. They have every right to hike the price. Peasant can anytime move out to the neighbouring countries if they can't afford the hdb flat. CNA has helped to advertise the properties in JB that are available to sinkies.

Medicated Oil

NO eyes to see…

rough ride? 70% chose it, so they can keep enjoy!
I dun really like the blaming of 60 or 70 about the predicament.
We are all on the same ship.
If the admin dun do well, we have to kick them if necessary even if we voted for them.
It does not mean we are giving them any free pass.

Mr Totoro 38

I dun really like the blaming of 60 or 70 about the predicament.
We are all on the same ship.
If the admin dun do well, we have to kick them if necessary even if we voted for them.
It does not mean we are giving them any free pass.
NOT everyone think like you….

you need a whole united ppl together and ensure the courage to VTO them!

or else just air talk or bird talks…

as said - nothing will change.

Medicated Oil

NOT everyone think like you….

you need a whole united ppl together and ensure the courage to VTO them!

or else just air talk or bird talks…

as said - nothing will change.
I enjoy kicking them regarding whatever side.
Ha Ha Ha.
There will be great change coming.
Hold on tight.

thretiredDad

In the past flats are built before people apply for it. And it remains affordable. I am not saying we should start doing that necessarily. 2nd, even with grants, it is not affordable for everyone.
In conjunction, for example, if someone who is from matured estate cannot afford to buy a matured estate BTO in present times, then he either forfeit the chance to stay near his parents or give up setting up a family.
Is this what PAP pro-family policies all about?

Grants are not 'free'
It is not free because it is taxpayers monies.
It is not free because it comes with accured interest and it does not belong to you after you sell the flat.

Oh yes the 100k reno
So you take hdb/mortgage loan not enough still need reno loan.
How is that not expensive overall.

In the nutshell, once again

If you use “everyone”
which means even unemployed or grab or food delivery warrior
must be able to afford a
5 room hdb at prime area
before you conclude hdb is affordable
then isn’t there nothing much to discuss here

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.