Why can deport to Singapore? No need to face charges in Spain?

Mechafanboy

what crime has been committed in Singapore?

If you take drugs in JB, and ICA suspects that you have drugs in your system and demands that you take a urine test, and you failed that urine test, you will be charged with drugs abuse crimes, even though the crime isn't committed in SG. ICA do have warnings about this.

Still remember the case where a sinkie spy (working for CCP) was arrested by local law enforcers, even though his crime was committed in the USA?

Committing crimes overseas doesn't make you immune to local prosecution... Exceptions can always be made. Moreover, this is a very easy political win for Shan-ge.. if don't prosecute, it could turn into a political disaster for him instead.

PaprikaSG

Charge in Spain, at most 10-15 years nia.

Charge in SG, hang... game over.

Of course die die must be charged in Spain.

Joseph12

It seems the victim family agrees and the defence lawyer opposes

Means that if he come back to SG will likely get charged for murder
No one will know until it happens

And the Spain lawyer well, we don't know if there's a Singapore lawyer involved
Probably not cos doubt family is rich

If rich, the Singapore lawyer will say this evidence is shite and won't be accepted in Singapore and it's missing this and that.
But there's another issue.
The Spain lawyer WON'T plug the gaps cos it's NOT required in Spain

That's why I said AGC will have big headache and then MinLaw if suspect is deported

The judge will just crititique the evidence and say I can't convict based on this

Joseph12

If you take drugs in JB, and ICA suspects that you have drugs in your system and demands that you take a urine test, and you failed that urine test, you will be charged with drugs abuse crimes, even though the crime isn't committed in SG. ICA do have warnings about this.

Still remember the case where a sinkie spy (working for CCP) was arrested by local law enforcers, even though his crime was committed in the USA?

Committing crimes overseas doesn't make you immune to local prosecution... Exceptions can always be made. Moreover, this is a very easy political win for Shan-ge.. if don't prosecute, it could turn into a political disaster for him instead.
It's all different
Anyway there is a specific law for acts of corruption committed overseas

All very impressive
Until the Keppel case, where a specific law in Singapore law books can mean no action is taken cos difficult to charge in Singapore everything done overseas
Then , what is the law for?

artncraft

If rich, the Singapore lawyer will say this evidence is shite and won't be accepted in Singapore and it's missing this and that.

That's why I said AGC will have big headache and then MinLaw if suspect is deported

The judge will just crititique the evidence and say I can't convict based on this

I would also think that could be the case. The evidence may not be strong enough to charge him with murder. There is a good chance that he might be released after dragging on for years.

Cmonster

"Murder and Manslaughter: Under Section 300 of the Penal Code, murder is defined as the unlawful killing of another person with intent. If a Singaporean citizen commits murder abroad, they can be charged upon their return to Singapore, reflecting the seriousness with which the law treats such violent crimes."

Mechafanboy

I would also think that could be the case. The evidence may not be strong enough to charge him with murder. There is a good chance that he might be released after dragging on for years.

The evidence is strong. Spanish prosecutors even managed to match the sole prints on the crime scene with Mitchell's branded footwear.

fortunecat

Usually ang mo countries will only agree to send people back if we promise not to hang them. Not sure this case have this clause bo

FireEmblem

Deport?
How to charge him for murder in Singapore ?

Singapore government definitely headache
Hard to charge him and can't let him.go
And since he's a Singapore citizen they can't say no to him entering Singapore
Err who told you murder must be in sg to be chargable?

Take drugs overseas or involved in child porn also can be charged when back in sg

Plus he did murder a singaporean so perfectly within sg police's rights to charge for murder

sickoflife

Drugs in your body system is irrefutable evidence.

murder in Spain how to investigate? No way Spanish police will do any more work for us. Also not possible for our CID to travel there to collect evidence to build a case

artncraft

The evidence is strong. Spanish prosecutors even managed to match the sole prints on the crime scene with Mitchell's branded footwear.

I am not a lawyer.

He can be at the scene, but he may not be the one committing the murder.

Mechafanboy

Drugs in your body system is irrefutable evidence.

murder in Spain how to investigate? No way Spanish police will do any more work for us. Also not possible for our CID to travel there to collect evidence to build a case

Aiyo, Spanish prosecutors already have the evidence. The victim family wants Mitchell deported, that says it all.

junjie433

Quoted"
Defence lawyer Maria Jesus Ruiz de Castaneda opposed the deportation request and asked that it be suspended immediately, La Opinion de Murcia said.

Ong is involved in active criminal proceedings in Spain, where he must be judged with all due legal guarantees, the lawyer argued, stating that the extradition would represent an unacceptable evasion of the Spanish judicial process.
"
Wah so scare to kena deport?

Joseph12

Err who told you murder must be in sg to be chargable?

Take drugs overseas or involved in child porn also can be charged when back in sg

Plus he did murder a singaporean so perfectly within sg police's rights to charge for murder
I never said murder must be in Singapore to be chargeable

quincyster

Why don't they just hang him in Spain and send back the ashes. Save Singapore taxpayers money dealing with this murderer.

Joseph12

Quoted"
Defence lawyer Maria Jesus Ruiz de Castaneda opposed the deportation request and asked that it be suspended immediately, La Opinion de Murcia said.

Ong is involved in active criminal proceedings in Spain, where he must be judged with all due legal guarantees, the lawyer argued, stating that the extradition would represent an unacceptable evasion of the Spanish judicial process.
"
Wah so scare to kena deport?
Who knows

Maybe he realise
1. Penalties in Spain lesser
2. Case in Spain is weaker
3. Bad impression that Singapore is a po dunk hicks ville third world country

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.