Why people likes to say “To be honest…”

tomsss

actually why need to use all these preempt words

just say it out as it is, how you intended la. fancy here there for wat

sinkies usually like to be straight to the point mah

simi "honestly speaking", "for what is it worth..."....... want to gan that person, just do it straight away, direct 👊

daveteo88

Whenever I hear it.
I told them STOP.
If they say, to be honest, you are quite ugly and you have bad breath and you say STOP because you want to hear the to be dishonest comment.

Then they say To be dishonest, you are quite handsome and you got perfume breath. :ROFLMAO:

BlackWing1977

Means all along they are not honest?
It is just a phrase lar... I think it is just like using 老实讲 in either mandarin or hokkien lor...

It is more closer to giving a honest opinion... or you totally remove the words still the same... does not mean the other things they said are untrue..

newcell

If they say, to be honest, you are quite ugly and you have bad breath and you say STOP because you want to hear the to be dishonest comment.

Then they say To be dishonest, you are quite handsome and you got perfume breath. :ROFLMAO:
Well, reason i said STOP because "to be honest" make all my hair stand.

Whimsica

I am most scared of "trust me", like

- "trust me... I am only doing this for you"
- "trust me... this is the best decision you will ever make"
- "trust me... this is the shortest route"

Goodshot

Of cuz i m not speaking the truth all the time , for being polite

Kaylin

what abt technically speaking? means all along not technical? :(

Can Or Not

It is just a phrase lar... I think it is just like using 老实讲 in either mandarin or hokkien lor...

It is more closer to giving a honest opinion... or you totally remove the words still the same... does not mean the other things they said are untrue..
No lor its very telling…

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.