why western countries can receive high pay yet work life balance?

nyvrem

3 months good already. Some wait 6 months to a year.

Actually I see my in law see doctor in oz also very fast. See specialist wait following week can see liao. Scans all fix within the same week.

pushtopen

how is this apple to apple?
you are comparing their pizza, cook with local ingredient from a 2nd tier city. 2nd tier city = lower pay = lower cost of living
An equivalent is comparing to perhaps JB. Go compare Pizza price in JB vs that city.
SG is a 1st tier city. SG pizza, ingredient most probably got to be all imported + marked up as sinkies are willing to pay more for pizza
i used prawn noodle as an example because its made with local ingredient vs one in New york in a similar tier city. Most probably all imported ingredient.

look, I'm just going off on personal experience, I won't claim to know things I don't

but all I'm saying is, as sinkies when we travelled there, the prices didn't seem too exorbitant and within the range of what you would expect to pay here in restaurants, maybe a bit higher, even in the bigger cities.

whether that's a byproduct of our cost of living or because we have plenty of disposable income compared to them is up for debate.

if you want to make this about comparisons between two wholly different things it's fine by me, you don't need validation from me; I validate your argument aight

NintendoSwitch

You compare their labor laws vs ours
Ba Sing Se has labour laws?

530-90_cheezburger.jpg

beano

Then must add pay high tax also can get covered for what also mah, eg healthcare and pregnancy leave etc in Scandinavia countries
paying 40k p.a for tax is no joke, not like you need those services all the time.

huihong

Their col also ******* high ...

The only good thing ish they can goed high col city earn high celery for a while then go country side retire in same country ...
was in UK 2 weeks ago, shocking sia their COL, i bring SGD go there become peasant.

cyke69sg

Actually I see my in law see doctor in oz also very fast. See specialist wait following week can see liao. Scans all fix within the same week.
Your relative?

Everywhere same. If know someone always got inside track

Dudick

Then must add pay high tax also can get covered for what also mah, eg healthcare and pregnancy leave etc in Scandinavia countries

I assume they are taxed highly every year but i don’t think they are pregnant or need healthcare every year

fortunecat

Because you guys willingly pay premiums for ang mo brands while always want to undercut Asian brands. That's why they can work life balance while we need to 996 :o

Lance321

What makes you think western country have good work-life balance? My cousin in UK was so overloaded that she almost had a breakdown and had to go for counselling. She leaves the office at 2 am sometimes. She has changed jobs since.

Whimsica

Cos they

1. Dun change their smartphone every year
2. Dun take two to three overseas holidays every year
3. Dun dine out everyday
4. Dun have maids
5. Take bus or train and have long commutes
6. DIY their own repairs
7. Are less obsessed/ FOMO over wealth, branded stuffs, appearances, big tvs etc

nyvrem

paying 40k p.a for tax is no joke, not like you need those services all the time.

and then? do u see Scandinavians kpkb like u?

Qualityoflife-infographics.png

all those countries up there pay tax gao gao, but get back good QoL, if the tax'ing was so bad, they can always voted out their gov and implemented a new system loh

:o:o:o

HoLoGram

why AMDK countries can receive high pay yet work life balance?

how they stay being competitive?

As others said, the on the "high pay", do look at their tax rate. If you are normal median salary, maybe still OK. I would probably need to pay nearly 50% tax rate kind whereas in SG after reliefs, etc, low teens to single digit % tax rate only.

There's always a flip side to things. Others look at SG, song song.. We look at them also want that kind.

One thing for sure, look at where alot of people wanna migrate to, and you know where the real deal is.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.