will eplanetworld.com replace sls?

royfrosty

The distros threatening retailers?

The retailers threatening distros?

So in the end, who are the ones threatening the others? :s22:

Anyway, wah lau eh, price-fixing and anti-competitive practices sexposed here. Can complain to Competition Commission Singapore or gahmen? What has happened to free market and competition?

So in the end, who are the ones engaged in price-fixing? Distros or retailers? No wonder things are expensive in Singapore, not just IT products. Consumers always milked gao gao. FML. :mad:

Vice versa bro,

Either way they will bao dou de. Even Retailers sabo retailers also. If they find out that one trying to spoil market they will sabo to distro (if they dont like the other shop).

Either way the price watch is there. And some shops will or will not follow it.

tamjinhang

I felt that computer repairs didn't need to cost so much (from what I see outside previously), so I started doing my own @.@

As for prices... Haven't bought locally for some time. Addicted on the junkyard for rewards =x

devilwahaha

The distros threatening retailers?

The retailers threatening distros?

So in the end, who are the ones threatening the others? :s22:

Anyway, wah lau eh, price-fixing and anti-competitive practices sexposed here. Can complain to Competition Commission Singapore or gahmen? What has happened to free market and competition?

So in the end, who are the ones engaged in price-fixing? Distros or retailers? No wonder things are expensive in Singapore, not just IT products. Consumers always milked gao gao. FML. :mad:
Both ways. Free market is a lie obviously.

Anyway its a problem that there simply isnt a textbook solution for, because Singapore is so damn small.

Retailers here mostly want to make the biggest possible profit per transaction(margin), but they still have to make sure that they are selling cheap enough compared to other shops to entice us cheapo Sinkies to purchase by giving discount(cutting margin).

Personally I think the biggest problem is that many Sinkies who buy DIY parts expect the local prices to match what we see on Amazon/Newegg/Microcenter/etc when it simply is impossible due to factors that Maeda_Toshiie mentioned, especially scale of economy. Easiest solution would be to ask them to wake their silly ideas up, but of course that wont be happening.

Back to the main topic, I dont think its the prices that's limiting the local DIY scene but rather the mentality of shop owners who dont think long term and customers who just want to fleece the shop's margins as much as possible. (Will haggling for 30 minutes to save $10-30 really make you that much happier when you're about to spend couple of hundreds on a GPU or 1-2k on a system?)

I felt that computer repairs didn't need to cost so much (from what I see outside previously), so I started doing my own @.@

As for prices... Haven't bought locally for some time. Addicted on the junkyard for rewards =x
Well repairing is a service so there isn't exactly a "fair" guideline on how much to charge or how much its worth, so if you were to charge say $40 for assembling a system or $30 for cleaning entire system inside out and make it seem worthwhile to the buyer I dont see how it would be a problem for both you or buyer.

t258jgn

LOL.... spot on... i've bought quite a few times from him and so far it's very good.. once got a wrong BR recorder sent and he resend to me immediately the next day...
The only improvement i hope to see is full online website for his products..

Too many price lists from sls already. Just take theirs as references no need to create one. :s13:

Create online website also no use. Cannot put low price. Some buyers will use the low price & die die demand their regular shops to sell them cheaper. Some shops will use the price & complain to Distros/Manufacturers. These shops are run by Ah Bengs as they cannot chop customers. :D

That's why you see some shops no choice have to put ASK in their pricelists

Most of the Distros, anything leaves from their warehouses, they don't really care how much you going to sell. They've already stated RRP. You sell at lost or above RRP also not their problem. :s13:

royfrosty

Most of the Distros, anything leaves from their warehouses, they don't really care how much you going to sell. They've already stated RRP. You sell at lost or above RRP also not their problem. :s13:

This sentence quite true. But sometimes haiz. Your competitor big mouth nia hiaz...

Kenna a few times already. Lucky not much distro does that.

uncle168

the game changes if they buy ban leong and convergent

looking at ban leong financials, the combined price to pay for both is around S$50 million with annual profit of around S$3-5 million combined

if the distro are makan by the government, where will sls get their pc component from with local warranty?

keekeekee :s22:

wtfh4x

Please, I haven't trusted any shop in SLS since the point of the floods in Thailand that sent HDD prices up, and if you would notice, the prices are still about $5-$10 higher than they were pre-flood. When I went, I overheard the Tradepac boss and some random fat lady gleefully colluding over how they were going to inflate the prices.:s22:

Hailgod

The hdd price raise is nothing compared to the ram prices. Inflated until crazy.

royfrosty

Please, I haven't trusted any shop in SLS since the point of the floods in Thailand that sent HDD prices up, and if you would notice, the prices are still about $5-$10 higher than they were pre-flood. When I went, I overheard the Tradepac boss and some random fat lady gleefully colluding over how they were going to inflate the prices.:s22:

This is not entirely true. Till date if you go to Siam Paragon in Bangkok or even at their local "SLS" their HDD prices are almost the same price as our HDD. +/- $2

ykgoh

The hdd price raise is nothing compared to the ram prices. Inflated until crazy.

GbiWk.jpg

:(

ykgoh

well to clarify this situation,my brother worked in china in the HDD industry for more than 25 years
before the thailand flood, the china factory was just buildup and productions was not started
so only 1 country produced HDD and do not merely think that simlim shoppers is angry(in the eyes of the HDD industries simlim buyers are NOTHING)
till today my brother factory in china cannot coped up with the demands by the OEM companies such as dell/hp/blah/blah/blah..
his factory HDD productions had yet to arrive for the common market for you and me.
ram wise..only 1 manufacturer and his name is Sam and we called him mr Sung
with the demands for SSD is even worst..ram @ the moment is gold dust

I thot there is the trend of declining desktop and laptop sales worldwide? Tablets and phones use flash memory storage.

Unless data centers snapping them up? :s22:

hengheng220

no bro..samsung chips is worldwide demands..even daughterboard needs to buy from mr sung and i remembered my brother had to fly to singapore to source for chips when the taiwan earthquicks shut down the taiwanese computer manufactuers

mr sung is a very very smart man..in the late 90s..he dumped all chips below cost when @ that time each chip cost about 80cents..he sold to all the OEM companies for 65cents making every semiconductors to close shop, hitachi/standardcharter/hungdai/whatever cannot compete, mr sung ran this deal below cost for 2 years in a row
even our singapore crucial(texas) also had to close down and do something else
now you all see the gamble mr sung take off?
you want ram chips? mr sung nobody else can supply

hahahaha this sounds exactly like the plot of Crysis 3 of cell

escksu

For me, my answer is NO.... NEVER.... online shop will never replace brick and mortar, not in SG.

online works well only if you are in a big country where you have to travel a long long distance to get what you want. So buying online (esp. with free shipping) is less hassle.

However, online you have to deal with things like wait for order to process, shipping time, DOA. Basically time consuming...

For SLS, I just drive down (20mins for me). Grab come home and install (2hrs at most). I get what I want. I am not willing to wait for days or even weeks for a part to arrive unless I am in no hurry.

So, unless online offers a 24/7 and 2hr delivery no point buying online for me (unless its not available in SG). I would rather pay more and get it fast so I can enjoy my hoot sooner.

Of course, some prefer lower prices and don't mind to wait. So online caters for different group of pple. Shops cater for another group. I don't feel everyone will go online and it will replace shops at all.

escksu

Add to my previous WOT post, there is also the joy of shopping. Going around to buy what you want is sometimes more fun as well. Thats why pple still go shopping. Its an enjoyment.

I also feel better by holding and looking at the product (even though just looking at box) than just a couple of photos online.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.