Should there be a minimum wage?

• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

Swisspers

Your are aware that SG is rare few of the developed world that does NOT have min-wage law?

If the min-wafe concept is that bad, why is it adopted by most (if not all) first world countries?

In the same way, most countries budget are in deficit whereas SG gov actively avoids going into debt. (I don't fully agree with this policy all the time)

evildoer

It would be naive to assume that just because the cost price is $0.10 to the company, they would only charge $0.10 to the consumer.

are you saying some opportunistic company will make use of this excuse to increase their price for profit ? like they should able to cover the mini wages with a 20 cents increases.. but they increase by 50 cents anyway...

kyo_465

are you saying some opportunistic company will make use of this excuse to increase their price for profit ? like they should able to cover the mini wages with a 20 cents increases.. but they increase by 50 cents anyway...

This is a capitalist society. Please dun state the obvious.

bakuten

1. Employee's CPF contribution is still employee's money. It will go back to employee ultimately. So it's not right to base you calculation on take home pay alone.

2. From sharpsnappers figure (see below), the below-min-wage earners constitute just (100k/1.97m)x100% =5% of the entire SGean labour force. What is the likelihood that price will increase extensively (telco la, transportation la, sch fees la, etc etc) just because of paying that 5% a few hundred dollar more?

Quite interested to know from WP's figures.

How many of them are drawing workfare, and how much are they getting workfare?

After factoring in workfare....how much do they earn when compared to that $1,300 figure.

I have family member who works part time after retirement. And believe me, that workfare topup is nothing to laugh about when u calculate the $/hour. Its really quite significant.

Min wage advocates really need to address workfare vs minimum wage and not pretend that workfare doesnt exist.

Swisspers

I say again, you calculated food cost increment of $0.03
And you said food cost will go up by $0.20 because that is your assumption.
I can only face palm at how you want to prove your point. If a person use assumptions, assumptions and assumptions to argue on something. You better be salesman, say anyhow also can.

Perhaps you might want to ask around, or check with your company's accountants.

Perhaps your company only sells your products/services to consumers at cost and not make a profit.

sharpsnapper

Singapore total labour workforce 3.67 million including all FW and FT.

The WP says there are more than 100,000 Singaporeans who earn a take-home pay of less than $1,300 a month while engaged in full-time work.

100,000 Singaporeans is 0.02% of 3.67 million workers.

Helping 0.02% workers only.

theMKR

Quite interested to know from WP's figures.

How many of them are drawing workfare, and how much are they getting workfare?

After factoring in workfare....how much do they earn when compared to that $1,300 figure.

I have family member who works part time after retirement. And believe me, that workfare topup is nothing to laugh about when u calculate the $/hour. Its really quite significant.

Min wage advocates really need to address workfare vs minimum wage and not pretend that workfare doesnt exist.

i think very hard about this issue and workfare is really the best solution for now.....
it encourages ppl to work....

decibel.

I thought it's a common practice nowadays? There's no law that forbid such behaviors, is there? Like how Grab increases the commission from food stalls but the owners set the difference plus a profit margin as the listed price for consumer. It's unethical but doesn't mean opportunistic won't do it. We can already witness such behaviors through Covid19.

Sent from HUAWEI VOG-L29 using GAGT

kyo_465

We are a capitalist society.

Minimum wage is just another tool for companies to exploit the consumers. Finally it will not have the intended effect.

evildoer

You know it's very common for grandparents to look after grandkids both in the past, and now?

So how? Like that better don't make grandparents look after the kids, esp if grandparents are illiterate, hor. :s8:

i know of coz.. but what it's suggesting is not Babysitter (for 1 or 2 children).. but a job that overseeing children safety, and needs ... that could be 10 children or more in a group.. how can an elderly cope with that.. it's a very physical demanding job...

Swisspers

Yes some companies might increase by 50 center, but in my calculation I only used a 20 cents increase, the lowest meaningful amount that is pegged to the use of toilets in hawker centers.

I guess you could make a point and argue for a 10 center increase, which I will accept as well.

decibel.

A little out of topic, but come to think of it, shouldn't this be what the union role is meant for?

evildoer

Yes some companies might increase by 50 center, but in my calculation I only used a 20 cents increase, the lowest meaningful amount that is pegged to the use of toilets in hawker centers.

I guess you could make a point and argue for a 10 center increase, which I will accept as well.

yeah i agree... some company will do this.. if we are imposing this minimum wages.. it had to be heavy regulated to prevent flaws...

decibel.

We are a capitalist society.

Minimum wage is just another tool for companies to exploit the consumers. Finally it will not have the intended effect.
That's right lol. That's how I see this too. End up consumers will be the one who get impacted.

maniamcool

So how many young voter now regret voting blindly for WP? Didn't read their manifesto right?

Looking at all the responses and comments regarding Jamus post on minimum wage yesterday, can tell many voters got buyers' remorse liao

I believe when WP first launched its manifesto, there was one thread here which heavily criticized its minimum wage proposal as well as gender wage gap issue (knn..)

Suddenly when Jamus post about min. wage yesterday then those kumgongs realize what they actually voted for.

MP is not celebrity. Keep shouting oppa oppa jokers

Not to mention there's Khan also, but that's another issue all together.

Personally, I still support WP for since they're the only viable opposition now against PAP. But they're just the lesser of the two evils.

sharpsnapper

Perhaps you might want to ask around, or check with your company's accountants.

Perhaps your company only sells your products/services to consumers at cost and not make a profit.

I find it immaterial to talk to a person who likes assumptions. Then we don't need economists, researchers, statistician to look at actual numbers already.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.