• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

haiyata

If there is minimum wage, then prices for everything will go up. Because consumers will be paying for these minimum wages.

Imagine, caipng in australia can cost up to $10 to $15 a plate.

So whatever minimum wage there is and you might think that your salary increases but ultimately it will go back to your expenditures.

:(:(

fishbuff

In Buddhism, everything is about Cause & Effect.

"implement min wage" is like planting a Cause, it will bring Effect.

this Effect of "min wage scheme" benefits minority, but bring suffering to majority, which opposed my empathy.

tell me which group of ppl "struggling to put food on the table" because not getting min wages ?

The low income cleaners, security guards have min wages which is made mandatory by MOM.

so, adding min wages, will put even greater pressure on working adult & family.

you wont care how other poor people suffer in the lower rung of the society. hypocrite.

see, people?
some profess to "love" a religion but from the words coming out from their mouth, you can tell whether a person is righteous or not.

MeOw33MeOw

Government can just set up their own minimum wages for each category of jobs. They know what is the current wages for each category of jobs, right? Set that as minimum wage lo. What's so difficult.
Like even indon maids, filipino maids, each have their own minimum wages. That means wages should not go below that minimum wage. It is good. No exploitation like $500 for that worker who claims to be still an intern (still training) after working for 3 years.

OddEye

Minimum wage is good, but i don feel it is very important at this pt.

MeOw33MeOw

If there is minimum wage, then prices for everything will go up. Because consumers will be paying for these minimum wages.

Imagine, caipng in australia can cost up to $10 to $15 a plate.

So whatever minimum wage there is and you might think that your salary increases but ultimately it will go back to your expenditures.

:(:(

Minimum wages is not a blanket wage for every job. It is different minimum wage for different jobs.
For example, kopitiam cleaner. What is their current wage? I'm not sure how much they are paid but let's just say $1000 a month. So set that as minimum wage. That is to ensure no one exploits the desperate; like say $800 a month since you are so desperate for a job. No bargaining in that sense.

Chitchatguy

Min wages is already use on ft.. if not y e pass have a min amount.. is only stupid sinkie dunno lah.. haha...

pattanispirit

you wont care how other poor people suffer in the lower rung of the society. hypocrite.

see, people?
some profess to "love" a religion but from the words coming out from their mouth, you can tell whether a person is righteous or not.

even Buddha himself can't change one's karma.

today's Covid 19 had killed many lives, why all Buddha, Bodhisattva, Gods of all religions aren't prevent it from spreading ?

isn't stopping Covid 19 & preventing further death has higher priority over yr "min wages policy" ?

if u don't understand the universal law of Karma that govern all beings, distorting it to benefit yr standpoint, it is called 无明 (Avidyā) in Buddhist term.

一个人不懂是最可怜的人,不懂就叫无明。你们知道无明会产生什么?

93828353_542624820010063_1186354758399557632_o.jpg

佛学基础常识:不动因果

很多人都知道佛法,法力无边,既然法力无边,但有些人或许会问,那么为什么这么多的天灾人祸,佛菩萨不发慈悲心去救度?

为什么不去阻止这些灾难的发生?

因为佛菩萨是不动因果的,自己种下的共业和个业,自己一定要受果报。

佛菩萨的法力再大,而那些与佛菩萨没有缘分的人,佛菩萨就无法救度他们。

佛菩萨有三种情况无法救度:

第一,是无缘的人,如果与佛菩萨有缘,佛菩萨才能帮助你,救度你,法力无边。

如果与佛菩萨无缘,佛菩萨就无法帮助你,救度你,当你求佛时,也就是说你只要求佛菩萨,成就了这个佛缘,佛菩萨才会帮助你,你不求佛菩萨,就是和佛没有缘分,佛菩萨是无法帮助你的(显灵的)。

第二,佛菩萨不能消定业,定业,就是命,就是定下来的业,也就是你前世所做的一切事情,自己种下的因,得到的果,叫定业。

自己种下的因,佛菩萨是不能帮你消除的,即佛菩萨不动因果。

第三,佛菩萨在人间,是不能度尽众生的,因为与菩萨没有缘,菩萨就无法救度你。

——白话佛法二.二

The low income cleaners, security guards have min wages which is made mandatory by MOM.

Starting from 1 July 2020, outsourced resident cleaners must be paid the following wages.

pwm-cleaning-sector-wage-requirements-2020.png

source : https://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/progressive-wage-model/cleaning-sector

as mentioned before, the low income earners like cleaners, security guards already covered under above laws.

r u willing to pay higher income taxes, gst, road tax, ppty tax, etc & higher price for hdb, private housing, just to subsidise yr min wage policy ?

satayxp

SG alrdy hv minimum wage, for pap mintiurds n their friends.. just not for ordinary Sgians ~~ :)

fishbuff

today's Covid 19 had killed many lives, why all Buddha, Bodhisattva, Gods of all religions aren't prevent it from spreading ?

isn't stopping Covid 19 & preventing further death has higher priority over yr "min wages policy" ?

if u don't understand the universal law of Karma that govern all beings, distorting it to benefit yr standpoint, it is called 无明 (Avidyā) in Buddhist term.

******.. let see when you are out of job and the only work you can get are those low-paying ones. then you will wish for min wage policy.

rikujo

For those who are opposed to min. wage and citing sources from overseas on how min. wage is bad, have you ever considered the possibility that policies are subjected to the context of the country? PWM is introduced to help Singaporeans and prs only. Have you ever thought why this is the case?

We all know why we continue to bring in foreign workers to Singapore but there's only so much jobs that can be taken up by Singaporeans. Improving the wage by afew measly dollars would more than likely ensure that Singaporeans can survive and at the same time, work towards a better future. Give the jobs most likely to be affected by min. wage to fw and give jobs that are least likely to be affected by it to singaporeans.

cherry6

For those who are opposed to min. wage and citing sources from overseas on how min. wage is bad, have you ever considered the possibility that policies are subjected to the context of the country? PWM is introduced to help Singaporeans and prs only. Have you ever thought why this is the case?

We all know why we continue to bring in foreign workers to Singapore but there's only so much jobs that can be taken up by Singaporeans. Improving the wage by afew measly dollars would more than likely ensure that Singaporeans can survive and at the same time, work towards a better future. Give the jobs most likely to be affected by min. wage to fw and give jobs that are least likely to be affected by it to singaporeans.
Hi rikujo,

I have no objection to minimum wage or any just measure to avoid labor exploitation (labour justice doesn't just encompass salary level, also includes leave entitlement etc).

Problem with Singapore is that we are ADDICTED to foreign labour and minimum wages cannot just apply to Singaporeans only since anyone who works is a laborer so one cannot discriminate, except under the excuse of exclusive citizen schemes like pension, training schemes etc. (CPF and progressive wage model) respectively. Otherwise, there is diplomatic offense if foreigners are discriminated. Will look very bad on Singapore government too, treating foreigners like outcast when PAP keeps on trying to attract 'foreign talent'.

Number of work permits in Singapore is so high that once minimum wage is implemented, the principal beneficiaries are the work permits and phantom Singaporean workers.

Thus we have painted ourselves into a corner and removed minimum wage (in the most basic manner) out of being a possible option to solve wage inequality in Singapore.

(Min wage is a very gross, basic and low level policy, most suited for either less developed economies or those with very little foreign cheap labour as part of the labour force, e.g. China, India, Phillipines and some wealthy Europe countries where there are strict restrictions on foreign blue collar labour etc).

cherry6

PAP doesn't want minimum wage because in their opinion, slaves (Singaporeans) cannot earn ANY wages, only a megre allowance. Slaves must always remain as slaves, for PAP monopoly and oppression that is.
Agree?

Yueming

一个人不懂是最可怜的人,不懂就叫无明。你们知道无明会产生什么?

93828353_542624820010063_1186354758399557632_o.jpg

佛学基础常识:不动因果

很多人都知道佛法,法力无边,既然法力无边,但有些人或许会问,那么为什么这么多的天灾人祸,佛菩萨不发慈悲心去救度?

为什么不去阻止这些灾难的发生?

因为佛菩萨是不动因果的,自己种下的共业和个业,自己一定要受果报。

佛菩萨的法力再大,而那些与佛菩萨没有缘分的人,佛菩萨就无法救度他们。

佛菩萨有三种情况无法救度:

第一,是无缘的人,如果与佛菩萨有缘,佛菩萨才能帮助你,救度你,法力无边。

如果与佛菩萨无缘,佛菩萨就无法帮助你,救度你,当你求佛时,也就是说你只要求佛菩萨,成就了这个佛缘,佛菩萨才会帮助你,你不求佛菩萨,就是和佛没有缘分,佛菩萨是无法帮助你的(显灵的)。

第二,佛菩萨不能消定业,定业,就是命,就是定下来的业,也就是你前世所做的一切事情,自己种下的因,得到的果,叫定业。

自己种下的因,佛菩萨是不能帮你消除的,即佛菩萨不动因果。

第三,佛菩萨在人间,是不能度尽众生的,因为与菩萨没有缘,菩萨就无法救度你。

——白话佛法二.二

Starting from 1 July 2020, outsourced resident cleaners must be paid the following wages.

pwm-cleaning-sector-wage-requirements-2020.png

source : https://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/progressive-wage-model/cleaning-sector

as mentioned before, the low income earners like cleaners, security guards already covered under above laws.

r u willing to pay higher income taxes, gst, road tax, ppty tax, etc & higher price for hdb, private housing, just to subsidise yr min wage policy ?

just a 10% reduction in the incomes of the top 10% of the workforce in terms of salaries......as well as reduction in dividends paid to shareholders.....

probably can cover 100-200% increment of salaries of the other end already.

e.g. monthly salary of CEO is 20k per month. total annual remuneration maybe 340000
10% reduction is 34000

wwenze

Funny how we already in dunno how many months of covid handouts, and people are still saying minimum wage doesn't work here. ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.