• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

TerryPower

If u increase food court cleaner wage, they get more money to buy food.

But the food court operation cost also increase, so they increase rental, which lead to stall owner increase food price.

Cleaner in the end got more money to buy food but the food become more expensive. So whats the pt...

to add on, once things become more expensive, people spend less

then no need to hire so many staffs which used to be cheap but now expensive

since expensive, so better don't hire

so, end up high unemployment rate

now, i know why US unemployment rate so high

occifer

FWs need to pay levy, need to provide accommodations. If after adding those to their pay, u think it's 1.3k?

If u hire local at 1.3k after cpf its about 1.5k and it's lower if the person is above 55 years old.

Sent from Xiaomi MI MIX 2S using GAGT

This min wage should be for locals only.

Sent from me using GAGT

fox1

Like*

And yes, some businesses will earn less money with minimum wage but so wat.

Sent from me using GAGT
What to do?
Companies earn less money, so they spend less in hiring lor.
Just cut down on headcount to break even.
No problem.

:)

tanchinkoo

Pay minimum wage and Pay market rate
What difference ar ?

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 8 using GAGT

satayxp

Say first i really like WP

But If we increase minimum wage, doesn’t it mean that if we go macs and all, the price will also increase?

It appears to me the people who really will benefit are people who go JB or batam to spend, or those FT and S pass workers.

there r many facets to it

one of it is it cld force employers n biz to raise productivity.. indirectly result in lesser reliance on cheap foreign labour which btw is unsustainable

Ghostleader5

Say first i really like WP

But If we increase minimum wage, doesn’t it mean that if we go macs and all, the price will also increase?

It appears to me the people who really will benefit are people who go JB or batam to spend, or those FT and S pass workers.
People who work at macdonald full- time earn more than minimum wage rah.

Sent from The Future using GAGT

FD3S83

This min wage should be for locals only.

Sent from me using GAGT
Yes exactly. My point is, after adding in costs to hire foreigners like levied and accomodations, is it more than 1.3k? And if it is, why are local lesser paid?

Sent from Xiaomi MI MIX 2S using GAGT

occifer

What to do?
Companies earn less money, so they spend less in hiring lor.
Just cut down on headcount to break even.
No problem.

Oh pls.
At the end of the day, company profits will be less. That will go to the low wage people.
If they cut people and can still produce the same output, then those people should have been gone from the get go.

Sent from me using GAGT

TerryPower

Like*

And yes, some businesses will earn less money with minimum wage but so wat.

Sent from me using GAGT

humans are greedy. you think those rich people will just willingly earn less?

they will increase price to earn back the same profit

or even hire less because last time cheap cheap, hire 10. now, hire 6 instead. the 4 jobless, how?

satayxp

Pay minimum wage and Pay market rate
What difference ar ?

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 8 using GAGT

mkt rate no longer makes sense when the mkt is unnaturally distorted due to distortion in demand supply of labour
for e.g. opening the floodgates to cheap foreign labour distorts the mkt n see wages plummeting

occifer

humans are greedy. you think those rich people will just willingly earn less?

they will increase price to earn back the same profit

or even hire less because last time cheap cheap, hire 10. now, hire 6 instead. the 4 jobless, how?

There will be a limit to wat profits they can earn with higher min wage cost.

Anyways, companies that pay minimum wage are not ***** companies we want anyways lol.
Such low tech simple company bosses should not earn much.

Majority of sinkies wont be affected by this i believe.

Sent from me using GAGT

Chiong

WP should suggest minimum needs

just provide food and lodgings for workers can liao :(

fox1

Oh pls.
At the end of the day, company profits will be less. That will go to the low wage people.
If they cut people and can still produce the same output, then those people should have been gone from the get go.

Sent from me using GAGT
This is true.
Less profit means less cashflow.
Those get cut only add to unemployment, company no problem.

occifer

also doesn't work

then companies more reason to hire foreigners instead

Set it at a low amount.
With the proper foreigner levy, people will hire locals over foreigners at min wage.

Because foreigners + levy = higher than locals at min wage.

Sent from me using GAGT

occifer

also doesn't work

then companies more reason to hire foreigners instead

Actually this is easily do-able la.
I suspect that our people in power would benefit personally if no min wage, so, they dont want it....

I mean those ministers arent poor lol.
They probably have stocks, etc assets.

Sent from me using GAGT

Chrysanthemum Tea

theres a thread with 1000 posts that explains everything about min. wage, can slowly go read to understand

mods can merge or close this thread?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.