here's about the minimum wages
Economist calculate the poverty line is $1200/mth
A dishwasher aunty in her 60 work 6 days a week 8 hrs a day drawing $900 salaries .. with minimum wage u can enforce the company to pay her $1200 to get her out of poverty ..
So extra $300 who paid ~ that the debate : do the company pay or gahment pay by reducing business taxes or pass the increase to consumer .
And we are likely to pass the cost to the consumer .. which mean ur coffee shop meal will increase ...
If we don’t have minimum wages , business will usually employ lower cost to maximize profit .. there is where foreigner worker come in .. the boss will have to count weather to employ local aunty or get a foreigner worker who willing to work cheaper . So the aunty have to agree to work at $900 or else How would she compete with the foreign worker Who is younger and willing to take much less .
So that aunty could never able to get out of poverty
So we ask ourselves - do we want our mee pok to cost extra 50 cents ?
No we probably would do not want cost to go up ... the aunty can stay poor none of my fault .. everything in Singapore is already expensive ..
How are we going to solved this ...?
We just have to drag for another 30 years pretend no such problem exist .. when gen y replace them .. they should be higher educated .. may able to find job with that pay higher when they are older .. let all dishwasher be foreign workers
Hawker don't earn much la. Go see how much hawker earns compared to jlb youtubers. At least hawker add value to your life. Youtubers add wat value to society?
Because, lets say now the cleaners are earning below 1300. Or as what some EDMWers claim, 800/mth to 900/mth.
Then they should just quit the job and go for upskilling https://www.ntuclearninghub.com/sgunitedskills/
Course is paid using skills future and it pays them 1200 allowance a month.
Unless some edmwers here want to claim that upskilling requires more effort than working as a cleaner.
Think also know unless one has no brain.you never quote any source then say people wrong.. waiting for pofma?
progressive wage is somewhat dodgy if you ask me... for the very very low paid cleaner... how many levels of upgrades or how much increase in wage per level of increase is seriously limited.
at the same time, I find the workfare scheme relatively interesting as it gives the worker to continue to work and get some money back if they maintain employment. but like I said in my earlier post, it's should still be refined and improved upon. as the payout iirc is only once every quarter... and it may be affected if companies chop and hire.
Posted from PCWX using EVR-L29
Your cleaner auntie know how to use keyboard ah?Because, lets say now the cleaners are earning below 1300. Or as what some EDMWers claim, 800/mth to 900/mth.
Then they should just quit the job and go for upskilling https://www.ntuclearninghub.com/sgunitedskills/
Course is paid using skills future and it pays them 1200 allowance a month.
Unless some edmwers here want to claim that upskilling requires more effort than working as a cleaner.
Prices go up, it means govt incapable of keeping prices down. Nothing to do with minimum wage proposed by Jamus.Yeah it is, the government won't need to pay more for minimum wage
I never say it is wrong worOur great Jamus said it, since we support him, we better follow
You go look at all the toilet cleaners, table cleaners, office and mall cleaners. What are their ages?
Do you think they have primary school education or none? Can they read books?
Do you tell them I want to send you for Upskill course, you must take bus and go to this classroom for lessons 2 times a week? Why do you think they will reply you?
Your cleaner auntie know how to use keyboard ah?
so fast show his true colors alr.
minimum wage is not to give the lower paid employees more money or higher salaries, but to ensure that they are a paid a fair wage
this is recognized by everyone who is talking for or against minimum wage.
the PAP has talked and discussed minimum wages before in parliament and even the newspapers has discussed about it before.
but there has NEVER been any discussion about, if the "cost" of increasing wages should be transferred to the consumer, or anyone besides the employer - simply because it should never be a question about WHO TO TRANSFER THE COST TO
what minimum wage does is to make it illegal to pay your employees a wage that does not allow them to live properly
this is why minimum wage is called minimum wage. it is the lowest amount that an employee can pay their workers.
dun come talk about "increasing costs" simply because if you are paying your employees minimum or above minimum wage, your costs would not have increased at all!
if you are paying your employees below minimum wage, then YOU need to pay your employees more.
even the PAP is able to recognise this and they themselves have stated that singapore does not have minimum wage because it would be set so low that it would be make setting a minimum redundant!
source https://www.ilo.org/global/topics/wages/minimum-wages/definition/WCMS_439072/lang--en/index.htm
https://www.todayonline.com/big-read/perennial-debate-singapore-minimum-wage
https://www.pap.org.sg/news/ge2020-news/why-no-minimum-wage/
I have talked to a school clear with 6 certificates and holding the same salary before upskill.
Why do school cleaners need to have 6 certificates?
I support minimum wage. I talked to a school cleaner, she got 6 upskill certificates but still earning the same.
singapore's cost of living is already inflated due to higher groceries (imported), private housing and vehicle cost, our saving grace is cheaper hawker food.
Take that away, and make it equal to Aus/EU dine-in price, then how can the locals tahan?
if hawker food raise until so much, means it's those selfish business owners who wants to maintain their already high profit margin lor.
should kan them instead.
that's why I'm saying these min wage (if as you suggested, implemented ONLY for locals), what's the point? when locals already earn above those level.
and if it's blanket for everyone, then it will only benefit the FW.
so conclusion is... don't waste time implementing this. Let the market forces dictate the wages, meritocracy
Thos i agree and fully support. But the downside is FW will also enjoy the min wage