Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

evildoer

Let me give some real numbers.

The WP says there are more than 100,000 Singaporeans who earn a take-home pay of less than $1,300 a month while engaged in full-time work.

There were 2.33 million residents in the labour force as of June 2019, comprising 1.97 million Singaporeans and 360,000 PRs. Jan 23, 2020

Important number is 1.97 million Singaporeans.

Minimum wage is only for low income Singaporeans. This is to benefit 0.05% to 0.1% out of 1.97 million Singaporeans. Many of you think that your coffee, chicken rice and fast food prices all go up. Go and think harder what is the overall composition of business cost compare to the wages of low income workers.

It's Capitalism.. Someone needs to be paying them ... i can assure you 100% if we will to increase our full time cleaner from $900-$1300 that's $400 more for each cleaner.. if i have 40 cleaners that $16.000 more overhead... and u think the cleaning company are willing to absorb them.. what about cpf contribution to them.. ?

Sometime you cannot just look at the overall pictures..

edmwftw

so fast show his true colors alr.

minimum wage is not to give the lower paid employees more money or higher salaries, but to ensure that they are a paid a fair wage
this is recognized by everyone who is talking for or against minimum wage.

the PAP has talked and discussed minimum wages before in parliament and even the newspapers has discussed about it before.

but there has NEVER been any discussion about, if the "cost" of increasing wages should be transferred to the consumer, or anyone besides the employer - simply because it should never be a question about WHO TO TRANSFER THE COST TO

]

Stop reading at ' the PAP has talked and discussed minimum wages before in parliament and even the newspapers has discussed about it before', LOL.

Nice try, TS.

Thank you for your opinion and comments. We will take it under advisement.

Fact is, there is no wrong or right about implementing minimum wage. Its a matter of trade-offs and policy adjustments to make. No one should have absolute monopoly over this matter. ;)

whysoserioushuh

I have talked to a school clear with 6 certificates and holding the same salary before upskill.

Why do school cleaners need to have 6 certificates?

Have you asked him whats the certifications that he have acquired?

If im not wrong, the certifications includes proper handling of machinery eg, machine scrubs. Which i think in a way good to educate cleaners how to operate machines in a safe manner.

One Month Notice

It is in the WP's manifesto.

The Workers’ Party calls for all working Singaporeans to receive a minimum take-home wage of $1,300 per month for full-time work and pro-rated for part-time work. This helps over 100,000 Singaporeans that currently earn less than $1,300 to meet their basic needs.

Chey only for less than 1300. With just 100k sinkie getting paid more and pro rate to part time. Pls lah whats the incremental in cost to companies.

Cleaner already get min 1200. $100 for a cleaner that probably serve up to 10 stores.

Would that cost cause hawker food to triple? If yes than I think let's skip that hawker store ok . I am sure there are shops that can absorb the difference.

MegatonNev

i feel the minimum wage was a populist move and will not be actively enforced or taken into consideration.

Im all for paying employees a decent wage however government mandate of market forces should dictated the "minimum wage" with demand and supply with comprehensive employment laws.

progressive wage is a good policy to allow workers to upskill and reward employees to take on more responsibilities and improve productivity.

If Singaporeans want to reduce foreign talents then locals themselves need to step up and do more.

Posted from PCWX using I am not under oath, so I may not be accurate.

We are talking about minimum wages which applies to low end more labor intensive jobs like cleaners, warehouse assistant, labellers...

mp4005 help

please. no min wage , prices also go up.

They cite rent increase, raw ingredients price increase, petrol increase, COE increase, etc, etc.

With or without Min wage - cost of things will still go up and people will still pay for them ..

those bosses , hawkers are just pampered with cheap labour. Who wouldn't since it maxes profits for yourself.

Just implement it - prices increase will stabilise then market will find new balance.

hardwaregone

Those folks who are paid $1200 to $1500, also gets paid
$134 (Cash)
$199 (CPF)

If it's an old folk, the person also can get money from the government via the Silver Support. His pay must not be more than $1100.
He can get up to $750 a quarter, depending on where he stays.

Via SEC scheme.
Employers for these old folks with salaries above are subsidised $132 to $165 a month.

otaku7

another way to be considered, let's say a minimum wage is 1000/mth for 1 pax to sustain minimum standard of living (or living wage)... we don't implement the full 1000, but instead maybe just 600-700? then supplement it with other schemes, like progressive wage, workfare and comes up with a combined or new scheme. it doesn't have to be an absolute implementation of 1 method.

Posted from PCWX using EVR-L29

alibababags

The Workers’ Party calls for all working Singaporeans to receive a minimum take-home wage of $1,300 per month for full-time work and pro-rated for part-time work. This helps over 100,000 Singaporeans that currently earn less than $1,300 to meet their basic needs.

Chey only for less than 1300. With just 100k sinkie getting paid more and pro rate to part time. Pls lah whats the incremental in cost to companies.

Cleaner already get min 1200. $100 for a cleaner that probably serve up to 10 stores.

Would that cost cause hawker food to triple? If yes than I think let's skip that hawker store ok . I am sure there are shops that can absorb the difference.

Exactly. People are thinking that doing this will cause a major disruption and and send us back to banana money age :s22:

standarture

Nobody can control private companies. Even if need 3 cleaners to do the job, they will only employ 2 cleaners. Otherwise they will just raise prices to support 3 cleaners. It's reality vs theory. You assume everyone is a nice guy but the world runs on profits.

In short, we cannot complain if prices go up by another $1 or more if we support minimum wages. We cannot be hypocrites.

Sanguoshitaisen

It's Capitalism.. Someone needs to be paying them ... i can assure you 100% if we will to increase our full time cleaner from $900-$1300 that's $400 more for each cleaner.. if i have 40 cleaners that $16.000 more overhead... and u think the cleaning company are willing to absorb them.. what about cpf contribution to them.. ?

Sometime you cannot just look at the overall pictures..

U dunno those who open cleaning companies are big boss? Drive what car?

alibababags

Have you asked him whats the certifications that he have acquired?

If im not wrong, the certifications includes proper handling of machinery eg, machine scrubs. Which i think in a way good to educate cleaners how to operate machines in a safe manner.

Mop floor in school also need certificate ah :(

ponpokku

My point is I'm coming from neutral side. I'm not saying minimum wage is good or bad. But the argument must cover all angles from demand supply to price. But my gut feel is cost will definitely increase mah. Tio bo? Then who absorp the cost??? You raise $1 sinkies will kpkb. Then I absorp the cost??? Government pay??? Then money fall from sky izzit??? Then 9% GST more kpkb. It's a double whammy loh. That why I said DON'T ANYHOW ISSUE BLANK CHEQUES...

ish fake concern. as long as it doesnt increase over income, no issue. and it wont becos wage ish just a small fraction of local biz cost.

sinkie no min wage, u work mcd 1hr, ur pay cant get a typical $6+ standard set meal, only $5 value meal. :s22:

tokyo min wage ~$11.50, say u work at mcd 1hr, u can get about 1.5 meals with ur pay becos their standard meal ish about 630yen or ~$8.

so what if there ish price increase? as long as ur income can cover ish can liao.

sinkie mcd meal $6+ ish cheaper than tokyo $8, but u work 1hr in mcd u cant get a meal there. whereas the japanese gets 1.5 meals for 1hr work in mcd.

dun look at the sesame and missed the melon. cost ish relative, look at the whole picture.

whysoserioushuh

Mop floor in school also need certificate ah :(

Mop floors i dont think they cover, but more of handling of strong cleaning chemicals are included in the certifications. Some older cleaners needs to be educated on how to handle these, if not, apply too much later they faint how?

shawntyq

Transfer cost I dun mind . But surely got ppl use it as an chance to up price

Since when the cost nvr transfer to customer? Even got subsidy or saving, it will not translate to lowered price.

thus it wont work. eventually still goes to consumers even worse is company will even get benefited to mark their pricing from this policy.

pay 10 workers addition few hundred each. but gain 100 customers from mark up price.

:o

rich always get richer

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.