• Yes

Votes: 62 50.0%
  • No minimum wage

Votes: 62 50.0%

• Total voters

scottshin

Looking at all the responses and comments regarding Jamus post on minimum wage yesterday, can tell many voters got buyers' remorse liao

I believe when WP first launched its manifesto, there was one thread here which heavily criticized its minimum wage proposal as well as gender wage gap issue (knn..)

Suddenly when Jamus post about min. wage yesterday then those kumgongs realize what they actually voted for.

MP is not celebrity. Keep shouting oppa oppa jokers

Not to mention there's Khan also, but that's another issue all together.

Personally, I still support WP for since they're the only viable opposition now against PAP. But they're just the lesser of the two evils.

Lol bloody hell. U have nuthin to do, eh?

Anotherlap

Soon no jobs Liao lah. Economy contracting. Still got mood for minimum wage?

Now can have job lucky Liao.

Posted from PCWX using fingers, what else?

pureice

pls, go expand your horizon. there are developed countries with no min wage. sweden, switzerland, denmark, norway etc.

https://www.investopedia.com/articl...developed-countries-without-minimum-wages.asp

and you realize SG is one of the rare few of the developed world that have very low unemployment and have seen real income growth over the past decade, while many other developed countries have stagnant or even declining real income even for the middle class?

if min wage so satki, how many developed countries have seen their bottom 20% have a real income growth of 40% over the past decade? :s11:

Slide7.JPG

income0214_0.jpg

Read more at https://www.todayonline.com/singapo...productivity-decline-spells-out-ruling-partys

They can say however bad the gov is...but actual fact is, we experienced good wage growth in this last 10 years. Abiet not equally across the population, but definately better than a lot of developed countries

Tony.Manero

What's worse? Having a manifesto that has some odd clauses that you don't agree to but you've not seen in action or having a manifesto that is you agree but you've seen not in action for past 9 to 15 years?:s11:

kaisoz

My reply in another thread and i disagree with TS.:s13:
In my opinion, the folly in your reasoning is on letting "the market work its magic". It will only lead to disaster in the long run.

In any case, Workfare is basically our defacto SG Minimum Wage Model. A better discussion should be on whether the loopholes in Workfare can be plugged or whether it needs to be scrapped and replaced.

Lss

I read before that local company profit is a higher percentage of revenue compared to us companies.

Perhaps companies should earn lesser?

maniamcool

What's worse? Having a manifesto that has some odd clauses that you don't agree to but you've not seen in action or having a manifesto that is you agree but you've seen not in action for past 9 to 15 years?:s11:

End of the day, WP manifesto can promise lots of things but with only 10 MPs, they won't be able to implement even one thing.

But the manifesto is very important in telling you which side the party leans towards.

devilcup

hmmmm after GE oso got thread to read!

i do not noe what good what no good ar... let say without mini wage, Company will find cheap labour and where do we find cheap labour ar?

RAWR!!

Here

The actual increase should only be $0.03 for this example, but my assumption of an increase of $0.20 is pegged to the lowest meaningful amount, the amount used for toilet entry at hawker center.

During CNY when companies need to pay staff another $100 to $200 more, do the food stalls increase prices by only $0.03? Or $0.06?

Up $0.20 you still buy then you cannot blame anyone liao. Hahah. like how i stop buying shilin fried chicken when it becomes too expensive.

Singapore very funny one, consumers who supposedly are kings, become like slaves. You can choose to boycott you know? No one force you to line the pockets of the employers.:s13:

Tony.Manero

End of the day, WP manifesto can promise lots of things but with only 10 MPs, they won't be able to implement even one thing.

But the manifesto is very important in telling you which side the party leans towards.

This is why people want to get WP in so that PAP delivers it's manifesto. They keep saying they care about our lives our jobs our future but.... have you even seen it in action? It's more like edmw big cannon and csb at the moment. Voting WP in is like giving them ntuc points.

RAWR!!

In my opinion, the folly in your reasoning is on letting "the market work its magic". It will only lead to disaster in the long run.

In any case, Workfare is basically our defacto SG Minimum Wage Model. A better discussion should be on whether the loopholes in Workfare can be plugged or whether it needs to be scrapped and replaced.

Yes, i will agree that both schemes should work hand in hand but more inclined towards shifting it more to market forces.

Like how govt force landlords to pass govt subsidies to retails during covid, simplest and more cost effective.(if you look at it, it is just landlords cutting profit margin for the retailers without actual govt intervention.)

seewsimisee

whats the difference between a 9% GST and min wage?

Biz owners are not affected by the 9% because they can recover that cost from the government, if they want.(biz rev below 1m can opt into gst scheme). Whereas consumers like us we will be subsiding the welfare schemes eg workfare. This means your big towkay can continue to earn his big bucks.

GST is going to affect me when i send my kids to childcare,buy a car or any big ticket item that you will expect someone from middle class to buy or consume. The proportion of my income that goes into GST will be much bigger compared to our rich towkay although in dollar terms, he is expected to contribute more to GST than me.

min wage instead forces business to cut their profits because we now got a choice whether to consume. If you find your caipng too expensive then cook yourself because the boss will then have to decide between closing down his business or reducing his margin. err then now we are losing jobs? then how?

kick out the low wage FW la and your locals can be employed. In any case, business who cannot pay a min of 1.3k should just die anyway.Not productive.

Iamnotib

Eh, I kind of agree with Jamus.

Every tender that G puts out, it gives to the lowest bidder. The lowest bidder needs to make a profit. So the simpliest way to cut cost is manpower.

Also, business also do the same. Got to Pay rental (REITs really driving the rental up), pay taxes, pay for material cost, make a profit. Easiest way again is to squeeze the manpower cost.

Not sure if it’s related to the every $1, only 42cents go to the labour. But the salary is always being sacrificed.
But if donch give to lowest bidder, then peepur will craim ish pork barrel politics. Rike is US, 1 screw for aeroplane can cost over USD1000. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.